August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second ZOMBIE

by Aske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thank you for trying my game :)
Hope you find it fun.

Rules:
You're not allowed to play it if your body isn't ready...
Shoot what type of zombie the text SAYS (not necessarily is colored) and avoid touching them. The score for killing a zombie is increased by 1 per difficulty.

What the different modes does:

- Very easy:
- The text is the same color as the zombie target
- The zombies spawn in colored groups

- Easy:
- The text is black all of the time
- The zombies spawn in colored groups

- Normal:
- The text has a random color (not necessarily different from the zombie target)
- The zombies spawn in random positions

- Increasing:
- The difficulty increases every third round (round 1-3: very easy, round 4-6: easy, eg.)


Controls:

-WASD or arrow keys to move
-Space to shoot
-Shift if you want a challenge

Note: flash crashed 30 mins before i submitted, so i got 45 minutes of work lost. :(

PS. A huge thanks to freeactionscript.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#712Graphics2.63
#829Humor1.79
#925Theme2.70
#954Fun2.41
#968Innovation2.37
#987Overall2.57
#1027Mood1.90
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04am

There seems to be something wrong with your collision system, as some bullets are flying through zombies. On top of that you source link requires tour login to goggle, you need to make it public. Although I really like the use of defining who you shhot with text and then tripping us up with colours :D

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Oh, forgot to make it public, should be now. I'm looking into fixing the collision bug now. ;)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I lost when I tried to shoot a zombie. The collision is messed up too.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice grafix, interesting idea with the color groups.
I got stuck in the building and couldn't move anymore, also, after seeing the tutoraial page, i couldn't go back anymore.
But a nice game!

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

A bit buggy at times (ex: bullets not killing zombies). But it's an original use of the theme. ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I was able to play. I didn't run into any issues except being tricked by colors :D

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00am

Pretty fun, despite the collision issues.

Aske says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Larzan, there is a button down in the left corner that looks like this "<", but I agree it's not very noticeable ;)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29am

Controls are a bit awkward and the bullets didn't always collide, but a cool unique idea so good job there

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09am

not a bad game, would be much better if the levels were larger but the core mechanics were fun and kept you on your toes =]

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

its a fun game =]
the web version don't render the alpha on the smoke and sometimes the bullets dont kill the zombies

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I see what you were trying to do, but the implementation wasn't very good, the collision detection wasn't done very well. The smoke isn't transparent in the web version, btw.

Aske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Anton, the smoke thing is weird. It shows perfectly in my browser... O_o

Lizzip says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:03am

Like everyone else has been saying, collision problems. But really like the idea otherwise

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Like the game, but again collision problems. Cool idea. I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Good job, lovely graphic and good gameplay ^^

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice game, can't get enough of shooting zombies :P
Add some sound to improve it and fix the collision issues.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]