August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Timewarp

by Zeno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get from start to finish.
Captain Timewarp can freeze a copy of himself in time to use as a platform.
Each copy only lasts 10 seconds though.
He's not very good at his job.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Theme3.70
#178Innovation3.56
#551Graphics2.89
#570Humor2.21
#602Audio2.46
#891Overall2.70
#924Mood2.21
#1027Fun2.26
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21am

Hate the physics, they are so weird that makes the game way too hard

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22am

Nice game, it fit the theme and was overall pretty fun.
(It was pretty difficult too)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

Lovely little game! Extremely hard thanks to the floaty controls though. Took me a while to get past Level 1!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

I really like the concept and the graphics, but The jumping is so floaty that I couldn't get through the first level :(

It's already a hard thing to do (reminds me of bomb jumping in Metroid), but tighter controls would let me focus on what to do instead of how to jump on myself.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

This game is very innovative, but not very fun. The slippery controls and speedy bullet of a player made it almost impossible. I got past the first level but the next was just too much, and I couldn't do it. The theme was represented pretty well, and the graphics were good as well. The audio wasn't good, but at least it didn't blow my eardrums out. No humor to be found, and with no real mood, I give this over all a 2/5.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

Can't get past the first level. Captain Timewarp is too slippery. Can't hit a jump well enough.

Ran on Arch Linux 64 bits.

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

This game made me angry, but I love it!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

Cool idea, a lot like P.B. Winterbottom. The controls are really floaty making the game difficult to get the character to where I need it to be. It might be easier to control if you limit the maximum horizontal velocity, change the acceleration to be much higher so that you can aim a little better. Also, for some reason I found the first level the hardest.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Haha I think the first level was the hardest!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Really hard! :)

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

The low friction made it very hard to control but the idea is interesting.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

Love the concept, hated the controls

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

I echo what the other said: the controls felt too floaty, but the gameplay idea has potential. Try and tweak it for a non-compo version, I'd love to give a more polished version another try!

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23am

Woah, way too difficult for me :D
Still, awesome concept. Only the physics isn't really good.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Way too slippery. In a game where aiming is so necessary this level of slipperiness makes it impossible.
I love the concept but the 2nd level is as far as I got.

iambored2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice concept, similar to mine. Couldn't get past level one, though :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:13pm

fresh feel, nice pixels.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:16am

Reminds me a little bit of The company of myself. Way he moved was hard to get used too. But it was fun

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I finished it! It was fun, great concept but the controls were too annoying.. and there wasn't enough levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]