August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Test Chamber

by guardiancs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You will need Java installed to run the game( it's a .jar )

Unzip the folder, then double click on LD27-RUN.jar.

It should work for Windows !

26/08 : EDIT , UNIX LINK UPDATED
For Linux , I made it work on Ubuntu 13.04 ! using both openjdk-7-jre & the oracle one. Just unzip all the content in a folder, use your terminal to go into the folder ( cd /home/test/game for example ), then java -jar LD27-RUN.jar

I'm very sorry for all the people who have problem with the unix / mac os x :( .


Controls :
- Enter to activate / desactivate the suit ( the suit works for 10 seconds.
- E to use button / read screen info
- Escape to go to the menu
- Change the Keyboard Layout
with the button in the bottom
- Sound is Off by default,
Click on the icon in game to set it on

Tools :

IDE : Eclipse
Engine : Slick2d
Level Design : Tiled Map Editor
Sound Effect : bfxr / Audacity
The main music was generate with : www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata
Graphics : Paint.NET, Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#639Fun2.82
#686Mood2.56
#690Audio2.30
#693Humor2.00
#738Overall2.88
#763Graphics2.56
#787Innovation2.67
#876Theme2.79

Comments

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

Wouldn't work on my Mac :( It just opens a screen, flashes a bit and then close.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Game crashes on startup :/

miro662 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

really nice game

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

I clicked on start level but nothing happened.
Got this in the console: "org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Failed to load sound: data/sound/Hit_hurt10.ogg"

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Have my sword sir for procedural music :D First time I started this game it did a little bit of stroboscope effect - it shocked my eyes for a second :x

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice game. I managed to get myself stuck between some tiles once or twice. The default controls, made no sense to me, but I kinda forgot, until after I beat the game that you could change them :P I liked the idea, and your levels were interesting. With a little more polishing and more levels, this could easily become a game I would play again :-)

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

For some reason you coudln't walk back in it...But a good game though.

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Hello ibilon. That's strange ... is the file in the folder data/sound ?? If not, could you try to download it again and verify ? can you tell me your OS too ?

@Zuige : what's your OS ?

@nitrocrime : I didn't had the time to try on OS/X, so i have removed the link

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Worked well here! Pretty cool game, could be worth extending. :)

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

I'm on fedora linux, linux files are case sensitive so Hit_hurt10.ogg cannot be found since it's named Hit_Hurt10.ogg in the data folder.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

The problem with file 'data/sound/Hit_hurt10.ogg' should be on linux and OS/X. All Unix-likes has case-sensitive file systems (so file 'A.txt' and 'a.txt' are two different files). After renaming it's ok.. But I have only black screen with player?! After few steps I've got this exception:
java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: -1
at player.Player.update(Player.java:138)
at state.InGame.update(InGame.java:299)

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

Thanks all for the feedback ! i'll see what i can do and fix it !!!!

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Here we go ! I made a fix for the linux version, be sure to have java 1.7 ( open jdk or oracle ) , unzip the game, go into the folder with the terminal, then a java -jar LD27-RUN.jar should do the work

All my apologies for those who the game doesn't launch :(

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It's working now, thanks.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Couldn't go left, some collision bugs. Overall, nice.

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

You can see that a lot of work has gone into this.

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Feysoura : There is a azerty / qwerty button in the main menu, just click on it ( azerty is the default option ) to change the layout !

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

A nice game! I especially liked that you added an azerty option. ^^

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Fun game with lots of post-LD potential! :)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:11am

Felt like VVVVVV or Metal Mech with more of an emphasis on puzzles (which is a good think), as a note on level design though, on I think the fourth level, where you need to unlock the path up, you have spikes that aren't visible until you move up. Since you can't see them until you go up, most people will die the first time through. For a puzzle game, where you have already solved the puzzle this is very frustrating. You would be better off if you did one of the following:
- Remove the spikes,
- Make the spikes visible, or
- Train the player to expect spikes by placing the same blind spike traps early in the level so the player can detect the pattern. If you did that, the player is more likely to blame themselves for failing the level then on the game for the cheap shot.

guardiancs says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Hey dalbinblue, I felt the same way when i tried the map , but the problem was time :p . I didn't want to make my game a "die & retry" type , but there is sometimes some misplaced / invisible things .

Anyway, thanks a lot for the feedback :)

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Pretty cool, It wasn't obvious to me that the key layout was set to azerty by default so I was confused when I couldn't move backward but I figured it out in the end. Still well done though despite some collision bugs and timer bugs. Nice job.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:38am

Very cool mechanics and pretty graphics. The controls were a bit wonky. Very cool idea.

Delca says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I just played through it, and I liked both the mechanics and the graphics. But the audio was not enabled by default, which is sad considering it added to the game's value (seeing as you already made sound effects, one for the gravity change would have been helpful).
Anyway, good job on that one !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]