August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10s Castaway

by meszka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're stranded on a strange island where the day lasts only 10 seconds.
The main goal is to fix your broken boat and get back home.

Made using JavaScript, HTML5 canvas and the Jaws library: http://jawsjs.com/

Edit: If you're using Chromium on Ubuntu (possibly also Debian) and don't hear any sound effects, try installing the "chromium-codecs-ffmpeg-extra" package.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#73Theme3.83
#121Fun3.54
#158Overall3.54
#246Mood3.18
#363Graphics3.22
#369Innovation3.23
#578Audio2.51
#629Humor2.12

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Nice survival-game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice game! Pretty hard, but that's okay :)
I just could not get the treasure chest. Never :(
And I've got no idea what the fishing rod is used for :P

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I made it home! Great idea for a game... I didn't get the last tool though... will have to try again tonight. It would be cool if you could create new huts, so you could explore further

DiscoFish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice game!

meszka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

@zedutchgandalf: The fishing rod actually helps out a lot... it's used for what fishing rods are normally used for ;)

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Great game! Getting the treasure even was challenging. :)

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

I had a great time through this =) It's a nicely condensed version of the island survival experience!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

Nice and neat! Great mood and gameplay.
Did you make the hut sleeping area bigger than the graphic? I had a few close calls with night but it allowed me to sleep. That's a very good thing to be lenient with players if it was intentional :]

Inertia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

This was really cool. Once I figured out what the fishing rod did I was able to make progress.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22pm

That was REALLY hard for me. Maybe I didn't figure something out to make it easier, but dang, that could be really fun! You should definitely keep at this game, it has potential!

Some background music (even just a small looping audio bit) I think might have added a little bit, but overall, excellent entry!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37am

I loved the concept of the game! I guess the worry-wart in me never lets me wander off thinking I'll never make it back in time! :P
I can't seem to get the treasure safely back home though!

Great job on this! The sprite of the character is so adorable!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nicely done! Obtained the treasure and got home in 8 days in my second play :-)

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Interesting game, pretty hard but interesting. Probably having some huts around the map would help to survive longer and have more fun!

sanojian says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Really compact. Nothing wasted here. I like this game.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26am

I beat it. You have a nice start here. It was fun, and I liked the setup you had, but I was hoping there would be more. I can see the potential in this though... tons of ways to expand the game.

headchant says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:32am

Wow, that was hard. But a nice little fun game!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I loved this! Great art style and I enjoyed the pressure of figuring things out one step at a time and having to be super safe.

stenol says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice game ! Cool graphics ! Miss some music but in overall, I love this game.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Hehe, nice! I like that you can finish it with some undiscovered tools "?", makes you come back for more!

loxo says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Great idea, but really hard!

Dioiminik says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:51pm

A bit to hard for my taste but still quite enjoyable :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Not sure why this game is believed to be that hard... The hardest part is having enough time to retrieve the treasure, everything else goes smoothly within 10 secs.
Solid survival game, congrats!

DuFF says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:28am

Fun idea but really hard.

justi says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:47pm

My best tesult is survied for 3 day and gained 2 items .. Too hard for me but well done graphics and nice character :) Good work.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Amazing!

recursor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:55am

Cute little game. I haven't finished it yet, but I'll come back to it. Having the days be only 10 seconds long was a nice way to incorporate the theme.

Larzan says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great Idea, fun to play!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Quite challenging, but fun to play. The 10second limit is a little bit short, and I don't like the always repeating eating ritual. Some more berry places would make the game more interesting to explore.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Really fun! I got all the items ;)

tchem says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

great work!!!

ravine says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Fun game, I found it a bit hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]