August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion of the GooseNappers

by ocmu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, I finished! Touch and go there for a little while, but it is a complete game. I didn't get time to add sound, sorry. But I hope you enjoy! Let me know what you think!

-------------------------------------------

Aliens have invaded and they are after our geese!
You must go to space and fend them off!!
However, the experimental engine on your ship can only keep you in the aliens' realm for 10 seconds at a time, so watch your fire while your engine recharges. Think of the geese!!!

-------------------------------------------

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move
Space Bar to shoot
Enter to navigate menus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#188Humor3.05
#393Fun3.11
#427Graphics3.09
#459Overall3.15
#517Mood2.78
#677Theme3.04
#882Innovation2.51
#936Audio1.45

Comments

dismedia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I'm the goose messiah!:)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Fun little game. Would enjoy clearer feedbacks (= killing geese is bad, clearer rank at the end) but the game works well :)

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I like the idea of swapping between worlds every 10 seconds, most games simply end in 10 seconds. I actually didn't realize I shouldn't kill the geese, but I like the idea of the gameplay changing each time you switch, it reminds me of a game I made several years ago with "two-sided" gameplay: http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/axis-caeli/4007/

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Really neat game. I think you should include a few power-ups, the game feels a bit lacking in options. Nice work!

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Awesome, I miss these old-style arcady shooters, brilliant! Although it wasn't very clear you weren't suppose to kill the geese... woops

Sinuath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

I really liked it! An old School Shmup :)

Although the jumping back and forth thing was a little hard to get used to at first. And i wasn't all that sure what i was doing with the geese besides trying to get another life.

all in all i really enjoyed it :)

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

My personal objective was flying over as many goose as I could! hahahhaha really liked the enemies, but a few power ups or different elements on the scenario would be nice!

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

OK, you guys caught me. There was supposed to be some story elements including an alternate ending where you fight the mother goose instead of the head alien.... 48 hours is not much time!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:25am

Only reading the comments do I realise I've eradicated whole flocks of innocent geese!

cwkx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Awesome game, very amusing! Love the old-school feel :)

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52am

That was awesome! You should have more graphical switches instead of geese and octupi, but I loved the graphics and very fun!!!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53am

Ha the first play through I thought I was supposed to kill the geese, whoops.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

I love shooters. I love the use of the theme. Great Job!

Sink says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:30am

Really fun and cool! I really like the extreme change in gameplay while in space and on earth. Awesome idea!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35am

Very fun old school shooter. Nice work!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

Lol.. In real life, I hate geese. They suck. I liked your game though. A lot of fun!!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

Sound would have added a lot, or at least some feedback for the fact that you're not supposed to kill geese :( . Though I like R-type and gradius so I enjoyed this.

Would like to see some powerups, or maybe control over shifting dimensions.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

Personally I'm with the aliens, I think geese could use another natural predator. They really have their run of the golf courses around where I grew up.

Seriously though, fun game! The switch between offense and defense is pretty unique.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

I killed so many geese...I didn't mean it...I can not live with what I have done...good game btw

VardGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

I enjoyed this but the collisions of the geese was a little of

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Liked the titles, haha

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Funny idea! I liked the switching between worlds which also switches between offense and defense.

larb says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nice mechanic for the 10 seconds theme. Good idea. It was a fun entry.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice work! I enjoyed playing it.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:43am

Fun little game. I didn't realize that shooting geese was bad. The boss was cool although I died on him.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:07am

Nice bipolar gameplay! Very awesome!

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Funny !

Wertle says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:30am

The switching back and forth made for some good pacing. Nice hit reacts on the enemies, and I liked how you added in little touches like the tilt on the ship when accelerating/decelerating. Nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]