August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

V229

by Inf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

V229 is a fast-paced arcade shooter - you pilot the experimental V229 hovertank. It's fast, it's powerful. Its FACEBLASTER 9000 fusion cannon packs more punch than all the punch that's ever been packed, ever. That's a lot.

Unfortunately...the prototype has... Some problems.

WHAT? BUT WE NEED IT NOW - IT'S OUR LAST CHANCE

It's the batteries, Sir. They're not large enough. It's that damned fusion cannon. By my calculations it has...*gasp*...ten seconds of running time. Ten seconds. My God. We're done for.

Has anybody got any batteries?
----------------------------------
THE GOAL:
Your batteries only last ten seconds, but HQ is dropping batteries all over the base every few seconds.

The walls of your base will turn red and become infected by an ALIEN VIRUS and begin spawning enemies. The unique properties of the FASTBLASTER 9000 FUSION CANNON allows you to heal the infection by shooting them! SHOOT HARDER, PILOT!
Healed walls will turn blue.

Survive long enough to turn all the walls blue to WIN!

Shooting/moving/boosting do not drain your batteries at all, so KEEP FIRING, PILOT!


CONTROLS:
Mouse - Move crosshairs
WSAD - move
Mouse1 - fire the FACEBLASTER 9000
Mouse2 - turbo boost! (but can't fire while boosting)
Mousewheel - zoom camera in/out
R - Restart
-------------------------

HAVE FUN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Korda says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Cool game! The intro reminded me of Blood Dragon :)

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice retro feel. The glow effect is really nice.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I love the intro/outro (I cheated and watched the outro in the Unity source)!

It took me a while to understand those facts:
- The grid shows the energy of my robot. This was a bit counterintuitive for me, as it is on the floor of the complex, and I am piloting a hovercraft. Pretty intelligent floor, eh?
- Energy-wise it doesn't matter whether I shoot or not, and whether I move or not.
- The red blocks respawn enemies.

After I got that, the game was much more enjoyable. The sfx/music is pretty cool and the graphics work fine (The glow feels very satisfying! Are those particle?).

If I had one thing to change, I'd make arrows around the player showing when and where an enemy will appear. Considering I have only 10 seconds duration and a limited amount of batteries, I don't have time to walk around searching.

All in all, pretty good job! And it's good to see a fellow Unity developer in LD! :)

Inf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34pm

checking the outro in the source - wow, that's dedication to curiosity :)

The glow hit effect IS pretty satisfying isn't it! There is a particle system in there, but the main purple flareup you're seeing is a a sprite I'm animating, kind of like a purple glowy corona which grows and shrinks over time.

skarab says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I like the "tron-like" look, gameplay is cool too, well done.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Very very cool!

sittaman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I kept getting the glowing yellow squares forever until I got stuck in the wall, am I doing this right? Despite this, the gameplay is good and the glowing effects are nice!

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice game man! The graphics were particularly cool. The grid indicating your battery life was a bit counterintuitive, but since it covered the whole screen, it was way easy to see if you're out of batteries haha!
Haven't yet seen the epic outro the others are talking about. Will hopefully get to it! :D

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice effects, a more detailed tutorial would have been nice, took me a while to figure it out.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great graphical effects! The game looks and sounds good. But, what is the goal? I kept running around, only to find that everything seems to respawn.

Inf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Thanks for the feedback all - I've updated the description to include a little more direction on what you should be doing.
Cheers!

Inf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

If I were to make a 1.1 version, the first few red squares would have little hovering SHOOT ME! icons.

goyal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

The faceblaster should have over 9000!!! cannons... lol.
Nice graphical effects.

Zap says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

Apart from the points other people have mentioned, it took me a while to realise I had died as there is no visual or audio change. I also initially mistook the squares as aesthetic, rather than pickups - I guess I was expecting the batteries to look like the player character. I also didn't know how much time was remaining.
Having said that, the visual style is pretty cool, especially the projectile. Sounds are nice too :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]