August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Essentrika

by Hologuardian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A power management game that orients around expanding to new land every 10 seconds. Tutorial is in the main menu.

I also suggest keeping the jar file in it's own folder as the game will create files in the same directory when the game is saved.

Edit: Changed one variable that was preventing multiple attempts without restarting the program, the change can be seen in the git history. Also fixed a problem where water generators costed 0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation3.00
#579Audio2.50
#766Fun2.68
#775Overall2.84
#781Mood2.45
#954Theme2.67
#955Graphics2.20
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Make a video of the gameplay!

tower07 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

It was good the first time I played it, but every subsequent time it would make me lose after 10 seconds. Not sure if it's my fault, or a glitch.

Hologuardian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

It maybe a problem with how it saves the data or something, it seems to be pulling a larger number as the starting requirement every time it's run... Yeah, after some debug testing I found the source of the error, was a small thing where a variable wasn't being re-initialized, I'll get a fixed version up asap.

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

Is there any way to change the screen resolution?
It's "taller" than what my widescreen monitor supports...

Inertia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

I'd like to be able to play this but when I run the .jar it does nothing.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

With more upgrades and things to build added, this could be very fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41am

Found this game a bit confusing at first, other than building stuff I'm not completely sure what to do, however, I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06am

After understanding how the game works the only limiting thing is how fast you can click. It should be made easier to build things.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

I like the idea behind it. Expanding on it/adding some more features, it could be tons of fun. :) Has lots of post-LD potential. Great work!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Game is pretty hard, since you have to click the land, and then the upgrade you want very often in 10 seconds. But the idea is quite nice.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Could be clearer but I eventually understood how it worked!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]