August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Paper Flight

by gamepopper - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To reiterate the controls section of the menu:
Up/Down: Change angle of flight
Hold S: Charge up throw
Release S: Throw
R: Retry
M: Menu

One thing that some people don't get is the wind guage. The red bar indicates the strength of the wind in that direction, so if it's up or down, it's the vertical wind speed, if it's left or right, it's the horizontal wind speed. I hope that clears up a few things.

"Inspired by the planes in the sky, it's time to bring aerodynamic flight to the basics with a paper plane. The aim is to make it fly for 10 seconds, but it's not as easy as it sounds, with the wind being your main enemy, not to mention what lurks around in the park,"

Tools:
Flixel (AS3)
Photoshop CS4
Bu-Autotracker.py
BFXR

Try and unlock the achievements, I've left six!

This is a Flash game, running on ActionScript. So Flash Player 10/11 or higher preferably.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#563Humor2.22
#566Audio2.53
#694Graphics2.66
#851Innovation2.56
#896Mood2.26
#910Theme2.73
#966Overall2.59
#1036Fun2.24

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Lovely graphics! I couldn't figure out how to get the paper plane to fly for more than a few meters though. Checked the controls, but just couldn't nail it. Otherwise seemed like a decent game!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

Achievements are impressive!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

I didn't quite get how to throw a 'good throw' I get that holding it too long made it bad, but holding it too short made it bad throw. Wasnt quite sure how it played in
Got an achievement a bird came by and flew off with plane?

I also like some of the subtle graphics things like the grass at distnace moving

I did get a 10 second throw!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

The wind element adds a level of randomness to the flight path that I think detracts from the basic premise of the game - finding the optimal angle and release speed. Somehow, I got a perfect flight the first time, but was completely unable to get more than a few seconds after that. I think a list of the attainable achievements would be good, too, so players know what they are trying to do beyond getting a 10-second flight time. The music was acceptable for the style of the game, but not exactly pleasing; the art was similarly basic.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Great thing to add achievement, but I'm still not sure that we can do a 10 second flight

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Very nice. I don't get the wind meter though. Does it show where the wind is coming from or going to?

But at least I did it once!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice idea on the theme, found it difficult but I nailed that 10 second flight after some experimenting! Shame those hidden achievements aren't more apparent, as they're quite fun!

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice idea, but I was not able to fly more than one meter:)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Hey this is actually pretty nice! I personally suck at this type of games but they're good :)

everblind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Good game!, congrats :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I found it tough to nail a good throw, but I love the concept. The little details add a lot to the game though, I love the bird and the plane.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Find it too hard, since took a while until I could take a decent flight and see more from the game. But I liked what I saw. And the achievements definitely added two or three stars to my rate!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

Managed to get to 8.58, everything else was no where near xD

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Not a bad idea, but I failed to get much fun from this, knowing about the wind gauge and the controls.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

Nicely done but a hard game to play! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

Alink says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Hard to understand how to play well, but I had few good throws. Maybe need more feedback clues?

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:52pm

That was pretty funny. The wind gauge was a little confusing at first as to what the red bars actually meant, but when I figured it out it made sense. The random events really made this game have its charm. Nicely done and good job.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

HILARIOUS! Watching this in the stream really turned my previous rage into comedy. Seeing it done to someone else is the best part.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:17am

Loved the concept but like a few other people I had a hard time trying to figure the ideal way to throw the paper plane.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Heheh that was fun. I'm better at this in real life than in the game D:

Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Man this is a difficult one! My best was 6.5 seconds, tried about 40 times.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:54am

Well. The throwback is difficult to grasp. When do I throw it? The farthest I went was 2 something. In most gliding games like these, I expected to control my craft in flight. It was not welcome when I discovered I could not. So I kept pushing on and on and on until I gave up. Maybe this is a little bit over my head but I am done with this one.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]