August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Gunner

by sittaman - Jam Entry

==[THE GAME]==
10 Seconds Gunner is a classic Asteroids clone were your weapon changes every 10 seconds.

Controls: W or Up arrow moves the ship.
A / D keys and Left / Right arrows rotates the ship.
X key of Spacebar to fire.

==[THE TOOLS]==
Code: AS3 with FlashPunk and FlashDevelop.
Graphics: Voxatron Editor and Blender for rendering;
Paint.NET, Texture Packer and Fireworks for sprites treatment;
Photoshop for title screen.
Sound: FL Studio with reFX Nexus and Audacity.
Revision control: Dropbox.

==[POST MORTEM]==
And here we are. After almost three days of messy code, our second Ludum Dare Jam entry is done. We get really excited when the theme came out as its allowed us to build up an idea very quickly (the far opposite of the Minimalism nightmare, ugh). At the beggining we tried some different mechanics to make the game more Geometry Wars-like, but as issues grew bigger, we droped most of the initial design and ended with an Asteroids clone with, we believe, were fair enough to demonstrate the 10 second mechanic we initially thought.

We are very happy with the result as we managed to get done everything that was crucial to the idea, with relative ease.

Know issues and possibly future updates:
Inaccurate collisions: because the lack of rigid body physics the collisions sometimes are buggy and we were also unable to make the asteroids collide with each other;
Sound issues: we couldn't make the beats loop properly and for some reason the sound effects got a delay on the release version, it doesn't happened on the debug one. Plus some adjustments in volume and mixing are needed.
Gameplay balance: even if we are happy with the asteroids spawn rate, it would be cool if some balancing were done according to the weapon;
Weapon change: The simple random selection is not cool. Even if we prevented 2 weapons to happen consecutively, some probability logic in it would make it much better;
Animate backdrop / Camera movement: We tried this at beggining, but failed;
Messy code: with low time the coding was harshly rushed with caused a very messy and hard to manage code. Refactoring must be done in almost all classes if we want to continue the project;
Controls: although this was made to mimic the classic Asteroids inputs, the controls feels weird and gamepad support is a must have.

Also, it needs more enemies, some power ups and some animations too.

==[FINAL THOUGHTS]==
We had a great time again taking part in Ludum Dare. The result were good and we are considering a commercial release sometime. For the future, we will try to learn and use another engine as we bumped on some FlashPunk limitations this time. We are happy mainly because our organizational, design and communication skills improved a lot since last time and despite being a two-man team and feeling more comfortable about the theme, this is a very significant step we took.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#125Theme(Jam)3.47
#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#156Audio(Jam)3.24
#236Overall(Jam)3.23
#257Graphics(Jam)3.40
#356Humor(Jam)2.16
#360Mood(Jam)2.70
#534Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Pretty decent asteroids clone. Brilliant graphics!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I like the "Pacifist" Weapon. So peaceful...

InfN555 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice game! Pretty graphics, no glitches!
Just that sometimes the voice is hard to hear over the background music.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

the link is broken :(

sittaman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

@nintendoeats it's working here, bro...

Anyone else with broken link?

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Great assets. Kewl interlace in menu. Stardust meets Dark Colony.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Interesting take on Asteroids :-) Great gameplay and very addictive!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Very fun game! Great idea, though I would like more guns. The spaceship handles really well.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Very nice art style.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Good work!

YsenGrimm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really nice graphics. This pushes Asteroids to a new level.
(Asteroids on steroids) ;)

barcode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Pacifist!!! Lol. Nice Music!!

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Solid game, the voice telling you the weapon's name is cool, and the Pacifist "weapon" is a nice touch :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

The music matching with the current weapon was very cool.

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35am

need more gunsz....

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

Great graphics, great sounds, great gameplay.
But I need more asteroids to shoot!!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

awesome keep it up.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00am

Nice work!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Very nice graphics! Really nice and pixelated.

The game was quite easy though, especially because of one of the weapons being highly overpowered.

However, considering your notes about improvemts, this could turn out to be a really great game!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Fun classic game :)

Friday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nice! A bit too easy though.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Quite well produced, and well executed! It was bit too easy (I never got that frantic asteroids feel, even when I was a pacifist), probably because the controls are much less floaty than Asteroids. Still, you have several nice touches, particularly in the music.

Also, I have never played a game where mines were fun to use. Somebody really ought to do something about that.

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice game with good music and I really liked the menu background image. :D

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Love the application of the theme. Really nice graphics, too!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Good asteroid game!
Would have love to see much more crazy weapon, because your take on the theme is very original! (changing weapon each 10 seconds)
Congrats!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Fantastic game! My only feedback for future projects is to make sure the GUI text stays visible at all times (it can get covered by asteroids; or maybe you did that purposely, what do I know?). Again, great game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

I really love the presentation in general. The music is great and so is the art, including the menu. And then the game-play itself is simple but good fun. I really enjoy having to dodge the asteroids when pacifist activates.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35am

I loved how each weapon had its own music. the gatling gun felt awesome every time I got it :D

bombjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32am

impressive controls! great game!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:38pm

I liked it but I missed some sort of difficulty increase.
The best power ups are Pacifist and the Gatling gun :P

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very interesting take on the theme. I enjoyed this, though the asteroid spawn rate could have been a bit more increased. The 'powerup roulette' is very intriguing, and I found myself enjoying this quite a bit. Nicely done!

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Well done, would like to see mor but anyway i read that you learned from the experience and this is what is all about!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Mmm asteroids, I do love me some asteroids and this is a rather nice version of it some nice variance in weapons add different strategy to the game, particularly the mines and pacifism phases, also, yay for vocoders, the bgm is rather nice too, looking forward to the post-LD version!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:43am

Solid game, nice twist on classic asteroids! Sweet robot voice! :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice take on asteroids!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:05am

I didn't like too much ship physics, I would have preferred a more inertial behavior (as in original asteroid game).
Graphic is good, but music is superb!
I really enjoyed the "machine gun" weapon, too!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:57am

Good use of the theme. The various background music sounded awesome and fitted whatever weapon was currently active! The art style was well done and everything seemed polished. Nice job!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice use of theme, loved how the gun did change to different types from time to time. Great job. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]