August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

hurry!

by hughsk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

hurry! is a small but speedy arcade shooter.

Dodge and shoot the red targets, grabbing the bombs as you go. Survive as long as possible and try to get a high score!

Mouse to shoot, WASD or arrow keys to move.

***Untested in anything other then Chrome, so if you're having trouble getting it working try it there.***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#54Fun3.76
#158Overall3.54
#193Graphics3.57
#199Mood3.28
#549Innovation2.97
#600Humor2.17
#881Theme2.78

Comments

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Doesn't seem to run for me : /
This is all i see:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/73205545/Can%27t%20Play.png

Hope you fix it :)

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

Hey Vasileiadis, unfortunately I only had the time to write code that works in Chrome! I'll have a look later and see if it's something simple - I might be able to fix it, thanks for the heads up :)

wccrawford says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Seems to work well enough (on Chrome), but I kind of wish there was a point to it. Shooting red spheres gets old quite quickly.

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46am

I honestly had a lot of fun playing this game. It's simplistic (all you do is shoot red balls, grab grey ones) but it does have a challenge, especially once you get to 100 or so seconds. Nice satisfying effects and gameplay, really. Good job!

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Good graphics, good color scheme, nice particle effects! Fun game!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Fun! Highscore, ~120

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very good game! Everything fits nicely together. Good job!

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice level generation! Physics were good. I'm not sure how the timer and scoring related.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Awesome graphics and feel !

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Kinda forcing in the theme there :P
Anyways. I really like the visuals but I feel it lacking difficulty because the enemies are weak and dumb and that makes it kinda boring.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Even if simple, graphics are very good looking.
I spent some time playing before I realized I could use the mouse, and you know what ? I prefer the gameplay without mouse, trying to avoid reds. It's catchier, dynamic, our player movements are so much enjoyable that I'd rather move around than concentrate on firing at targets.

(and game seems maybe too simple / long with firing)

I think it would make a nice second concept.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Smooth scrolling/camera and nice gameplay. Cool!

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55am

Really liked the minimalist look. Also liked that you were able to fly by holding jump, shooting down and "jumping" off your projectiles! Sort of like a rudimentary rocket jump.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very nice and smooth feeling game. Good work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very satisfying gameplay, there is a certain flow to the game. And I loved the effects. Overall great job - high scores from me on Overall and Fun, low on Theme. :P

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

Absolutely fantastic game, love the style, the colors, everything very responsive, just a great lot of fun to play!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Simple but really well made game. I like the colour scheme too!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Really like the procedural level! Perlin?

And how did you do the collision? I'm going to be looking at the sourcecode :)

I found I got trapped easily in sink-holes I couldn't get out of.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

A really fun shooter with great physics. It wasn't clear how this related to the theme, aside from the timer counting in up increments of ten seconds. Regardless, I probably had the most fun with this game than any I've rated so far.

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:28am

I didn't understand how my performance interacted with time interacted with my size -- more explicit in-game feedback would be great. This was a lot of fun!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:48am

Hectic! And fun :-)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:53am

I loved the dark shade against the yellow. It was pretty pleasing to the eye. I like the minimalistic art style.
But I'm not sure what the red bar at the top was for? Health?

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Fantastic! Really god fun, although it didn't save my best score...

Dan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This was really fun, it got very hectic after about 150 seconds which I really liked. I'm not sure if this is intentional, but you can fly if you shoot below whilst jumping.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really insanely fun and well done!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]