August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TenSecWep

by DesignerNap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in Game maker with the usual art packages for support, BTFX for sound and my keyboard and audacity for the music.

I wanted to make a game where you were limited by a ten second timer that you could refill by collecting things... I then had the idea of making a gun that shot ten seconds at people... so I did both!.



TEN SEC WEP is the tale of two security staff who witness a crash landing of an alien cruiser and find themselves caught up and trying to escape, whilst low on oxygen. Figure out each rooms puzzles whilst maintaining a supply of O2 and watch out for evil alien time creatures!

It is best played with a game pad but you can also use keys. If you are using keys, unplug the pad as it causes issues with the movement.

For windows

@xopsx

Gary Napper


UPDATE - 27/08/2013 - Added a videoplaytrhough as some folk are having trouble on lower spec machines. at least this way you get to see it! :)

http://youtu.be/S08RRhX_sSo


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#230Humor2.93
#348Graphics3.26
#371Mood2.97
#420Theme3.31
#479Audio2.69
#562Overall3.05
#601Fun2.87
#633Innovation2.85

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

The artwork is very nice !

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12am

Thank you archaeometrician! I am actually fairly terrible at art so was please it was at least legible.. ;)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40am

This is a bit great, for someone who claims not to be much of an artist it's got a really cool look to it. The puzzles are pretty fun as well (as far as I got at least, as I suck at these games). Nicely done!

CrossBread says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

I liked your art work. It would be nice if the bounding box on objects laying around the room allowed you to still walk behind the object instead of getting stuck and having to run around the bottom side.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

Thanks jay! :) I appreciate it.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22am

I'd love to give this a try, but I think your version of GameMaker doesn't play nice with either Window 8 or my Intel HD card, so all the spirtes seem glitch out and it doesn't really start :(

Sound design sounds nice though, for the little part that I can hear of it :).

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00am

@crossbread Thanks! yeah, collision in game maker is a tricky one. Coundn't quite get a "slide" instead of a bounce working on the collision.

@VanderZwan, I will take a look. Sorry about that! and thanks, most of the sound was done in the last hour at 1am! ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21am

Nice game, it's a little frustrating to have to restart from first level when you die though.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32am

@annaGavaldaKedavra - yeah, I had planned to add a restart level on the game over, but it broke all my game logic so i need to spend some time fixing it. Couldnt get it in for the 48hr deadline. It is on my to do list tho so thanks for the feedback! :D

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I like the diversity of the puzzle and how you have to manage the oxygen.
It's so much fun slapping the Aliens, even if risky and not even useful, it always worth it.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

@colapsydo Heh, thanks! yeah the 1 frame animation makes the punching seem really vicious and comedy fun! :D

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Interesting, really interesting. "All Is Good", really.

But I detach the balance achieved. The gameplay has the exact speed and the levels are well designed for a game jam.

Oh! Your artwork is epic, maybe you arent a epic drawer, but clearly you have good sense of art.
Critics? "We Need Checkpoints" when a level is completed!!

PD: My links were never broken, try again :D

Congratz! Have fun!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Like the idea, some puzzles and controls are a bit clunky and when I got to the final level I didn't understand what to do and only completed it by accident.

It did convey the running out of oxygen in a good way.

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21am

Would love to rate it, the screenshots look cool, but I'm on a Mac and can't play Windows games. Sorry :(

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:22am

@yetatore - Thank you! :) I will try the link again tonight. I added a 3 retry system, new audio, polished the collision and made more of the ending.. but that was obviously after the deadline so cannot be submitted :)

@Kragnir - Thanks! The last room was designed to make the player panic before the ending is revealed. Not sure if it works ;)

@netmute - Sorry! I have no ability to export to mac and only have a laptop. best I can offer is a link to a playthrough - http://youtu.be/S08RRhX_sSo

vani77a says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46pm

So the alien's balls don't really hurt you? I enjoyed the game though :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

well vani77a... that appears to be a bug. sometimes they do adn you die straight up. other times not... a bit of randomness there i guess ;)

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I like the graphics and the effort you put into the intro. I laughed when I read "metropolis of Guildford" as I used to live in Guildford, UK.

The collision detection at times was somewhat annoying. It would be better if the resolution of the collision detection allowed you to smoothly move past objects rather than getting stuck on them.

I also had no clue that you could move up into the room for a really long time.

Overall an interesting game, nice one.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I'm on Windows 8. Somehow I can't play this. In the beginning there's some text about playing with a controller that's overlappen by some image. Then there's a scene but graphics roll over it, then I just see space, then the scene again and then space and the music stops :(

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Surprisingly well rounded experience, the end genuinely had me panicking. The graphics and perhaps the dip in difficulty are the only real weak points, but the whole thing comes together with that rather than in spite of that.

The game play and theme fits together really well, the music was fitting and atmospheric were it was present and the whole game came together nicely, genuinely had fun.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice entry. Original graphics. Good job!

Catmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48pm

To VanderZwan and TammiLion if you're running computers with an Intel HD 4400 series card I've found an issue with playing game maker games. Sadly it's only something that can be fixed if the file is re-exported to force vertex processing (although it's not really something that's advised I don't think). I've sent a bug to yoyogames about it though.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

@Starspell - Thanks! :) I think that was actually my downfall in the end as i found it easy to make levels quickly so didnt concentrate on them enough. Guildford is my home town! :D
@tammiLion, Yeah as Catmoo says, there are some windows 8 machines with 4400 series that wont run game maker games :(
@Just Tom - glad i can entertain and amuse! thank you for your kind comments.

@doonay21 - Thanks! everyone seems impressed with the graphics so i had better take it as a compliment. :D

@catmoo - thanks for the info and sharing!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Interesting game and nice use of the concept! I got to the alien shooting at me and I guess I was supposed to shoot it? Would be great to have a continue feature so I wouldn't have to play everything up to that again :)

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:13am

It's a nice way to use the theme as the amount of air you have left.

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:24am

Great concept. The combat/puzzle combo is fun. Nice art too.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:20pm

@ZeroKelvin - totally agree with the continue/restart. I have added one since but obviously cannot submit it for the entry :)
HaloFlooder - Thank you! It is also used later in the game when you get a weapon that fires ten seconds at the enemies... the Ten.. Sec... Wep... ;)

@Reheated - Thank you. I would have liked to balance it a bit more but the time crept up on me.

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:53am

The art is good looking for sure! Don't be too harsh on yourself! Easy controls (nice touch including controller support) and very fun to play. I liked it!

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Thanks @hbocao! I will keep trying! :)

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:41am

Cool game! I liked the graphics and the puzzles are interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]