August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Conquer the World

by optimality - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Conquer the World is Risk in 10 seconds!

You have 10 seconds to conquer as many territories as possible. Click on one of your territories and then on an adjacent opponent's to attack their territory, or click on a neighboring territory of your own to defend it. You have 10 seconds, good luck! Features three different AI difficulty levels.

A territory is captured when the number of attackers is greater than the number of defenders.

***** Installation
Install the prerequisites:
* .Net 4.0 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17718)
* XNA Redistributable Refresh 4.0 http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=27598

then download and run the provided .exe file.

***** Development Notes

Built with XNA, texture in Paint.net, sounds with bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#418Innovation3.15
#584Theme3.15
#688Overall2.94
#766Fun2.68
#823Audio1.94
#875Mood2.29
#938Humor1.48
#1072Graphics1.97

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice strategy game. The AI on hard is difficult, that's nice. It would be cool to have bigger map with more sectors. Great job !

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Thanks! A bigger map would be a good feature to add.

nilo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nothing happends after i double click the exe

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Very nice idea and indeed, bigger map would be cool.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice game, +1 for bigger maps.

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

@nilo, do you have the prerequisites (.net 4.0 and xna) installed?

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

With some progression, like more colors and whatnot, you'd have yourself a pretty good puzzle game here. Good job.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Too bad windows only, can see some good responses here!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Voronoi maps!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nice idea ! But need more beautiful graphics ^^

nilo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19pm

@optimality, no did not have XNA, works fine now! Thanks! =)

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice concept :)

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Hmmm, to bad there is no Linux Version

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Interesting idea, challenging game.

Just a quick tip: .pdb file is a debug database used during debugging in visual studio. It weights quite a lot (~10 MB in your case), but it is not necessary to include it into archives :)

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

@comrad_gremlin: Thanks for the tip!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Really cool design - very minimalist and immediate but with a bit of thought required from the player.

Tinco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Had some fun, very interesting real time strategy in such a simple form :)

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19am

Good game! I recalled a board of Risk. Then it could have more than one type of enemy. :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

interesting concept would like to see this on a larger scale some time!

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool game! Nice idea! Good job! :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Like it. Well tought. an option to play without the time limit. (even if it was the competition theme) would have been nice, I kinda feel it is too little time to have the full experience.

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39am

Very fun game definetly enjoyable

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:36pm

strange game, but i like the concept, you play in easy and is hard anyway. But i like, good job

phaed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:34am

Really neat game concept. The basic art looked cool and effectively communicated what was going on. Like that other guy said, "Voronoi maps!"

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

That's fun :) Easy and normal are good, hard is haaard. Size of map is ok because of the time :D

optimality says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Thanks for all the great feedback guys :).

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:34pm

wouldn't work? nothing happens when I click the .exe : / sadface

Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:01am

Excellent idea! cool strategy game! as everybody said it would be nice to have a bigger map and also because of the big size it dosent need time , but thats for an other game since this is for LD... great work! if you continue doing this game with more stuff ill love to play it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]