August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keg Quest

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Help the four dwarves save their keg of beer from exploding before time runs out and they sober up!

CONTROLS:
Left: A
Right: D
Jump: W
Restart level: R
Select Character: 1,2,3,4 (based on their color on the
timeline at the bottom)
Throw: Space (can be held down for longer throws)
*There is also an instructional page as a screenshot below!*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Innovation(Jam)3.77
#80Theme(Jam)3.60
#165Fun(Jam)3.25
#192Overall(Jam)3.34
#235Humor(Jam)2.64
#277Mood(Jam)2.96
#288Audio(Jam)2.84
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

Was a nice game, really liked the mechanics although the 10 second limit was pretty difficult at points. Nice game though, good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

interesting mechanic of having to hit the switches and such for the different dwarfs. gets tricky!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50am

Nice gameplay ! I like the way I must coordinate myself with myself from 10seconds ago ;)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

Great idea. I like it but stucked in second room. I falled with blue key and can't do anything. Maybe some room restart could be nice.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08am

R to start level, there's an instruction page as one of the screenshots!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08am

restart*

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13am

Nice and mechanics and idea. Maybe a bit on the difficult side.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59am

It was a bit confusing at first. But once it is figured out, it's quite good.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

Super clever little puzzle game, love it! Some instructions or a help screen might help people pick it up faster.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03am

Good integration.
Interesting puzzle.
Nice gameplay!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05am

There's a screenshot with instructions under the main picture :)

raver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52am

Very nice puzzle game! I think that there should be pause button - now it is really hard.

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

This is a neat idea and the puzzles were well done. I only played a few levels, though, because I personally find WASD movement very awkward. In something like this I want to keep one hand on my movement keys and one on my dwarf selection keys, and that's hard to do when they're all crunched together. Overall, though, a fun game!

noseminer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

You can use the arrow keys to move, I forgot to make them able to start the game though (you will need to press w,a,d,or space to start each level).

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice! I like the puzzles, it can get really hard to figure out.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Interesting idea. For the art - it is not bad but a bit strange because some bits are drawn, others are pixel and so on.
I like the sounds they are good stuff!
The reply of the movement though, it seems a bit strange, like not doing the exact same, strange but that might be your concept.
Overall, very nice entry. :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Wow, nice concept, really difficult, but it's a good type of challenge! I liked this game; a very original puzzle that's defintely one of the most creative uses of the theme of the contest that I have so far seen :P

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

my only complaint is the desire for a reset button. I liked the tie lapse pathing theme.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

The reset button is R, the instructions are in a screenshot in the post

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Kind of reminded me of Lost Vikings on the SNES. LOVED THAT GAME. Also this is awesome, really like the mechanics of it and would very much like to play a more polished version of this at some point.

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This was really cool! The puzzles are quite tricky and difficult to get right. I enjoyed the music as well.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Very nice game, i loved it :) (but very difficult) Stuck on the fourth level XD

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Cool puzzle game, had a hard time with my coordination though :p

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice game :D

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Pretty tough to keep track of everyone but the levels were really well designed.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Nicely done! Liked the graphics and mechanics a lot! Was pretty fun!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Full stars across the board! YOU WIN. AWESOME GAME. You should add more levels and put it on Kongregate and make money.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Hahaha it's awesome! Nice mechanics!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19am

I like the time recording mechanic, and it reminds me a lot of the Adventures of Shuggy. Wish I could have re-recorded guys without starting over, but the R key made restarting easy enough.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37am

Really great innovative time puzzles. My one piece of feedback would be to have some better feedback on which dwarf is currently selected, it would help with error correction.

cardboard says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52am

I really enjoyed this game! Figuring out which key corresponds to which dwarf took some time (as in, my hand didn't do what my brain wanted it to at first), but after I got the hang of it it was fantastic. The colors don't blend together very well, but the dwarf pixel art is nice. The main mechanic is neat. The theme is incorporated in a fairly unique way. Having no pauses in the middle of a level made it intense because I would have very little time to think through each move. I would try to think through the level before I started, which helped a lot. The game is difficult enough to provide a challenge without getting me annoyed at the game. Great job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:42am

Nice mechanics and idea!
That may have been too difficult for a first level though. :P

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really cool idea, but I fail at the platformer elements as usual. The same idea without jumping would be great!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13am

Really nice game mechanic. I wasn't a big fan of the grey aesthetic but overall gameplay was sure entertaining. Great job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Innovate! I like it :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01pm

good job. entertaining game

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Apart from a few bugs (keys being throw in the past not being thrown again, as you've seen on stream), I very much enjoyed it. Gameplay-wise, one my favorite entries. Well done!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very cool gameplay! Really loved to figure out how the puzzles worked, although the last one was very tough.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Very cool game, one of my favorites so far. Good job.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:36am

Very cool! Nice use of the theme. The puzzles were fun and challenging.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

Nice!You had me at 'keg'!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:54am

This is great stuff, a clever design implemented well. Takes a little while to get your head around, but lots of fun when you do. Excellent game.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

please do more with this!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Nice idea, some of the levels are very tight. It would be nice if it was easier to see what character corresponds to what number. Sometimes the keythrowing action get skipped in the replay.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

It would be cool if you could release a windows version for us poor souls who can't use the web player!

