August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Many More of Them Live Next Door

by monosacharride - Jam Entry

Submarines!
You are a deep sea diver searching for treasure and stuff.
You'd like all the treasure in the world but you'll settle for five pieces.
While you make a living exploring the ocean, the equipment on which your livelihood depends has not been updated since the 1820s. Thus your diving suit contains exactly 10 seconds of oxygen.
Funtimes.
Controls
Arrow keys to move submarine/diver
Hold Space to deploy Diver

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#236Humor(Jam)2.63
#299Graphics(Jam)3.23
#363Theme(Jam)2.93
#418Mood(Jam)2.54
#508Innovation(Jam)2.37
#515Audio(Jam)1.38
#541Fun(Jam)2.20
#547Overall(Jam)2.50

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I loved the idea you have for the graphics!! Congratulations!! Really nice work :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cool notebook graphics, and some neat descriptions.
The submarine moves way too slow though, and there is no real challenge...

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I liked the pen & paper style of the graphics. Some of the treasure messages where quite funny

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Great graphics! It would be nice if the submarine had a left-facing sprite.
Also, the theme is "10 seconds", but the diver can only dive for about 3 seconds :P

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:44am

I like the graphics style! I wish it were more challenging though. Also, it'd be nicer if the submarine moved faster. :P

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Very cute little game. I do wish the submarine would go a *tad* faster but good job drawing all that! It looks nice, and the little stories for each object are amazing!! Good job! I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great idea! I like this game, great entry!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

You got a game. It's a nice game. :D
The text of the last item gets skipped, which made me play it again to recollect it.

Catmoo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

I absolutely love the visual style you've gone with, it works perfectly even though things like the backgrounds are so simplistic, it just works :)

like the other comments it would have been nice to maybe see some differences in speed, maybe dependant on your direction, also the addition of having a sprite face the left based on movement isn't too hard to do in GM and makes a massive difference in a little platform game like this.

If you decided to expand on the game after LD at all I'd happily play it again, it's always nice to have an enjoyable and relaxing feeling game :D

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:18am

I loved the graphics and to explore this underwater scenery. The submarine needs to move a little faster. Very cool use of the theme too!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Fun little exploration game. The dual mode concept is pretty cool, I could see it being expanded on quite a bit. It was also clever how you used a graph paper background to give it a prototype kind of feel.

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I liked the graphics

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice little game. Sort of buggy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]