August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

To Hell With Love

by sunnysmiles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a part action shooter part adventure/explorer. The rest is explained better in the intro screen. The game was made in java2d, so it should run on all platforms, but i have only tested windows 7. At certain points the game sometimes freeze, if this happens wait a little (up to 20-30 seconds) and it should continue, only happens rarely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#474Innovation3.07
#477Humor2.38
#479Theme3.26
#708Fun2.74
#792Overall2.82
#842Graphics2.41
#863Mood2.32
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Wow - totally not what i expected!
Total fucked idea, but i kinda liked it :D
Loved the small police men trying to round you up. Also the hurt/explosion animations were really cool!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

The explosion particle effect is really cool!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

It's a really cool idea, Still the hell part was frustrating was it seems more about luck or trial and error that the player will do well in it.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34am

I quite like how it fits the theme, but it was a bit crashy for me on Firefox 23.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48am

A bit macabre. But nice visuals and the mechanics feel good. The life part was a bit too easy though and I was not able to find anything in the hell part. Also the game froze twice and I had to restart the game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Funny effects. I like this one! :)

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I really like this core idea! (Also well done on gender neutrality ) With a bunch more time and a few more mechanics I could see this being a really compelling game. Well done.

On a side note, 10 seconds in hell seems to be a very small punishment for murder though. jk.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice particle effects and overall gameplay. Good job!

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Great take on the theme! I actually like these huge worlds, and I enjoy this simple kind of graphics. Just one thing I'm wondering... if killing a person gives you 10 seconds in hell... what the hell did my lover do to get stuck down there?!? :-O

larb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Really dark story... Fun game though. I was able to finish, although it did freeze a few times.

h_double says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Great concept! I like the murder mechanic, the pixel art + particles are really good.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:29am

Interesting take on the 10 second theme! I couldn't find him/her in hell (kept getting freeze errors during the Pre-Hell stage), but I thought it was a clever premise. Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I found my lover! But the game hung as I entered the room so I guess I am stuck in Hell with my lover. Appropriate.

Excellent detail you got here: shooting recoil, which you can use to propel you faster, the knockback from the police batons. Thank you for realizing my dreams of running amok, arms flailing, killing innocent bystanders.

Technically the ai movement of victims can be improved, it is really easy to round them up and have a mass slaughter. The police get stuck on the corners of trees and tombstones, and that crash bug is pretty nasty. I got it the first 5 times of play. I think when you spawn a police guy it gets put outside the map area, or you are checking outside of the level boundaries. I put a trace of the error here: http://pastebin.com/NQdS5Y0F

sunnysmiles says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:22am

Thanks a lot for the stacktrace, for some reason i never experienced the problem running in debug mode, and i didn't have time to fix it. It's a problem with the collision detection for enemies out of the screen, who are not put into a "don't update state" yet. Pretty sad it was first discovered now, since it would be easy to fix.

Dan says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Really clever idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]