August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Aliens Came (10 seconds to choose)

by porglezomp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a Choose Your Own Adventure Game with a 10 second time limit on all your choices.
You play as an average citizen in a post-invasion society, but all the while circumstance seems to conspire to drive you toward rebellion.

The CYOAG engine was built inside Unity3D.
I used TextWrangler to write the story.
BFXR to make the timer-end beep sound effect.
I used Photoshop for the art.
Fontstruct was used to create the ingame font.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Mood3.66
#136Graphics3.75
#174Overall3.51
#206Humor3.00
#352Fun3.18
#420Theme3.31
#492Innovation3.05
#928Audio1.49

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Nice job!

This is a pretty great game all around. Nice use of unity, great visuals, and a pretty solid story.

If I did have to gripe about one thing, it would be the sound, except for the the one blip at the beginning, I didn't hear anything. (Maybe it was just the route I took or something.)

Can't wait to see if you do a Post-Mortem!

Keep it up!

Pestodesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Man, this was really nicely written! I like how you used the 10 seconds to push the player forward. Simple but good!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

An excellent entry. I think the timer would have been better if it gave you a sound for the 5 second warning or something.
The visuals were quite consistent with each other and the story was extremely well done.
Nice entry.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

@MrBlade, the sound only beeps if it forces a choice for you.
@Pestodesign thanks! One of my friends told me "This fixes all the problems with Choose-Your-Own-Adventure games."
@OkayHughes I tried to make a warning sound, but it never really worked.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Great game :) I love the artstyle.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Wow awesome art and so much of it! It was a bit too much reading for me, but that's how I am.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Overall one of the best entries i've seen so far :D
Fits the theme very well, has awesome graphics and it's innovative too

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

this is AWESOME ! its perfect of a new hollywood movie, and the quick choises are a great form of put the player into the story.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

This is absolutely amazing. The most fun I had out of the 15 games I have played so far. The time presure and nice pictures really pulled me into the story.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Very good graphics, the story is well done. I'm not a fan of the "10s to choose" gimmick, but that's just me, and it's really well-employed here. Congratulations!

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

That was really cool, like the narrative and art.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Well written - which isn't something I often find myself saying with LD games. And the artwork works really well. Just one thing, though - the Unity web player doesn't work on Linux, so a separate build would be useful.

graytest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I like the graphics and the story. Gripped me even though I didn't play long. Good job in general and with the story and graphics especially!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Really cool stoyline!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

@PTSnoop, I'll put up some offline builds right away.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

great writing and visuals! really impressive, it's only the ending that i didn't quiet like, but overall a good story and interesting setting. nice use of the timer to, simple but effective.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I really, really liked this. I ran through the game twice... the story was pretty standard though very engaging... in the end I got the jerk high-profile job! The graphics are of course polished and great... audio would have worked wonders, too bad you didn't put any :(

Good luck!

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very impressive. The art is nice and it tells a full story blow by blow. Pretty funny to boot.

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I enjoyed the story.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Really funny

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Intriguing storyline(s) ;)

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice idea, great visuals.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Really nice! Interesting story, it never started to drag because you had checkpoints covered. Good job!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Wow! That must have been a lot of work. One of the best games I have seen thus far. Sometimes the text was a bit long to read in ten seconds. But that is a minor complaint.

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice story. Playing it again, there don't seem to be that many different paths to take, but when I played the first time, it felt like a huge world. Nice job with that :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

I like the entire mood of the game and the style of the art.
Good job.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Great game but the 10 secondes to choose look like you introduced that just for respect the theme and not create the game for the theme. Anyway it's a really greatgame and.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

The 10 seconds to choose was the initial idea of the game, but it ended up playing a more minor part than I would have liked.
If I work on it more, I'll change where the timer shows up, instead of being every single choice.

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

The best game I've played so far by far! Good job!

N427 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

WOW, really awesome dude! Great story and setting and I loved how forced I was to make decisions!

>"Pack your things and leave"

"You have no things here"

mitkus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Wow, what a story!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Well made and very nicely write.
Great submission for 48 hours

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39pm

@N427 The pack your things and leave was one of my favorite jokes. If you chose to pack your things and leave it just sticks that "You have no things here" card inbetween.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

good job

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Nice story-telling and mood. Really enjoyed it.
Great work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Really nice art and design :D

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice job turning a choose-your-own-adventure into a game. I wish that there was slight movement in the scenes, but that's pretty nitpicky for a 48-hour jam. Good execution on the story.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

crazy use of unity, worked out really nice

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Good job! loved the mood and it was quite fun!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

I got vaporized into a pool of carbon dust.. : ( I'm really liking this game so far man I think it's been years since I've played a cool choose your own adventure (Used to like reading them when I was young though) 5 stars from me.

rxi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice work. There was a surprising amount of art work, I found the style of it consistent and really well done.

The use of the theme via the count down timer didn't end up effecting me much, since I tended to read the text, look at the image and make a decision before the timer got in the red.

Found it an enjoyable experience overall, good job.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice story and use of the theme. :) Good job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice job! Some sounds could be nice.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Really enjoyed playing, nice storytelling and pixel art style you have, rated highly. :)

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Ha, pretty funny and nice drawings ;) I kind of like the rush that the 10 seconds creates too ;)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice work! Really effective storytelling, both text and visuals, given an extra boost by the 10-second mechanic. I thoroughly enjoyed playing this.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

I liked this! Normally text/decision games bother me, but not here. You checkpointed me and reduced loss. Things were also very very fast so no time for short attention span to kick in. Plus, aliens... I got a They Live vibe from it. Good stuff. Loved all the art and changing locations. For a game with no sound it had mood.

Capro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

This is great. Very well done!

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Great story :O

Sestren says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:21am

The visuals and the writing are both pretty good. I like that you let the player pick different choices after dying, that saved me a lot of clicking and helped keep me in the moment of the choice that was made.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:03am

Excellent use of colour, and captured the mood just right.

Starspell says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:23pm

A very nice little game with good visuals. I like your use of the theme. The only things I would change would be to make it a little more obvious when you had infinite time so that you could sit back and read slowly and to add sounds.

Nice to see a good text adventure which was actually engaging.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:37am

Great game! I played it a few times, and got two different "true" endings.. and died in three different ways. Good stuff!
The graphics are very nice, and the story is decent.
Good job.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:37am

Nice design but with some typos..

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Thanks a lot for your comment on Lost in the Darkness! I understand what you mean - well, they were actually supposed to look small and helpless in the light and quickly scuttle out of there. But then I never came to make the more menancing enemies... :) (Post-compo version later!)

A choose-your-own-adventure game with simple, but great art? In 48 hours? Sweet! The mood's there (I especially love the meeting scenes), I just wish there were music and sound effects to underline it - but then again, 48 hours, right? The timer was a nice idea, but since there wasn't much text, I never felt really rushed.

Pretty good job overall!

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Great game! It would have been nice if there was a more obvious link between the story and the fact that you only have 10 seconds to decide what to do.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Hey everyone who rated me, thanks for rating me! You guys are all awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]