August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1 AM

by Soundboy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RATED PG FOR IMPLIED SEX-DOINGS

I've been wanting to try Twine for a long time, so this LD provided a good excuse to.

1 AM is an interactive fiction piece about how choices shape romantic relationships. I was inspired early on by the idea that the 10 seconds referred to by the theme weren't necessarily consecutive moments, and could be simply important ones that happened great spaces of time apart.

Read and enjoy!

***SPOILERS FROM THIS POINT ON***
I'm very happy with how this turned out, and I think it gets across most of the themes I was trying to represent. The story is very personal to me, as it mirrors (not necessarily in specifics) the progression/end of my last relationship. The whole process of writing it was very cathartic.

I hope I provided enough feedback for the player to realize how the choices they made impacted (or more specifically, didn't impact) the ending. I've always found the illusion of choice an interesting concept in game design, as well as the rejection of traditional win states, especially when the structure of the game leads the player to expect them.

I made some stylistic choices with how the player character's significant other is presented. I left almost all details to the player's imagination, with the exception of her eyes as something to start the image, so to speak. I also purposely avoided directly quoting anything she said, with the exception of her breakup speech. I found that in the aftermath of a difficult breakup, it can be hard to remember the good times, but painful endings can be recalled with near-perfect clarity.

Finally, I really wanted to leave the story on a hopeful note, and I hope I did so. I also hope that I left enough motivation for the player to attempt the game multiple times before seeing the ending, as I think it has more impact that way.

Anyways, thanks so much for playing! Please share any feedback you have, this is my first attempt at interactive fiction and it's something that really interests me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#18Mood4.00
#282Overall3.35
#568Innovation2.94
#610Humor2.15
#631Theme3.10
#752Fun2.69
#943Audio1.41
#1167Graphics1.59

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:31am

Fantastic writing. Really cool idea. I'm gonna go slit my wrists now.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50am

Wow that was deep. I like how it seems as though you have choices but you don't.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56am

Incredibly well written, you created a very believable atmosphere. I tried every path and enjoyed the idea that there was no particular 'win' state. Good job :)

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13am

I'm not a fan of text-based games, but it's cool ^^

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17am

I love it Great story writing sir!

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27am

Very nice, I loved every moment of it!

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Awesome job. A great use of interactivity to explore a theme, and good writing too.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

sorry I had to put one star on graphics and audio :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

Man, this is some depressing shit. Very well done. And great idea with the 'do it all again' too.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Great writing skill, I was on the edge of my seat

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

I don't usually play purely text based games but i really enjoyed the writing in this.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Terrific. This has got to be one of the most polished and complete games here. Also one of the richest. Thank you for that.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

good writing, and like a lot of others said, i really liked the way you could start over and over, but in the end it's not really that simple, and that may not be a bad thing.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

A second begins:
OMG THIS IS SO GOOD T_T!!!
WONDERFUL WRITTING!
The idea seemed a bit pretentious at the beginning but then you find that your writting is just epic!
A second ends T_T !

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Just one more thing:
Is it me or just like in real life no matter what you say you lose her ? XD Y is this so realistic T_T
Haha good job, try write some more! maybe publish a book one day no kidding, it was a flowing story not too heavy but flowingly moving from lite to heavy it was fantastic <3 it !

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Some banality to it even though it's good writing.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

PaperBlurt: You might be right, but in a game making jam you don't expact to find a pretty well writen story, I mean the story itself might be banal but the way the story is told is quiet good!

You might not believe me but this far this is my favourite entry and it got some damn good score!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

LOL now I found the story is kinda real, so no way it's banal, but hi I was right about the fact that it was realistic :D

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Brilliant!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This was probably better written than most of the published books I read. I would've liked for it to have been impacted by my choices (I understand the author doesn't want a "good" ending, but it would've been interesting if the relationship had progressed in different ways and still ended in a break up), but I still enjoyed it thoroughly and maybe teared up a bit upon ending it the first time :)

DarfnageL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

That was some amazing writing, and considering it is very similar to a situation I'm currently going through, it really hit home.

Lie Down.
Try Not to Cry.
Cry A lot.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Wow. That is impressive!

Add some visuals and it could be really entertaining.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

This is a really cool impression... play so much platformers today (my own platformer too) thta this is a really nice surpirse. I dont't need graphics because my brain is creating the pictures to this story! Thanks 9/10

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41am

Nice game, Its cool that you have such an in depth story, I included it in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you want to check it out; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00am

Well done. I enjoyed that.

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I really like it, loved the idea. But the writing, perhaps, could have been a little more succinct. Also I really would have loved some sound effects for the places that you were or the things that you were doing. That would have made the game for me :)

Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Not the kind of story I'm usually interested in, but the quality of the writing is very high. One or two sentences felt a bit melodramatic, but that's about the extent of my nitpicking. Time permitting, I'll come back to this to see how the story changes if I make different choices.

A typo: "laying on a threadbare blanket" should be "lying".

Canyon says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:55am

Recently I was trying to describe to another game developer, that games are valuable experiences, and that they need not be fun.

This entry is compelling, intriguing and made me ask myself some questions. But it was not fun, and this is not a bad thing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]