August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Feed

by mackthehobbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blind feed is a game about potatoes, rocks, and the importance of adequate voltage.
The game is a Java applet, and will require a JRE to run. The web link is to a webpage with the applet embedded.

The guys at the lab had an amazing idea: a bot to collect rock samples, that is controlled remotely & powered by a potato battery. Not only does the potato provide a suitable mainframe, it can produce up to 1.65 volts!* Of course, however, they didn't test it enough before deploying them in the hundreds, and about 10 seconds later (actually, exactly 10 seconds later), they discovered that the low voltage, while still being apparently enough to power a fully-fledged, sarcastic AI, was not enough to power their video feed.

Try to score as much as possible, my best so far is 2400 points, at level 8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Theme3.50
#310Innovation3.32
#848Humor1.75
#930Audio1.47
#966Overall2.59
#1055Fun2.19
#1067Mood1.67
#1110Graphics1.86
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The game is nice and the idea is very good, but 10 seconds is quite a lot for such a small playing space. (I didn't feel like I need to conserve)

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Great idea :)

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Very cool idea and impelementation.
One of the rare cases where it fits the theme and provides an interesting mechanic.
Great Job!

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Thanks for the comments, it's great to hear some feedback :)

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Fantastic use of the theme. Felt a little like luck was getting me through, not conserving my feed time and just legging it. Maybe if the enemies weren't random you could increase the difficultly so you can make runs with no sight?

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Good use of the theme and a fairly challenging game. I found a good strategy is to click frequently for short periods, almost flickering.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice game!

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cool idea and great job! Like JimMakesGames, I used the feed frequently but for very short periods of time.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Very neat idea/mechanic in this! Like others've said I also spam-clicked for short periods of time. This has lots of post-LD potential, though. Great work! :)

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Thanks for the feedback guys :) And as for a post-compo update goes, I'd definitely consider it.

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

I couldn't get this to work; it fails with the rather unhelpful Java error "the application failed to run."

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Very simple but fun and clever game idea. This game have one of the best "10 seconds" theme uses I saw so far. Great job

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:06pm

very inovative, however it was just difficult. i think i got to level 4? xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]