August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Doctor Drown (Ph D)

by paulmcgg - Jam Entry

Doctor Drown is known for one thing, shark tank torture. Also his evil underwater lair. Two things! His love of shark based torture and his vast underwater lair. And the cat. Ok, at least three!

Follow the Double-O Do-Gooder agents on your lair's monitors and drown them in sharks before they reach you. Featuring, honest-to-goodness, three whole different endings.

Unfortunately, Doctor Drown hasn't upgraded his lair in some time and draining takes a medieval 10 seconds. Clicking the monitor of an adjacent room to one already filled with water drains from one to the other. Oh but someone scrambled all his monitors, so adjacent rooms probably aren't adjacent monitors. Rooms that are adjacent, and so can be flooded on mouse-clicking, have a low line of water. However you must also wait for the current room to finish flooding. When you can flood the highlighted screen will turn blue. Phew! Good luck!

Credits
Game - Paul McGee & Sam Gross
Music - Come Spy With Me by Hugo Montenegro & His Orchestra

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#17Humor(Jam)4.02
#30Audio(Jam)3.85
#34Graphics(Jam)4.39
#37Mood(Jam)3.85
#48Innovation(Jam)3.71
#83Overall(Jam)3.59
#138Fun(Jam)3.31
#226Theme(Jam)3.24

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

cool graphics :)
reminded me of Invader Zim xD

-ENDESGA

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54am

Wow ! Amazing artwork, great music, nice animation ! Congratulations guys !

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Cool! Sweet animations and theres a cat! AND HE PICKS HIM UP!! <3

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Thanks everyone!

I just uploaded Mac, Linux, & Web builds so let me know if they work!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

your windows link, send me to a "doctor drown - linux.zip"

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Fixed, thanks. :)

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

That was really well made!! Great job!!

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I really liked it, the art was great and animations ace. Gameplay was tricky to get my head round at first but I got into it after a couple plays :)

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I like the audio and graphics, neat.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

Very funny, great artwork!

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Animations are very clean.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

This is great xD THERE'S A KITTY.
I'm actually really interested in how you got these smooth 2D animations into Unity. If you could give any pointers that would be awesome!
Great art + music, really funny too!

AidanAK47 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

The art and animation is good. Though I wish the opening movie had gone into detail about flooding the rooms. The lack of a pause or a retry button is inconvenient.
Gameplay tends to devolve into mindless guesswork. I think ways of avoiding this would be to highlight the rooms which the player can flood to make it that you don't have to check every screen by rolling over it. Or to highlight rooms previously flooded. Or some way for the player to map out how rooms connect. For example, the camera's could be numbered and on a pause screen could have a text box for players to make notes. 1 goes to 12, 12 goes to 5, etc. This could add a whole new layer to your game.
With some added modifications this idea has the potential to become very interesting.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Very interesting and original concept! I really like the music and the artwork, good job! :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Waouw nice graphics and ambience, I'm not sure I understood everything, maybe you can add a little more feedback or a tutorial. Anyway it's a very good job.

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

This game is very, very polished - felt very complete. I absolutely loved the music and the crazy animations and actions, like him grabbing the cat for no apparent reason other than just being in a crazed panic. Great job!

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

the game has really good graphics and is very polished, but I think it could have a little clearer feedback on the player's actions.. oh well, it could be just me, coz i am sleepy now.. but.. hahahaha good entry! congrats for all that polishment

jujule says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Alright. It took me 5 tries and 2 days to get what was happening. Now I just won my first game and I can say I love this. Great graphics and animation, fantastic music. A real neat entry.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:14pm

hahaha, the art and music are just awesome ! (+you got a special extra for having a TV-screen wall in your game)
Friggin cool minigame, d'like to see some moar situations like that :D

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Rough but good ! I love the animations :D

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:53pm

This looked cool but it totally crashed, I was moving around and things were reacting to mouse over so I was clicking and nothing really happened and then ALL THE ACTIONS AT ONCE.
Looks like it had potential though..

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I didn't get the game at all. Okay, red is, where you can't click to flood the room. But no idea how I could manage to press the water in a special room. And where I see when the agents arrive...and why I could click monitors next to the water monitor to fill a rooms..and when not. @-@
Whatever!The whole idea is great. Love the humor and the idle animations..and little monitors. Great work!!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Thanks guys, especially everyone who played a few times to beat it. :)

XaiZil - I have no idea! Were you playing on a browser? The only positive action you can take is flooding another room (everything else just shakes the monitor), and then you must wait another ten seconds to flood the next. Any other events in-game would be based on the characters moving around, so everything happening at once (as a bug) can't really happen? Let me know if you try again or on a different build.

ratking - Perhaps the description isn't clear enough. The core twist of the game is that each row of monitors is mixed around, so monitors that are adjacent usually are not rooms that are physically adjacent and so can be flooded. The rooms that are adjacent to the flooded/flooding room are always shown as partially flooded on the monitors. So you have to watch where the agents go and remember how the rooms are connected. Hope that helps! :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The graphics are aamazing. And the concept too. Nice work!

the game itself takes some time to figure out though :P

panurge says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Awesome atmosphere with perfect visuals and music (I'd love to see the intro fleshed out a little - it's a beautiful, succinct bit of storytelling).

I cottoned to the mechanic very quickly and am pleased to report that I drowned all the agents on my first go! *cackles*

An excellent entry which I really enjoyed playing. Thanks!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Good job! Thanks. :3

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I really liked the cat and how Doctor Drown holds him every now and then!! =D The overall art is very interesting, including the sketch-like introduction. =)

This game is very innovative, at least I have never played something similar! Those agents remind me of some Nickelodeon characters, haha.
I manage to beat the agents in my first try, but I had to play two more to see the other endings! =)

I also like how you guys used many cameras, I didn't know it was possible without a huge overload!

Also, I missed a restart button after each ending (it's good to have one, especially in a game that the player will like to play again to see the other endings ^^).

Very cool game! =D

Ithildin says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:03am

I found the idea really original, and the music choice was great, too. It contributed a lot to create a "Dr Evil" evil mood.

Great job! (It's amazing how, no matter how many games you've rated, there are still lots of hidden gems around)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:24pm

funny and confusing, but rewarding. think i got a hang of how it worked after a while of playing and checking out you description. great soundtrack, like the theme of some supervillain in a bond movie. also, the art!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:40am

I love this concept! It seems it's almost impossible to win on the first time (time to get the mechanics), but it's no big deal since the game makes you WANT to play again.I think I found the three "endings" (yeah, I drowned myselft, that was silly). I love the villain animations too! and the music! you nailed th spy movie genre!

netgrind says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Your animations and art style are great. This was a nice little experience.

alts says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:54am

First, both the hand drawn style of the visuals and the music are wonderful. The absurdity of the situation is really amplified by the cheesy spy music.

The mechanic at the heart of the game is certainly unique. I did find myself getting caught in a loop where I'd flood a room that happened to be near a spy, they'd leave their room, and then I'd finally have time to fill that one. Eventually lingering just long enough for my sharks to catch up. Oh, and I couldn't resist flooding my own room at my first opportunity. I have SCUBA gear!

Nice work.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:51am

Wow, this is a very amusing and entertaining entry that you have here! I didn't mind the difficulty, actually--although I suppose you could go one step further and indicate which rooms are two away from the submerged room. That might make it too easy, though.

My only real complaint would be the lack of a restart button.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]