August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You can't hide

by TheThirdOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a spy. You want to kill all of the terrible people in the warehouse. You don't know why; you just do. Because you are a spy, you can cloak yourself in invisibility, but only if you are not moving.

Controls:
a/d: move left and right
w (on ground): jump
w (in air colliding with a wall): wall-jump
w/s (on ladder): climb/descend

p: pause

space: STAB! STAB! STAB!

Note:
I wasn't able to finish as much as I would like to have so the timer in the top right doesn't actually indicate anything other than how long ago you started cloaking. And there are only 2 levels.

How it was made:
Lib: KinecticJS for the animations (it uses the canvas)
Language: Javascript
Version Control: Git and Github

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Fun3.29
#610Overall3.00
#626Innovation2.86
#641Graphics2.75
#662Mood2.59
#774Audio2.10
#1163Theme1.86
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

I couldn't work out where the 10 seconds comes into this - it seems I had infinite time to make the kills?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Solid platformer! Love the wall-bounce-mechanic :)

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

The ten seconds part was not fully implemented. It was going to be integrated with the clock and the cloaking.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I enjoyed the game, wish there was more levels and the timer was implemented

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

A game with great potential. The levels were maybe too easy; in the second level you could kill all enemies without using the invisibility thing.

The wall bouncing thing was quite nice - you should expand on that.

Graphics were great; really like the pixelated graphics. Could use some better audio.

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

like it hard and fun

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice platformer! I liked the infiltration mood.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Awesome game! Didn't realise it had cloaking at first and managed to finish some of it without cloaking :) Nice concept, loved being able to drop down and stab people :P Art work is great, and the bouncing was cool too. Got stuck in the ground at one stage from a ladder but managed to get back out. Awesome job!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really promising mechanics and mood. Just a shame you didn't have time to put in a few more levels and some more challenging mechanics. Lots of potential here.

Misfit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool game, but it would need more levels. "Thief" hiding style gameplay works great.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Not sure how it matches the theme, but I like the style and mechanics. Good game.

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:36am

I like the idea of guards! I would like to see more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]