August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nut - timeout

by van noctar - Jam Entry

Nut is the son of the time god. His father will soon die, to prove he is capable of succeeded him, he must travel space and time to recover the time that "Pedus" were stolen.

This game was designed by a designer game mechanics, a graphic designer, and sound designer.

Enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#231Theme(Jam)3.23
#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#338Graphics(Jam)3.09
#340Mood(Jam)2.78
#458Overall(Jam)2.73
#515Fun(Jam)2.31
#539Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

Epiphane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Good idea, but it feels really finnicky, which throws off the smoothness and ruins the mood.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

I like the idea but the actual game needs a bit more work

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

The parallax scrolling works really nice, the gameplay is a little too simple and the difficulty is high. Nice work though :)

Rorogamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

Bon jeu, graphisme et parallax très réussi :p

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Nice idea, I love the backgrounds and the sense of perspective. Very good entry, good job. Only thing is that some collisions need a bit of polishing.

van noctar says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Thanks for your comments. The game is not complete, gameplay and collisions needs work. A future version will be available.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

It doesn't open for me D:

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Nice. Had a sort of rayman feel to it.

schnerble says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:09am

I like the style :) The animations and music are nice. Unfortunately there's a bug on my Linux machine where the characters aren't standing on the ground. Otherwise I think the next thing would be to add more different things to do :)

van noctar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:37am

ellipticaldoor : if the jar not work, launch the .bat :)

NoahC_ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:40am

Graphically, the game is very impressive, however the theme could have been utilized in a bit more of a unique way. The collisions to the enemies is a bit wacky, on top of losing time by getting hit.

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:45am

la codepage de ce site est errone. Tous les accents ne sont pas correct.
J'adore les graphiques parallaxes, mais je pense que le joueur devrait rebondir après tue les monstres, comme dans Mario.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:55am

Has a very Dr. Seuss feel to it. The game play is very repetitive though.

van noctar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Aslai : "mais je pense que le joueur devrait rebondir après tue les monstres, comme dans Mario." => Non car nous voulions justement que le monstre se fasse écraser d'un coup sec, après c'est notre choix, est-il judicieux? Mais merci pour ta reflexion :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I would really appreciate if you wrote English in this community, I can not understand what you are trying to say. (Also there are encoding errors that prevent me from using a translator).

However, your game plays fluently and is quite entertaining. Your graphics make me think there is a story behind it, I would have liked if you told it to the player.

van noctar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Thanks for comment :)
Rialgar : The entry has been edit :)

thesunnyk says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:14pm

This is about the first idea I had for "10 seconds" as well. Mario-style platformer where you stamp on dudes to get time extensions. In practise it doesn't work too well, but I think you guys got about as much mileage as could be had. The fact that hitting the guys without jumping on them cost time felt "right". However, other bits of the physics just didn't feel right. I loved the characters (they're carrying watches or pendulums which is cool) but not the background. The background seemed to bug on me as well, and I'd often be walking on air (?)

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:30pm

On linux I get some black squares for the enemies, maybe there are missing graphics? I like the multiplane camera. Keep polishing it!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I love the sound effects and the stressful music. The physical ground doesn't seem to match the graphical ground though.

van noctar says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Indeed, a bad match between the physical ground and the graphic ground exist... This problem has been corrected in the new version (the not jam version, it's an improvement)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]