August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fly: Generations

by Conry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a newborn fly, but watch out! This is your life and it's ending one second at a time. In 10 seconds you'll be gone, but you still have a chance to pass your genes to next generations...

Let's get reproductive!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#85Humor3.46
#165Theme3.64
#353Innovation3.25
#401Graphics3.15
#476Fun3.00
#489Audio2.68
#508Mood2.79
#562Overall3.05

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Nice graphics ! Funny gameplay and sounds ;) I don't really know what I was supposed to do beside eating but hehe that make me laugh

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Very difficult game to get the random dots and then find a mate in 10 seconds! Made me laugh though!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Not easy but very fun!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Heh, that was awesome. I haven't been able to do better than 3 generations, though.

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Quite a hard game but it was fun to play.

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Pretty cool, really interesting concept. I like the sound for picking up food.

m110 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54am

Cool idea, the gameplay is fun, but a bit too hard. Made it to 3 generations. :)

Conry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22am

Heh, I can imagine it being hard to be good at it from the get-go, but I guess it's not that bad. It just requires some practice. After two days of testing I myself can make it to 8th generation without much of a problem ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Really funny game! I like the perspective of a fly live.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I really like your game. Funny idea!

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I liked the graphics. Never managed to mate, even when I approached another horny fly and pressed Q nothing happened.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Strangely compelling sound effects! Very nice and gross!

phaed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:56am

Hilarious idea. Wonderful interpretation of the theme. Stressful gameplay. Apparently I didn't have java installed...

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:58am

Terrific idea and game mechanic! The trick is to not hesitate to sprint.
Awesome work!

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great game! Unique concept, nice graphics and funny sound effects. Some fly flying sounds would be nice.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I like it!

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Heheh, nice application of the theme and cool idea. However it felt profoundly unfair when I was chasing down some food, only to have a fly spawn out of nowhere and steal it from me!! >:P Still though, very cool, and fun to play.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

It was pretty fun! Neat concept.

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:33am

I got to 5 generations. It was a pretty cute concept. The second I grab one food, I sprint to get more, and repeat until I mate.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Very cool game! I missed the part of the instructions where it said press Q, so I was very confused for a while, but after realizing what I had to do, it was actually fun. Nice take on the them, and sublime sound effects ;)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I'm glad this game doesn't have smellovision. Quite innovative, nice graphical style and overall it's a fun quirky game! Show it off to your friends :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]