August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Out of Breath

by Paraknight - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my first submission ever for Ludum Dare! All written in JavaScript from scratch with 0 libraries!

You can play it here: http://db.tt/MX6QfxEY

Controls are just WASD or arrow keys.

The game has been tested in Chrome and FireFox, but I recommend Chrome since it seems to give me a faster frame rate.

If the game seems impossibly hard, it only means that you were very, very, VERY unlucky. Refresh the page to generate a more normal distribution of flora.

Art and sound are quite lacking to say the least, but the game does have an "ending" so don't give up! I'll definitely continue working on it after the LD27.

The source code can either be viewed within your browser the standard way (it is entirely unobfuscated although not very commented) or downloaded in a zip file. It's not open source yet though so please don't steal. ;)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#406Theme3.32
#587Fun2.89
#593Mood2.68
#676Overall2.95
#735Innovation2.74
#1100Graphics1.89
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Wow... this is great! It reminds me of Pitfall II, but, you know... less square. I admit, I didn't find the treasure - but I had a really good time trying. The mechanic of finding oxygen is very satisfying.

I think you should polish this up, add some baddies/some-kind-of-conflict/extra mechanic and it could be a really great game.

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

It was incredible how moody game you've created with such a simple graphics. I really enjoyed diving down to the unknown. :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

I really liked it. :) Reminds me of the games I used to play as a kid. Well done! Is there an end?

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Here is the proof that without graphics, without libs, without audio, but using a good concept and writing good code, you can make games that feel good to play!
Well done !

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

The swimming felt very fluid and rewarding - I didn't complete the game but I got pretty deep :D

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Really cool and unique gameplay. Fits the theme perfectly. I was not able to find the treasure, but I definitely had a lot of fun exploring!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37am

Very fun game good entry!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43am

good gameplay, basic graphics, no sounds, no music. But anyway i enjoy it. Good job

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55am

i couldnt find the treasure either but the air bubble idea was fun and challenging :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

Pretty interesting little game. Its just need some more defined goal

loxo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice game, I especially like the great atmosphere! I think it would be even better with some audio. It's hard to breathe normally while playing this game.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:50am

No sound, simple graphics, but great atmosphere! :)
I haven't found the treasure yet, but I enjoyed the game a lot. I would rather have more colored graphics and some sound effects.
You have my respect for not having used external libraries.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]