August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robots vs. Evil Zombie Birds

by jaspreetdhanjan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a flying robot spawned on a random floating island. The objective is to kill the infinitely generated zombie birds before they kill you with their acidic zombie poop! If you're lucky you'll spawn on a island with some shelter!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

The game doesn't seem to work like a screenshot. :( I'd love to see some zombie birds.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Woops.. Looks like something went wrong with the JAR files. I'll try upload a new a new one. Sorry for any inconvenience.

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Hi,
Maybe you can put an executable file instead of a jar? I don't have a virtual machine on my work computer, so I can't test it right now.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I'm having a lot of problems with the exporting this game to a jar file. I would convert this to an .exe but the exporting the .jar isn't working for me. If anyone could get the source which I've linked above and compile to JAR themselves and send me a link that would be great. Otherwise the only option would be to compile the source code yourselves.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10am

No game left behind, here you go! The jar runs with graphics for me.

http://ludum.mostlyoriginal.net/tmp/robotsvsevilzombiebirds.jar
http://ludum.mostlyoriginal.net/tmp/robotsvsevilzombiebirds-src-intelliJIDEA.zip

Looks like a resource loading issue from jar. Cheated by moving the files in your packages and changing the paths a bit.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice little game, plus death by bird poop is always funny!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:03am

Sweet little game :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

DaanVanYperen: Thank you very much! I've update all of the links. Everything should be working. Thanks for your feedback :)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

It almost requires three hands to play, since the keyboard buttons are so far apart, and you need the mouse to attack. If you'd alias jump to the up arrow / W, you'd gain a ton in playability.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Is it normal that the birds are pooping like machineguns? I am not sure if there is a frame-limiting (timing) problem, or if this is indented. Because right now they destroy me within two seconds when I stand still.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

klianc09, Yes, this is intentional. Makes it more fun, I think!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Darien, I like to play with the WASD keys on my left hand and use the jump ability to fly. Whilst using my right hand to aim.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:39pm

When I reached 1000 time my gun stopped shooting and I quickly died. Nice idea that need some work and balancing.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

enjoyable game. but man what did those birds eat?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:11am

Got a score of 341. What I don't get is that I'm firing left most of the time, or down-left. Aiming is really off! A restart button is always nice too.

Criticism aside, it's still a fun little game to play. I like how there are multiple maps :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Got it after the third try!
It's cool how you have to use the terrain!

jwolf says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:53am

Not too shabby, congratulations on your first entry!

If you're considering adding audio but don't have much experience with it, consider taking a look at bfxr or some of the other tools listed at /compo/tools/. You can make interesting things in less time than you might expect...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]