August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

#hindsight

by ComicSans - Jam Entry

Update: There is now a Javascript-based Web version. For those that are curious, there are 5 endings available currently.

You'll need the XNA redistributable linked above (and the .NET framework, but you probably already have that).

We only had time to implement about half of the planned endings, so it might feel a little empty.

Good luck! You will all be heroes... maybe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#75Innovation(Jam)3.56
#84Graphics(Jam)4.10
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#130Humor(Jam)3.04
#143Theme(Jam)3.43
#144Overall(Jam)3.45
#200Audio(Jam)3.11
#297Fun(Jam)2.93

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51am

very cool :)

-ENDESGA

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15am

Very nice concept, although it seemed unfinished. I liked the time travel aspect (I still wish that was the theme)

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:18am

Can't figure out how to win; if I go to the back they say I need to use sensors (and the game interrupts them while talking to die), but I can't find any kind of sensors at the front. Love the theme and mechanics though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

very cool. I was getting stuck and couldnt finish it though :(
Great idea and concept! very nice art and music!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I love point 'n clicks! I got the slavery ending which I guess is maybe about the best you can get(?). Good stuff!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Love the comic book look! Pretty cool game, its a shame you didnt have time to finish it all. I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Loved the graphics :D ... And the story line xD

megashroom says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Nice!
The concept fits very well with the theme, and the score fits perfectly with the mood.
It felt choppy when I played it for the first two clicks though; I didn't understand the motion mechanic well.
Other than that the game was excellent.

Tater_hater says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Graphics are impressive

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:51am

Very very pretty! I like it!

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

Cool art, solid theme use and good concept. Was only able to get the death and slavery endings. I couldn't get the reactor to stabilize unfortunately. I wanted to abandon ship in the pod but it wouldn't let me :D

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

I like the rewind mechanic.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

Good job. Very few people have original music, I love quest games. I assume only the surrender ending is currently working ? Thanks

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

Cool project. I was never able to get a good ending and we always died or ended up captured. Jumping back along the timeline is a neat feature.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:43am

Very nice little point-and-click. The art was especially good. It did feel a bit "rushed" (the game, not the art), but it was still a whole lot of fun trying to get various endings :) Good job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great graphics. I liked how you created a comic book feel for many of the story elements. It would be cool if the rewind effect didn't just snap to the last point, but actually visually rewind.

ComicSans says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Thanks for all of the compliments! Some of the things that were planned, but we were about 5 hours short on time to finish: (1) Animated rewind of time, (2) The rest of the endings, (3) Animated view screen content based on the current threats. We will probably finish all of that up and post it at some point.

esperian says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:09am

I love the old school feel of this <3

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:37am

Awesome concept and I like the graphics very much! Unfortunately the character is a bit hard to control. I'm on Mac OS X, so I tried the web version. Safari crashed, but it works on chrome.

Lizzip says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Very nice, great graphics especially.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:47am

good concept and very detailed!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]