Tiago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Awesome mechanic! Really loved the puzzles, difficult and intelligent! Great Job!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

fun idea and well executed, good job :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

I keep laughing while I'm playing this. Very cute character design with very funny music.
The mechanics are really unique and interesting! This is one of the most interesting entries I've played so far!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very cool puzzles - reminded me a bit of the Clank missions in a Crack in Time (in a good way).

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Kind of cool but I had a hard time figuring out what to do

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I like the idea of playing coop with myself - like a time-based Lost Vikings! Really cool. But the time limit is actually just annoying - especially if you screw up and have to try again. I believe the game could be really cool if you had removed the mandatory time on characters and if I could go back and forth between them

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

It's a fun game. Reminds me a bit of The Lost Vikings (which is awesome). A few options like "pause" and "restart" would help a great deal. Good job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

I like the challenge in this game, completely throws me off! Very unique! Maybe if there's a way to undo the actions. Other than that, I really liked this!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

The restart button is R, its in the controls above :)

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Interesting gameplay! Nice concept!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

The "working-together-on-your-own" mechanic has been done before, but the way you did it felt refreshing so that was good. Some music during the non-movement time would have been nice.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:01am

Fun game, great use of the theme. Loved it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

I like these type of puzzle games. Well executed!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Hey! Thanks for the comment on my game - now it's your turn!

I've seen a few games where you have to navigate something in 10 seconds - but this is the first where multiple elements have to fit together on a timeline. Nice!

The gameplay is pretty enjoyable, and the graphics, while simple, work well. The puzzles are interesting and tricky. Oh, and I like that you can also use the arrow keys, although that's pretty non-obvious, because you still have to press W, A or D to begin.

One suggestion that would've made it a far better experience for me: Have time only move as long as the active character moves or falls. I see this more as a puzzle game than a reaction game, and since I can't take back my actions (which should be possible, I think!) it can ruin everything I did correctly with the other dwarfs - and then I have to redo those too. Ugh. That would also solve another problem that I had: It sometimes autoselected the (in my eyes) wrong dwarf, and then I lost time on him without any intend to do so.

I'd also expect that if I press left towards a wall that later (with a later dwarf's actions) vanishes, that I still run beyond it. Or the same with floors that vanish: I didn't expect the dwarf to float in mid-air. I think I found a bug in that department too - in the 4th level, sometimes a dwarf throws a key, and sometimes later he doesn't.

And, now that I think about it, Dwarf selection with the mouse would be pretty cool.

Uh, I just realised that I've written more suggestions than other feedback. Note that that's not because the game is bad: It's not. I love the puzzle design and the concept in itself, and it was an enjoyable experience - and were it not for those things I mentioned above, I would've played much longer. Great game, thank you for making it! (And I'd totally play a post-compo version - notify me if you made one, please!)

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

That was a pretty awesome game. The puzzles were interesting, and the dwarf switching mechanic was really clever.

I'm just sad that no Dwarf Fortress references were made :-P

Here is a longer video review:
http://youtu.be/rKTDaacwyr8

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Really cool game, I love how we're basically playing all of the characters at the same time XD

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Really love game mechanics!
Puzzle are very challenging. :)

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Interesting and fun puzzle game. Didn't know you could throw keys, so got stuck a bit on the 2nd puzzle.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:37am

great mechanic -- it made my head hurt -- nice job

Surrealix says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:52am

A fun idea with a cute implementation, although I got stuck on the second level because I missed the instructions screenshot and didn't realise you could throw!

It would be nice to have a 'finished with this character' key, even though it's only 10 seconds you have to wait ;).

Crazi456 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:47pm

You can swap characters with 1,2,3,4 keys

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Cool Idea, nice gameplay. But for today... my brain hurts... nice... thanks for this puzzle fun!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:24am

Solid puzzler!

vladimirdlc says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Simple but pretty functional graphics, the mechanics were a little difficult to get into but after a while it gets more intituive.
I would have prefered an smoother difficulty curve after passing the levels, the 3rd one was especially hard, but may just be a need of practice. I also would have liked a little more of arcade physics, specially 'on air' movement, it was rather stiff.
Overall GG you have there.

Ooya says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I loved the gameplay and the mechanics of this game. Great job ! ;)

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:01pm

There, video playing Keg Quest :3 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vlbp6DtFFcI

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Great idea! I like your game very much! I just almost finished second level. I will definitely play it again later. You rated our game almost 14 days ago and now is my turn. Today is first day since 27th September when I found some time again for rating games. I hope it will last all 7 days to be able to rate a lot of games! Good job! Thank you. BTW, keys "1,2,3,4" are also controls? It seems to be not reacting at all...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]