August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

gl10s

by ivo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A rudimentary experimental game that is implemented in a single GLSL fragment shader.

More an experiment than an actual game, this entry consists of a single OpenGL fragment shader. All Code is executed once per pixel per frame.

When I started, I had virtually no experience in shader programming and basic knowledge of OpenGL. I learnt a great deal about shaders and computer graphics in general.

Game state is stored in the alpha channel of the fragments, as there is simply no other way to store any persisting data.
The game does rudimentary 'collision detection' with neighbouring fragments read from the back-buffer.

The Code is very messy and bloated, as I started by just playing around and gradually it became what it is now. I didn't have time to clean it up, I may add some comments and minor fixes to the code some other time.

The theme is only partially included: The single stages of the game are exactly 10 seconds long. There is definetly some room for improvement here.

The whole thing is developed and hosted in the amazaing GLSL Sandbox at http://glsl.heroku.com/

##############
- Being tested and developed in Chrome, it should run in Safari and Firefox as well. Firefox seems to have a bug where the 'cursor' starts out somewhere in the center of the screen (probably in connection with the elapsed time, submitted by the JavaScript backend).

- To restart the game, you have to reload the page.

###############################

Update: upon request i removed the strobe effect at the end, as it is only in the outro screen not having any affect on the "gameplay".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#281Innovation3.36
#397Graphics3.16
#953Mood2.15
#960Audio1.32
#976Humor1.27
#1100Overall2.35
#1142Theme2.02
#1167Fun1.75

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52am

About ten seconds in and it gave me a headache :( Interesting nonetheless

CMahaff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Some very cool affects, might want to put a strobe warning on it though. Glad it was a good learning experience.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

neat concept, the initial stages are intriguing. The red flashing stage at the end, my eyes did not enjoy this.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01am

wild, love seeing glitch stuff on this theme :)

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Although visually painful at some points this was fun to play.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32am

That was pretty. I dug peaking around your code a bit to. I may have to try some stuff in this sandbox site.

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31am

Cool, nice job doing it all in a shader!

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

It hurt my head quite a lot...

Balooga03 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

Very abstract I love it. The idea to develop a game in GLSL intrigues me.

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Interesting, I love the technical aspect of this. However, it isn't much fun to play with after a minute or two, in my opinion.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Huh, intriguing!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice effects and cool job!

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Good visuality :)

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

It's an interesting idea, strobe lighting could use a warning but other than that the visuals are quite striking. Very relaxing for the most part.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

nice concept :D i love it!

Layl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Interesting and original, but not a huge lifetime

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

This has got to ve one of the weirdest submissions I've seen so far, it's very psychedelic. o__o

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

couldn`t play it, the graphics hurt my eyes :(

Pebsie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Interesting but... not really a game.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Original and glitchy? Well, at least we have something new I guess?

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Very interesting, technically speaking ;)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Not really a game but i think with a little bit more time to explore it... maybe ;)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Interesting visuals, but no game...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

definitely interesting and unusual. like how abstract it is!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Is it playable? Or just a demo?

lesterpig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Humm... I probably didn't understand the project. It's beautiful but... Whut ?

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Visually arresting.

DuFF says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Love the experimentation. Thanks for sharing.

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

some effects are cool, but it takes a big effort to play it. Even though, the concept is quite different and that's a good point!
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]