August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10013 milliseconds

by mortus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't have time to complete everything that I've planned. Actually there's so much more that I wanted to do. But I don't have any time left. You can see started mechanics that didn't make it to the game every here and there, but I guess it doesn't spoil the game much.

INSTRUCTIONS:

Click everywhere. Your task is to send a distress signal so you and your friend Renard could be rescued.

Power management mechanics I've implemented is sure not the most obvious thing to figure, so I wrote few hints to help you get around and I may or may not write some more later.

Full text:
https://sites.google.com/site/mortusld27/home/hints

HOW YO USE BACKUP CONSOLE:

Backup console has 5 items buttons on the left and 2 control buttons (left and right) at the bottom of the screen.
Items buttons are used to chose items from command lists. Control buttons are used mainly for navigation and command confirmations.
All active buttons are always labeled on the screen - press corresponding button in order to do what the label says.

HOW TO RUN INSTRUCTIONS:

First navigate through items and find instruction you want to run e.g. Activate generator 1, select it.
After that, instruction is added to the queue. To run queue go to the main menu - run instructions.
You will see all queued instructions and time in ms that it takes to run them. Note that you have only 10013 ms in the beginning of the game.
If you want to run queued instructions - chose "run" now.

THE GAME IS COMPLETE AND BEATABLE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Mood4.00
#25Graphics4.28
#50Audio3.64
#122Theme3.71
#126Overall3.60
#257Innovation3.40
#451Fun3.05
#683Humor2.03

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

Overall a little cool, but a little complicated.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

I really had no idea what I am doing ^^" Looks cool tho.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

the complication is pretty overwhelming, I don't quite understand what is happening. I know you didnt have enough time, so maybe write out some more instructions on what to do? The graphics and sound were really good though!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57am

Nice artwork and mood. Will have to get back to this one more properly

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

I like it! But it's quite hard. The application of the theme is really nice!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Great art and I like how your hand reacts to the objects. I tried but I guess I'm not smart enough to figure it out.

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Thank you for the feedback people. I know that controlling Backup Console could be frustrating and I really wish I had time to do it better.

I wrote few hints on game basics and on what to do in the very beginning. I hope at least some people will beat the game and have a fun time doing it. Please leave a comment if you are one of them. :D

And thank you for playing my game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Looks great.. the interpretation of the theme is really good! :)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice atmospherics!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

This is really complicated. It looks and feels really good, but, God, is it complicated!

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I have to agree with all the "whoa cool this is awesome but I can't make sense of any of it" comments :)

Using the ten seconds as a resource to execute commands is a great idea. I think if I had more patience I would figure out how to beat the game through experimentation.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice work! I got stuck for a while because I was trying to send both a short range and long range signal at the end, it ran out of power before the long range and I thought I was missing something... I love the graphics style and the atmospheric music was perfect.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Great idea, atmosphere and presentation! I also liked the whole Interaction with your hand and the intentionally clunky interfaces, but I think the idea with a limited mainframe power and chained commands is strong enough to support itself and would have been better without the traditional click&point adventure mechanics.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Complicated, but I like that. Very cool

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:09am

I've needed four attemps to get signal sent, but I've made it :D

Cool concept, and I liked that nothing is explained outside the game but once you're in there you can get access to a lot of info.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Seems really nice! I'm going to bookmark this and try to beat it later. Seems nice and hard.

mortus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I'm very glad that you liked the game, I was afraid no one will make it to the end! :D

I think I will take note of issues mentioned and make a kind of full finished game later maybe.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I like the atmosphere of the game and it's a great use of the theme. I couldn't get very far though, even with the hints. If you do write a complete walk through, or set of hints, I'd really like to try again.

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:24am

Superb game! I managed to finish it. I think it wasn't too difficult for adventure games players. Nice graphics style that reminded me of Another World.

fluffypillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:49am

Great game! I really liked that since you only have 10s, you have to think about what would be the most energy efficient solution. The style is also nice, and I liked the small movements of the fox :)

Exergy says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Hard to begin with. Awesome idea!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great game! Took me a bunch of tries to finish it, though it did get a wee bit repetitive to keep rewiring the comm panel each time.

I think that lower costs on commands, so that you've got more room to experiment, would have been nice. Also a display of the remaining time on the main screen, since I'd often not remember how much I had left to work with.

Art style is great, sound was atmospheric and the use of randomization to make the diagnostics important each time was good. Overall, best game I've seen from this LD so far!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

"Rescue team on its way" and I am grinning like mad. Now I'll look at the hint page if I've missed anything. Ah - most of it is the text that you've written above. I'm not sure why I would need help with the backup console, it's rather clear.

What would've improved the backup console for me would be a visual depication of how much power I'll use and how much I still have. Numbers, pfff.

I love that you chose to have the arm and hand visible instead of just having a mouse pointer. It adds so much to the game.

The super clean graphics. The sound effects. The music. The mood they create together so dense, I feel like I can touch it.

There are a lot of red herrings in the game - I guess some are to feign complexity or to make solutions non-obvious, and others seem like they just weren't completed. Fine with me though, I just was a bit disappointed that it was over so fast and I didn't have to use all the elements the game hinted at. Will you make a post-compo version? If you do, please notify me!

I liked the riddles a lot, and I get point&click adventure and Myst-vibes from this, which is a VERY good thing in my book. Amazing job, and while it's certainly not something for everyone, I enjoyed it tremendously!

PS: I wanted to click on my fox. Why can't I click on my fox!

mortus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:36pm

TobiasW, I'm glad that you liked the game so much! Actually, I'll think about making a post-compo just for you now. :D

It would be cool to implement all the stuff that I've planned for this game but didn't have time for, I hope I'll get to it at some point.

robertcalvert says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I was not really sure what I was ment to be doing but I had a lot of fun doing it. The art style is greate and the game macanic and feel is well executed. Greate work!

alts says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:22am

This is an excellent entry. I feel like its biggest failing is the lack of a simple "restart" button. It took me several tries to finally get it to work, and something about manually restarting felt wrong. The graphics and audio were great, and the puzzles were refreshingly different from the completely improbable things you'd encounter in other point and clicks. Nice use of the theme, great work overall.

lazyeels says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice! Feels strangely nostalgic (Another World), overall it appears very polished and both audio and graphics evoke a nice mood and general feel, hope you expand it further to a series of rooms or "Another World"-esq type adventure. Great work!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:42am

This is a tricky one! I sunk a good 40 minutes trying to get the Comm up. Grrr. Nice sounds. Great visuals. 9/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]