August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gone in 10 Seconds

by panurge - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Master car thief Kentucky Sands has retired to a monastery in Nepal but can he be talked back into action for one last job?

WASD to move and Space to advance the conversation. Arrow keys to turn the ignition.

DISCLAIMER: I take no responsibility for anyone using the techniques outlined in this game to actually steal cars. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Humor3.88
#193Innovation3.53
#224Overall3.43
#262Fun3.31
#309Mood3.07
#479Graphics3.01
#479Theme3.26
#690Audio2.30

Comments

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23am

Great entry dude!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Lol, after you get first car from the picture, adn theres a cutscene of you entering the house, you can jump, and the guy and chick will jump too :) Neat game though

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

@CustomPhase - Thanks for playing and for spotting that goof. I guess I could change it as a typo but I might let it stand as an unintentional 'feature'. :)

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great game! The last car is so hard... I've found myself making weird hand positions to steal it, but at the end, I couldn't...

The story and characters give it a great touch. One of the best games I've encountered for now.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Oh wow this was awesome! <3 Loved the graphics, the setting/story, dialogs and the gameplay.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

This is the funniest game so far. Great job! :) Love the old Sierra look.

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very solid entry. I like the art style.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Good humour but the gameplay was a bit on the difficult side. Was not able to finish the game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice dude! Funny and fun!

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Your game makes better use of the title :P
The game is very nicely put together with the cutscenes and the like. The art's great too

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

That was a lot of fun; well done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Funny story and characters, the gameplay was pretty tough though, having to hold two keys down, putting in numbers and rotating they key was pretty crazy, got it finally after lots of tries. Bit disappointed to just get a congratulations screen for all my trouble

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52am

Hilarious! It was really challenging, like keyboard twister, but good job! :0)

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

Absolutely amazing!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

@AdventureIslands - Yes, I had big plans for the final scene but unfortunately ran out of time so I had to just rough out that little party scene with about twenty minutes to go!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Fun AND Funny, the art style goes really well with the game. One of my favorites, for sure. :)

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

First laugh out loud game I've played so far - fantastically silly writing.

Also, one hilarious bug/feature: walk to the left into the door, jump up.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

@vanderZwan - Haha, I hadn't noticed that! I also just discovered myself that you can boost one of the other characters onto your head during the final party and jump around with them perched on top. :)

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great dialogues and nice mechanic. Good job!

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great job man! Really funny dialogue. Loved the cool minimal scene of the stereotypical retired guy living a peaceful live in a mountain retreat. Jumping into cars was a cool mechanic and it was fun holding wires together. Tough but not tough enough to make me give up.
- saw one issue: http://i.imgur.com/aG6hPIt.png
- don't think the pauses (when no one is talking) should require hitting space to progress past. sometimes they did, i believe.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18pm

@rylgh - Thanks! Good spot with the overlapping dialogue - I'll look into that straight away. There is one 'pause' in the very first conversation which needs space even when nobody is talking but otherwise it shouldn't do that.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07am

This has probably the best writing of anything I've played so far, some cracking dialogue in there. It's got a really great style to it as well. The only complaint I'd have is that it gets a little tricky a little quickly, but otherwise it's all good. Excellent entry.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool mechanic! I could have used a few more seconds when putting the wires together before having to spin the arrow keys... I'm old... I like the story that you put together!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

Haha, had a lot of fun with this. Enjoyable narrative :D

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10am

haha nice, digging it.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19am

THIS is why there are video games. Felt like I was re-discovering really weird C64 games for the first time. *sniff*

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I think I have RSI now. Maybe it's all the ass-cradling?

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I like the additions to the gameplay at each new car. It made each job more challenging and interesting.

The dialogues were well done and funny too.

Great work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:47pm

That was pretty hilarious. I liked how Ken could jump twenty feet in the air.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I really loved the intro. Aaaand I still don't know how I managed to successfully hack the 3rd car :x

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

"Come on Ken. Focus! Go on in straight through the sunroof."

The lines in this game are hilarious! I also like Small's toe-tapping walking animation.

oajfh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

My character fell out of the world once. Weird, but fun.

oajfh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

My character fell out of the world quite a lot. Other than this rather infuriating aspect, weird, and fun :) Very cool old-school graphics.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

@oajfh Hmmm, I'll have to look into that... Was he doing anything in particular when it happened?

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Hahaha Great job, great job! Hilarious dialogue, fun to play, nice art style... just awesome.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Superb, funny writing, nostalgic visual style, it's terrific!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I loved the dialog! Really solid game. Great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Aww man that's real good dialogue! Ass chat is always winning. Also addictive gameplay.. One of the games I've spent most time with!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

FANTASTIC GAME! One of my favorites on here! Definitely the one with the most character I've played so far.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Really good!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:36am

Excellent writing, funniest game I've played yet. Also the difficulty ramps very nicely with each level providing just the right amount of challenge. Great job!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Excellent. Funny and well-written. And I love the way you handled the theme. Controls and collisions were somewhat awkward in places (like when you have to press space to move in a mission, but can move while the screen is black, or when you need to stand exactly one meter to the left from a character to talk to them), but overall, this is a great entry. Congrats!

mollymus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Great reference to the movie!:D I wouldn't have enjoyed the game nearly as much as I did without it!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Funny stuff here. The last challenge was a real pain though. How are you supposed to hold the Z and P keys with one hand?

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very good stuff...all niceley laid out, a lot of stuff for 48 hours! Does get a bit difficult by the second car, however...

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:43am

haha.. good fun! enjoyed that! i really really like the jumping in it..

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Ahah I love the dialoges. I had a problema, when I tried to jump on the green car I fell through the floor and I couldn't do nothing after that :(

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:11am

Remember, never jump when you're just wearing a towel...
Dialogues are excellent and the stealing cars parts are also challenging (I needed my third hand to finish the last car).
Here is a spectacular ending for you: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49521293/EndingGonein10.png

panurge says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:17pm

@Zccc - Thanks for the spot, I'll look into that straight away.

@Colapsydo - You are the first to spot that wardrobe malfunction! I love your pic - I was thrilled when I first realised you could boost a player onto your head like that. :)

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Awesome art, really funny writing. Some music would have been excellent but you can't have it all. :P Good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really good entry! I like old-skool graphics, dialogues and gameplay.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:40pm

funny game, and good work with the graphics, but my short fingers can't manage that stage with the Z and P. and it feels a little weird controlling with both the arrows and WASD, but maybe that's the point.

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice graphics, interesting story and gameplay :) The last car was tough to boost!

Ithildin says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice entry, with cool touches of humour and interesting story. Also, I found the mechanics original. Great job!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:27pm

The plot is really funny, but seriously : the roof windows hotboxs are too small, I fail 4 on 5 times! another problem : I jumped during the cutscene with Vanya...and disapeared into the floor ^^

panurge says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:15pm

@Pierrec - Which browser did you use? I've had someone else make the same complaint about the hitboxes/jumping and I'm not sure why it seems to be doing that in certain cases...

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Thanks a lot for your kind comment at Lost in the Darkness! I'm glad you enjoyed the game.

That was a pretty fun and silly game about the ancient and noble art of car theft. I especially appreciate the plot bits in between - great humor. With my jumping capabilities, I'd probably participate in the olympics rather than stealing cars though!

PS: "Hi there, I was just taking a shower.", haha :D

manuq says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I like the adventure scenes in between stealing cars. Is a nice combination.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Loved the characters, nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]