August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Berserker

by CoderDozer - Jam Entry

Update (3rd-sept): I need to invoke LD's rule to fix a bug that pretty much makes the game unplayable on some machines.
I have updated the releases and the web player version and the sources changes can also be viewed. No new added features.

My entry is a 1 vs 1 soccer (football) game involving monster trucks. Should be straight forward except you have 10 seconds to score, the other guy is trying to ram you and the pitch is slippy as hell.

Uses unity.

Demo video - http://youtu.be/j8owcksIq1g

Src - https://github.com/wtarr/LudumDare27

Tools used:
Unity 3d 4.2
Blender
Fruity Loops 3 - (wow that's old)
sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#321Humor(Jam)2.30
#324Fun(Jam)2.85
#384Graphics(Jam)2.90
#423Innovation(Jam)2.63
#430Audio(Jam)2.28
#436Overall(Jam)2.76
#470Mood(Jam)2.38
#495Theme(Jam)2.61

Comments

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Cool, but sometimes I go through the ball

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

Thanks for trying it out, The only thing I can think of is the ball is bouncing at the time and the car is just slipping under it. Had it happen to myself a couple of times and can be a bit annoying just when I think I have a shot at goal.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

haha, this game is slightly frustrating. It gets a bit easier when you get the hang of it, but even so, I lost like 80% of the time :P I really like the exaggerated camera effects when the other truck hits you.

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

I MADE A GOAL!! The car physics are ridiculous! :D This was actually very fun for the small amount of time I played it. Only addition I would make - I think it would be no problem to you to make people able to swith to 3D camera. I think that would make the game even more ridiculous. Nice job! :)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18am

It's probably an issue on my machine, but the car moves really slow, which frustrates a lot. Probably making a little quicker will improve the game play?

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

It's really fun, catchy and hard, I like it!
There's no way someone can beat my best-score(2).

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

The game is quite fun, though the slipperiness took a while to get used to before i could score a goal.

The only issue i have with this is the screen-shake effect. It adds a nice feel to impacts when done correctly, but here it's way over the top in my opinion. :)

The premise is great though :D I can't help imagining a full scale game where two teams of monster trucks completely obliterate the grass field while playing football, meanwhile the drivers honk horns and yell at each other :D

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Man, fuck that other guy. Also, driving underneath the ball was exquisitely frustrating.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Good start. I like the headlights.

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

Awesome! Very satisfying to make a goal. Loved the camera shake and the look of the lights. I love the fact that the other driver is an annoying douche just making things difficult.

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12am

Funny idea, gameplay and graphics! I've enjoyed it :) "Shaking screen" effect is great, with it this game become very alive. However, I think you can make some improvements to this game to increase the "fun" (Yeah, I think you need to concentrate on it). Firstly, I think 10 seconds is too small time to perform a goal. Secondly, ball is jumping too high. I can't push ball from the beginning of game, I can only touch it after ~4 seconds late. So player need to avoid "berserker" for 4 seconds and perform goal in 6 seconds (not in 10 because ball is jumping).
But I think this game have a great potential to be a great time killer game. Wish you luck :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14am

Really really tricky when the camera doesn't orient with your car! And I completely failed to score any goals. Would be nice if the camera tracks, and the cars were different colours!

KeinBaum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43pm

hmm the car is so slow i did not get to the ball in 10 seconds...

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

The ball bouncing made it just impossible to score sometimes.

It is a nice idea, but is too difficult. It would be better if it was easier to score so you at least get a sense of accomplishment after 10 seconds(instead of constantly seeing score 0)

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Yeah, you are right, I probably should have built in a sliding scale of difficulty like the blockers speed, ball bounce and the pitches friction. Thanks for all the input.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Great fun, if it a little difficult to hit the ball at times. Controls could use some tweaking too. Good work!

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

The physics are fun, but the car moves a bit too slowly for a ten-second time limit. It seems my time is half up before I've even touched the ball.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:24pm

VERY slippery :) That jerk scored more than me! :D

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Haha, that was fun, if very tough!

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Fun to play! I hate the other car!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:54am

For some reason I couldnt move very fast. Other than that, cool game. I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Thanks for featuring it, that is really weird why the player car is moving so slow, must be something to do with unity's physics. Ah fuck, physics updates are meant to be done in "FixedUpdate" and not "Update".

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Nope, much simpler than that, forgot to apply delta time to my forces -_-

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:50am

Liked the light effects. But was difficult to see when the ball was flying in the air.

Blinked says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Wow, that was hard... The physics were hilarious though haha.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]