August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Daisy

by andrewkennedy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: If you are doing the streamed version of the web player, it might take a few seconds for the first level to load. Keep trying the play button every few seconds, it will load eventually and you shouldn't have any more wait times. For the best experience, use the Windows exe if possible.

Daisy is an action/puzzle platformer where you must use quick reflexes and a variety of handy plants to help a genetically modified flower find her way back home.

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move, Space to Jump
A, S, D, F to plant seeds.

Software used:
Unity and Photoshop.

After LD26 was over, I thought I could have done a lot of things differently, so I gave it another shot and it went much smoother this time.

I added music/sound, a menu and an ending. All things my last game were lacking. I hope you all have as much fun playing it as I did making it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#66Graphics4.00
#95Audio3.47
#136Overall3.58
#212Mood3.26
#225Fun3.36
#246Innovation3.42
#260Humor2.81
#433Theme3.30

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Daisy? more like DAY-Z.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Cute. I liked the character animation. I found it really tough to jump/clear enemies sometimes.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Cool concept :) Loved the sounds - most peaceful ones i've encountered so far

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Good work! I like it!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Took a long while to load up..., but well worth it! Had a good time playing this, despite the fact that it took some time to learn what I was doing! Pretty good use of the theme!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

This was a very cool game.

I really enjoyed the different seed mechanics. They made the game-play varied and very interesting. The platforming engine felt nice and solid. The only problem I had was enemy projectiles knocking me back really far.

The graphics where very nice and the sound works well with the game.

Great job!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I really like this game! I actually was surprised that you had a winter themed level, and even more so a volcanic one. Good job, and definitely 5/5. I had a fun time playing it, although it was frustrating when I died. The checkpoints were nice though.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Yeah! Plant game! I love plants!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Really fluid, nice graphics, and good nice sunlight mechanic, works really well

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Eh, Could use a lot of polishing, fun though!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I've just uploaded a video playthrough on Vimeo (link up at the top). I know the loading time is long so I'd like to give people an alternative way of viewing the game if they don't have a Windows machine. Give it about ~30 min as of this post, it's still being processed by the site :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02am

I love the mechanics of this game and the art is really nice! Music is nice and soothing, great game overall!

I'm curious, what could be taking so long to load the game? Are you using asset bundle or there's just plenty of resources to load?

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Nice idea with sunlight!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@ddionisio: It's the sprites. They're pretty inefficient. I am new to 2DToolkit and had some issues using the Sprite Batcher. I'm going through right now and trying to optimize things so everything will load smooth. Right now every sprite is its own object, which is a HORRIBLE way to do things!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Optimized it a bit this morning, looks like everything is loading a lot quicker now. Thanks for your patience.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

The art and animation are great. The light mechanic was a nice theme touch as well. Good job

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Nice mechanics but a bit on the slow side. I believe getting hit should grant invulnerability for a short time. Nice graphics and nice music.

cwkx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Fun to play, good work!

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Very neat game! Although on the second level I fell completely through the world and had to restart.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

The music is a bit loud. Other than that, you have a pretty fun platformer here, with shades of A Boy and His Blob; after I cleared the first area, though, it returned a "fatal content error" and just stopped.

stenol says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Wow ! Great concept, great graphic, cool sound. I love this game. Good work !

Blinked says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Wow, really good game! Loved the art style, great mechanics, very well made :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]