August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Silver

by SnoringFrog - Jam Entry

NOTICE: There have been a few users who've been unable to to get the game to run. If you have problems, leave a comment about it so hopefully we can figure out what the issue is.

Go get *10 second* places!

You are an alien stranded on earth. In order to leave, you must gather 10 pieces of silver. Conveniently, decathlon-like events are happening nearby; if you get 10 second places, you can obtain the 10 silver medals you require.

---

Alternate left/right quickly to move and generate speed/power.

Press space to jump/throw.

Press p to pause.

There's also a secret high-speed run ability, but you don't need it to win.
---

We got a bit overzealous in our idea and weren't able to finish everything we wanted or to polish things the way we would have liked, but we're fairly pleased with our result (well, more so pleased with some of the things we ended up teaching ourselves than with the game itself lol), but if you have Decathlon for the Atari 2600, then maybe you should just stick with that. This game has a few difficult parts (hurdles...*shudder*), but I tried to make all running events beatable in just a couple attempts; jumping/throwing events are a bit more picky because they won't take you as long to repeat. Good luck on that 1500m run!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#176Humor(Jam)2.86
#246Innovation(Jam)3.07
#276Theme(Jam)3.12
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#405Overall(Jam)2.85
#507Audio(Jam)1.45
#511Mood(Jam)2.18
#526Graphics(Jam)2.37

Comments

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Okay, I got a silver in everything but hurdles and high jump, which were waaay too hard.

The controls were pretty bad, sorry. You could've made jump/throw the up arrow instead. And it would be far less annoying if, rather than not letting me move if I accidentally press left/right a second time in a row, allow me to press it twice before not responding to it. That would improve it a lot.

It's cool that you guys got so many different challenges out of the same basic code, though. It didn't quite fit the theme, though. But all in all, an okay game.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33am

Yep. You pretty much nailed it. xD

Yeah...hurdles kept giving us problems too. I nerfed their difficulty several times, then finally opted to just leave more room in their time ranges. If you just brute force your way through them you can pretty much make it in time.

High jump is...well, you just have to complete it to magically get 2nd for a reason. That was another case of "Crap...this is difficult. Um...well this one's gonna suck too because I can't shrink this hit box any more and have it make sense."

Up instead of space would have been great. Not sure why that never crossed our minds. Especially since I had a tendency to use my index and ring fingers for left/right, so my middle finger was basically sitting on that key the whole time.

I tried to stretch the theme. I didn't want to take 10 seconds as a "do something in 10 seconds," since I figured the vast majority of games would go that route. Seconds = second places was all I could come up with; the rest of our ideas were substantially larger.

We just tried to do too much, and my partner got slammed with homework and comp issues that cut into his coding time, so I ended up rushing most of this together, which I'm sure did the quality no favors.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I am too bad :(
I like this little alien but he is far too slow to win the Olympics Games!

Good job.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

The control were really really annoying

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Wow, this is the most original entry i've rated so far! The theme "10 seconds" is not only well placed, but it adds a lot to the gameplay too. Compliments!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Controls were a bit of a pain. Don't see how theme made it in, most of the events, my time needed to be between 11-14, instead of say, 9-11, (forcing me to complete the event in ten seconds).

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

annoyed controls but otherwise its coll game.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Interesting concept, and it was so close to being a good implementation. Really good use of the theme though!

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06am

Good use of the theme but, as others have said, the controls are pretty clunky.

Kidney says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:54am

I really wanted to play this in my quest to find game that aren't 10-second checkpoints. However, it does not run.

Windows 7 64bit
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: silver.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 521bf4c9
Problem Signature 04: MonoGame.Framework
Problem Signature 05: 3.0.1.0
Problem Signature 06: 512ba03d
Problem Signature 07: e45
Problem Signature 08: 6
Problem Signature 09: System.DllNotFoundException
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

I really wish I could figure out what to do about all the people this game won't run for. Half the reports of gotten describe my exact system to me, and I can't find any other common traits to pick out why it fails for some people.

It's really quite aggravating, and if anyone has any idea where to start I'd love to hear it.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Really ambitious for a 3-day game! Congrats! Some were pretty fun, while others were GRUELING like the 400m! But, again, good job on making a series of mini-games in 3 days!

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

I'm happy to find another game in which "10 seconds" was used as something other than time. I like the concept, but like many other commenters I find the controls to be kind of annoying. I probably would have played more except I think the husband was getting annoyed with the constant key-bashing. :-)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

I really liked your idea here. Really different.. didn't expect to strive to be second best!!

Spiridios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:16am

The Javelin is backwards - 1st place was closer than 3rd place. For everyone who's complaining about the controls, I take it you've never played any of the old Epyx classics. ;) This reminded me exactly of Epyx Summer Games. Controls were spot on for a bit of nostalgia, just wish I had my old Slik Stik for this. :P

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Although the controls are hard to deal with, I played this longer than expected =]. Very challenging game.

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Found hurdles to be fairly easy; beat it on my first try. Long jump, however, took me more tries than everything else combined. That one was tough.

Clever ending!

Kharza says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Didn't run for me and I have no idea why. There were no errors or anything it just never appeared to create a window.

I can't imagine it would be missing dlls as I have xna redist, directx sdk, and various .nets installed. Dunno!

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:41am

It didn't run under WINE :(

I got these errors:
Unhandled Exception:
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard.GetRegistryKey (System.String name) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard.RefreshDevices () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard..ctor (IntPtr windowHandle) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawInput.CreateDrivers () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinInputBase.ProcessEvents () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Threading.Thread.StartInternal () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard.GetRegistryKey (System.String name) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard.RefreshDevices () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawKeyboard..ctor (IntPtr windowHandle) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinRawInput.CreateDrivers () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at OpenTK.Platform.Windows.WinInputBase.ProcessEvents () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
at System.Threading.Thread.StartInternal () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:20am

Haha great job making those olympic mini games!
It was really hard and loads of button mashing though! I couldn't mash nearly fast enough to even come close to the medals :c
I enjoyed going through the varieties nonetheless. Great job!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:19am

I don't know why I didn't just close the window when I saw the final event, I knew I didn't want to do it. It turned out ok though, good stuff.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:30am

I was very very very close to resigning, maybe not even attempting the last challenge. I really hated the arrow stuff over an extended period - tossing things around is not too bad, since the mashing doesn't last too long... fun fact - I managed to beat the hurdles without jumping and had to wait at the finish line for a few secs... does this mean I overdid the button mashing? o.O

Anyhow, even if my keyboard is still smoking, I had my fun playing ^_^

P.S.: Runs fine on win7 x64 for me

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:39pm

The gameplay was a tad repetitive, but I really liked the interpretation on the theme. Very nice.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:41am

Very original interpretation of the theme, even if is the second (yeah, second) game that used that kind of interpretation! The gameplay should be different for each minigame, just pressing two arrow repetedly is a bit repetitive..

Kharza says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Wouldn't run for me either, debugged it: + $exception {"Unable to load DLL 'openal32.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)"} System.Exception {System.DllNotFoundException}

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]