August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mission: Save Gliese

by thetheodor98 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DON'T FORGET TO UNZIP THE Save Gliese.ZIP TO BE ABLE TO PLAY!

To be able to play, download the .zip, unzip and start the jar inside the folder. Do not move the res folder!

DON'T FORGET TO UNZIP THE .ZIP TO BE ABLE TO PLAY!

Try to destroy the enemy ship before the enemy ship destroys your home planet Gliese!

Hack = the amount of time decreased from the timer. The higher you Hack rank is, the more time decreases from the timer.

Go to help in game for help!

I have now moved .jar and res to a .zip to make it easier to play the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#404Fun3.10
#538Overall3.07
#656Theme3.07
#676Graphics2.70
#726Mood2.50
#768Humor1.91
#830Innovation2.60
#897Audio1.65

Comments

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01am

This was cool, I never learnt to not waste missles!

(please play/rate my game, just click my name)

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00am

Had to extract res.zip into /res/ folder in the same directory to get it to load the levels correctly.

Finished all 19 levels! Was a good challenge to the end, and the upgrades all helped in one way or another. Liked the animation of the laser and the planet exploding.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

Hey, thanks for showing me this game.

The general idea was nice, and some of your level design was good. But I think there is a lot in this game that comes as a "surprise" to the player - it is really hard to gauge how much damage we will take from asteroids - some asteroids cause lots of damage, some cause little. There are also some upgrades that don't seem to make a lot of sense: "hack"?

If I could give you a suggestion, I would remove a lot of the unnecessary complexities of the game (like the varying damage from the asteroids, the 25 levels), and instead use that time and effort to add polish, like sounds, etc.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

LP: http://youtu.be/OGxYmasVH8E

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Good once I finally got it running!

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good game about Gliese :D

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:33am

I pain to start up but fun game

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Whoa! Really nice entry! It only needs some nice retro sfx! Good job mister!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Nice idea, really liked the upgrades system :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

Had to rearrange folders until it told me that I need a newer Java version. Sorry.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cool concept. Good job!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I saved Gliese from the enemies! I love the programmer art and game play is responsive and smooth. The tileset theme is a bit strange in context of planets and walls - perhaps nebulas would suit it better - watch out for those asteroids!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

haha interesting

Don't waste missiles!
<3 explosion graphic

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:47am

Fairly easy, but still fun! Good work, and a good selection of levels!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Looks like a fun game but it doesnt fit in my screen by height

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:09pm

This was fun actually! A bit too easy, but enjoyable none the less. Impressive amount of levels!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

The game did not run. I was using a mac

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:20pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hz1_JBIColI - My first impressions on the game ^^

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Great concept. A little bit of polish on the graphical side would have made a lot of difference, along with some clear visual indicators and sound effects. This is pretty fun though and the missions and upgrades help keep it interesting.

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Screen resolution killed it for me =(

Is there any way to scale it down? / Launch fullscreenmode?

I managed to beat level 1, but I couldn't leave the upgrade section anymore =/

headchant says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I played this one through, and I really like the idea. A countdown in the beginning of the round would be good and I think I used some bugs to win. For example: Will full upgrades the last level was quite easy because you could just walk through the enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]