August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Curse of Chronos

by Vaalen - Jam Entry

Use up down arrows and space bar in the main menu. Wait a bit because the loading can take 10-20 seconds.

Controls and tips :
Arrow keys : move.
Mouse : put it on a square to get informations about it.
Move in the direction of a npc to talk to him.

It's a kind of rogue-like in open-world. At least that was my plan at the beginning. Finally, I think it's a bit far of a rogue-like but it doesn't really matter. I hope you will enjoy it !

Post-compo version : It's the same game than the first version but I fix some minor bugs (mainly texts out of borders and some errors in dialogs.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#296Humor(Jam)2.39
#351Innovation(Jam)2.82
#357Audio(Jam)2.60
#358Fun(Jam)2.76
#385Overall(Jam)2.91
#386Mood(Jam)2.65
#403Theme(Jam)2.87
#542Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50am

hahaha, very nice :)
cool game overall :D
-ENDESGA

tlasol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very nice. Bug: sometimes I lose when I still have 4-5 secs. And there is enougth of them to go to next "seconds" bottle

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

Very cool and quite captivating. I like how you included the "quests" in form of simple dialog lines. And I have to admit it's quite funny at times. "There's not a lot of fish in this swamp", ha. :D

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57am

Cool concept. I really couldn't read the black text on the dark-blue background there...

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Love me some roguelike action.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07am

Great twist on the theme and a cool twist on the rogue-like genre. Background story, music and npc conversations create quite a nice atmosphere.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:18am

Solid use of the theme. CHRONOS! That's genius. And that's a lot a dialog! Fun game for sure.

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice try ... looks better after some polishing .
you can check out our game , it's rouge-like too ..

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Cool game, I like the tiles :3

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Cool game. I like the way you've used the theme and it's fun too!

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Nice game mechanics, I like it. :)

shohs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I had fun playing this. I like your take on the theme, and the dialog and music were pretty good too. Overall nice job!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I got kind of lucky because my first time in the world I found the dragon, but I only had 700 seconds when I approached him and died to him. Then, trying to be more careful the second time around I got there with 820 or so seconds, and "lifted" the curse. I then killed all the mobs and collected all of the vials, but, I couldn't figure out if the dragon was the end-goal challenge of the game. I'm guessing it was? Anyway, really cool. I like the concept, I played the original version so the text was annoying because it became very hard to read once I got that vialx2050500 or whatever.

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Once I realized that time stepped only when I moved, it became more enjoyable.
Also Chronos ripped me off. I only got 20,000,000 seconds back for lifting the curse. That's only 8 months :(

Gabriel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very nice! I just *LOVE* this tiled visual and roguelike mechanics. I don't know what's wrong with me, I really love it! hahaha

Liked the twist on the theme as well - a opressive time limit that, in fact, isn't really a time limit but a movement limit. Clever! Liked the greek mythology approach and running against time as well, having to balance between the desire to explore and see new things, and the need to save time for whatever seems to be an essential path. Very interesting and even enlightening, considering I've been thinking a lot lately on how to make exploration interesting in a 2D topview openworld context. Awesome!

At some point, though, apparently I triggered a bug where the objects just wouldn't be destroyed - neither time vials or monsters. At first I thought it was specific to a certain part of the map, where I noticed that first (a part at the bottom right that has a narrow corridor filled with Goblins, with some Time Vials at the end - I could just keep walking over them and gaining massive amounts of time and they were not destroyed - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/69894467/Time%20vial%20bug.jpg). Then I went on to explore the rest of the map and saw nothing else was being destroyed anymore either. I tried to identify what triggered the bug but was unable to. The only info that might serve as a clue is that I opened the game and started to play it, but then had to run a chore and was out for several hours, returning to the game after that - I *think* that stuff wasn't being destroyed after that. Maybe you have some sort of verification routine that is set to repeat a very large amount of time that is not infinite, so that a very long time away could trigger that? Let me know if I can help with debug ;)

Regardless, this is one of the entries I most enjoyed playing so far and my rating reflects that! Congrats man! Roguelikes rock! :D

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thanks for all of your comments. I'm really happy that you enjoyed my game. And thanks for bug reports. I corrected most of them in the post-compo version.

@john_conder9 : The dragon is indeed the end goal challenge.

@Aslai : I would like to put 2 billions seconds and not just 20 millions. I just forgot some numbers and I haven't noticed that error. It's corrected and your character can now live almost 80 years.:)

@Gabriel : I tried to reproduce your bug. I launched the game and wait for an hour,but I haven't succeed. I check my code and I don't really know where it could come... It don't seems really a serious one but thanks for reporting and for your rating. :)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

A bit bhgy but a very good use of the theme

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

cool game! =) i liked it! great job!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

good job

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice overall! I like this open world system. And moody music :) Great.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Fine concept. I love the music, it is really moody.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Like the game, like the music, like the graphics. The gameplay was interesting at first but got a bit boring towards the end. Think the ending screen should be a bit more final.

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:23am

Now I can live forever! Muahahaha!

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:23am

Nice game! :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Wow! This is very nice. The graphics were OK. The music and sound fx were quite good. The story was interesting, I wish there was more of it. I really liked the gameplay, it was a lot of fun. Very unique and innovative.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice use of the theme, the story was pretty cool. Good job! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Antidote says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Not a fan of the spending-time mechanics ;[ Just my personal taste I guess.

Made a video while playing
http://www.twitch.tv/danielsnd/c/2882659

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:29am

Not very difficult on my 2nd run through (I found the dragon the first time, but couldn't kill him, then I died trying to find the southeast corner), but still quite enjoyable. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]