August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sands of Chime - Troll Games

by hemlocksoames - Jam Entry

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Staff
X - Magic

Troll Games presents "The Sands of Chime", a randomly generated dungeon crawler featuring Wizzard the Wizard's quest to destroy the fabled hourglass. While the Sand's magical abilities are great, and is capable of summoning minions, transmuting objects, and changing the dungeon, it is only able to use them every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Fun(Jam)3.53
#166Overall(Jam)3.40
#231Theme(Jam)3.23
#231Humor(Jam)2.67
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28
#298Innovation(Jam)2.97
#305Audio(Jam)2.79
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26am

First time I have ever got a top-hat in a dungeon. :) Solid entry.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I'd recommend adding some screenshots of gameplay, because there's some solid fun here, that the title screen doesn't convey! You have a decent mix of useful, harmful and silly special effects that go with the timer, and it's easy to get to grips with the mechanics. A map would have been useful, though.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Good work! Brings back old memories of Zelda:Link to the past. Fun, solid gameplay.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Nice, the controls felt a little sticky, but otherwise very fun!

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The sound got a bit repetitive and occasionally I'd get ping-ponged between two rooms, but otherwise it's a lot of fun.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Wow,very polished and fun! Nice pixel art and music.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I really like your music, nice work! I wasn't able to find the hourglass but I had a good time.

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

Very nice graphics, the magic attack never worked on my keyboard (/) is not a button here.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice Game, made us want to play Sabre Wulf and Atic Atac

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

The concept was a lot of fun! Didn't really like the music choice, but everything else was great!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:43am

At first I thought "the theme implementation is meh" but after some runs I changed my mind to "this is actually quite an astute twist!"
I like the fact you sometimes have no choice but to run around, waiting for a more favorable ruleset to kick in. However I also think that frequent mana-deadlocks can get irritating (a slow 20%-capped mana regen would have prevented true deadlocks). Also, when you enter some rooms when the carpet is lava, you can't avoid taking damage. Speaking of lava, its sound effect is loud and grating.

But overall it's a good game with a cool twist and a nice level of polish! Congrats!

Darien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48am

Good game! Classic Zelda-like fun, and the added zaniness of the special effects every ten seconds works really well. The music's a bit too hyper, though, if you ask me, and the lava sound is REALLY loud. But otherwise excellent!

Also: check-plus on your username. Bullwinkle FTW.

Demurgos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice game ;)

(Watch out your organs !)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Beautiful.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Wow very cool

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice one

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice Zelda-esque dungeons!

I like the graphics too.

Nice job!

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:15am

A lot of fun to play. I love the random effects every 10 seconds. "The carpet is lava" is my favorite!

Loyalty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:23am

Great game. I loved the music.
(Sometimes it remembered me of carameldansen óÒ)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]