August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Panic

by Jyrkface - Jam Entry

PARALLEL PANIC

-Something has gone wrong with the device!

-Collect the plutonium to warp to the next dimension!

-Watch out, the Invaders are right behind you!

Directional Arrows to move, Up Arrow to jump, Down Arrow to fall faster.
Watch out, some of the worlds are pretty weird ;)

I completed 27 levels for the Jam, but unfortunately I ran out of time before implementing extra lives, so getting to the end is super difficult.

I'd like to expand the game with some more widely varied environments.
Any suggestions are always appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28
#298Mood(Jam)2.89
#363Fun(Jam)2.75
#377Overall(Jam)2.92
#464Theme(Jam)2.69
#466Innovation(Jam)2.50

Comments

djwildebeest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10am

Really fun and surprisingly challenging. Cant wait to see a final version!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

Had no idea what was going on at first....but...once you figure out that after 10 secs the bad guys spawn and you need to get the pickups...much better. LOVED the art and animation. Would like to see you do a fully polished game in that style. Got a Half-Life vibe from the beginning :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:36am

Cute graphic, I like the animation, very well done ! Nice Half Life introduction ;)

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

Nice Rusty really fun game :D I was panicking the entire time I was playin.. Love the graphics too

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Good design and gameplay, I miss some music but it's really fun.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:01am

Neat game, love the art and design! Though it wasn't quite clear that you needed to press up to advance. You have some pretty creative levels!

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I died a lot in the desert level, I think it's so sad that there are no continues, as I couldn't figure out what should I have done in that level after pickin up the coins.
Nice graphics and animation, I also would have liked music and sound.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Pretty good job, would have liked some more sound, graphics were nice.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Really enjoyed this - the art is great, and there's nice variety to the levels. Interested in seeing what you put together post-jam :)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:48am

Controls were a bit floaty, and it seems like it was made for another theme (Parallel Worlds). That said, the graphics were beautiful, and you did a good job putting together a nice, simple, fun platformer game.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I enjoyed this, although I couldn't get past the rainbow level. I did think the controls felt a bit floaty/drifty, but it's pretty fun.

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:30am

Really nice game. Liked all the small graphical touches.

Metatheos says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:17am

I tried getting through the game for a few tries, it's quite old-school to punish me for not knowing what to do in a level and still limiting lives, making me restart from the very beginning. I got to the second hell-level and gave up at that point. Without any checkpoints it was just asking for too much. I was losing a few lives to levels being randomly unbeatable (like pickups being covered for most of the time in the pong-level), losing another few to those squid-things spawning right over pickups (and being able to kill you after you have picked up everything), and then getting to new levels where you lose lives to not knowing what to do. I think otherwise it is enjoyable with a nice, diverse set of levels (I can imagine how much work it was to produce this amount of levels with so many individual mechanics). I just wish you'd have added some dirty last-minute-hack to help with the lives-issue (like increasing them by one for every completed level, throwing the player four levels back with a full set of lives on gameover, or just dumping lives completely), so I could have seen all of them.

Nehmulos says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Really cool level design and animations

Almax27 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice and very challenging

01rafael says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:07am

lovely grapics and mood )

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:15am

I can't stop seeing the character as George Costanza D: Really cool little game and impressive for the time frame. I like the animations/graphic style

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]