August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mishlike

by MidCry - Jam Entry

Mishlike is a simple time base Roguelike .
You have 10 seconds to exit the dungeon by finding 4 of 6 keys those are hidden in map .
your Actions will cost time .. so be quick and think .

Goal
========
Find At least 4 keys to exit dungeon .

CONTROLS
========
for move use left click
for attack enemies use left click
if you want attack enemies multiple time in a turn you can use right click ( but in cost of more time )

Tools
========
Visual Studio Express 2012
Libtcod
Pickle
Photoshop
Sketchbook
CBFG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#306Fun(Jam)2.90
#322Overall(Jam)3.05
#348Theme(Jam)2.95
#361Innovation(Jam)2.79
#387Graphics(Jam)2.89
#387Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

BretHudson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08am

Really like this, fantastic idea. Hope to see more come from you guys!

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52am

Nice and simple roguelike. There isn't much to differentiate it from other roguelikes. The time element of it is a little frustrating combined with the random feeling of the game, and it only really kicks in when you start running out of time.

Because enemies don't seem to attack you unless you attack them first, it's pretty easy to avoid. I would have liked keyboard controls for the game, but it was very playable without them.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

Loving the concept behind this. Hard to resist going all out in killing every monster you see, but that seems to be a prime way to lose all your time.

Lack of keyboard movement was rather annoying but other than that minor setback, really nice work :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

I like the idea and the graphics but maybe wasd or arrow keys for movement would be better instead of clicking the hell out of it? :)

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01am

Hey another roguelike!
This was really cool!
Play mine?

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

This was a really cool idea :) I would like some music to it!

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

The fact that you have to uncover the dungeon step by step instead of uncovering space based on a cone/circle of vision makes it a bit tedious to play. I also think that the theme doesn't really work as is, considering that rogue likes are exploration games. However, you did some nice work there, there is quite a bit of content to play through.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

i did't think that this theme could have this approach on a roguelike xD well done, both the art and the programming side :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice and slick example of a roguelike adapted to fit the theme. Had a lot of fun with this one, great little game.

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

@Twistedsnail
yes i played yor game

Tnx All
we are so happy that you enjoy our game
this is our first exprience in Roguelike games and also first LD :D

We are working on this game and we will add music and sounds and also we will make a menu

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Ah lovely. Reminds me of a not very well known game Magus for DOS. Three people involved - it is a shame that you couldn't add any sound experience! Nothing new but well executed - especially for a first LD.

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@rezoner
we are all proggramers :D and Game Designers and we dont have any experience in Art oand Music.
we spend all time on code and design and we dont have much time to add sounds but we are working on them
tnx

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Neat little roguelike, but like others have said, uncovering the dungeon and the time element ended up making it tedious. :( Nice work, though. It has lots of potential!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I like your 10-seconds turn-based game take on the theme!
I'm not the best fan of that game genre though, but good job :)

xhunterko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43am

Not too bad. Seemed the difficulty could have been toned just a bit down though. Just a little sound couldn't have hurt, being a jam game. Attacking seemed a bit off sometimes. It would take me only 1 or 2 hits to kill a skeleton or a worm, and then the next skeleton or worm would kill me. Still not too bad!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:47pm

really nice game -- like the mechanic of taking turns -- great job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very old school! I prefer to use the keyboard to navigate in these types of games personally, and found mouse clicking a little tiring.
Great job on the procedural generation!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I roguelove this :D

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I found it nigh on impossible to beat even a single level. I was able to explore an entire area in ~ 6 seconds, but killing just one monster for a key can take upwards of 2 seconds. This would be a great game if you hadn't tried to stuff it in to such an arbitrary limitation.

MidCry says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

@Aslai
Sadly we can't test the game ( for balancing ) enough before submitting ( because lots of work needs to be done ) ... but we work on it to balance the game as much as possible ...
Thank you for your feedback

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:42am

That was a neat little roguelike. I explored the entire map, and only had 3 of 4 keys, though. It was impossible to defeat the more powerful enemies, with HP in the 100s, as well. Is it possible to win the game, or does it depend on whether I randomly generate a possible map?

That said, good work on completing your entry. Congrats!

MidCry says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:23am

@Solifuge
Yes ... it's possible to win the game but maybe sometimes imbalance variables make it hard to overcome ... we try to fix that .
Thanks ...

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice roguelike, a bit too hard though :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:43am

I like the use of the theme here, turn based with each action costing time. I think this could be developed into much more too

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Very neat. I like the idea of using time as a cost of movement. Keyboard control would have been nice. Otherwise, very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]