August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Macro

by RetroEpic - Jam Entry

Welcome... TO THE FUTURE!

A future where humans are no longer bound by the fact that there is only one of each individual! A future where you can record copies of yourself to repeat tedious tasks! We can only make recordings that last 10 seconds, that's due to certain limitations in hamster short term memory and the amount of actual electricity one can yield out of a sack of lemons... but darn it! It's progress!

Take control of Marco, the Macro Machine operator. Use multiple copies of yourself to make it through all 8 levels of this deceptively tricky puzzle platformer.

CONTROLS

W, A, S, D / Cursor Keys - Move Marco around
Space - Jump
Ctrl - Use switches, doors, Macro machines

Macro was made in 72 hours by six members of RetroEpic Software.

Members:
Keith Boshoff (programming & level design)
Niki Boshoff (programming & level design)
Xavier Knox (music and sound effects)
Paul Lombard (art & level design)
Theunis "Yuun" Lombard [no relation, related to the Boshoffs though... it's complicated] (asset wrangler & level design)
Brendon "Noobs" Smuts (project champion, programmer & level design)

Made with Unity3D, Photoshop, Pro Motion, Garage Band, Audacity and very little sleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#80Overall(Jam)3.61
#93Innovation(Jam)3.50
#94Audio(Jam)3.50
#100Mood(Jam)3.48
#120Fun(Jam)3.36
#140Graphics(Jam)3.82
#183Theme(Jam)3.35
#280Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Loved this one, guys! Good work. Great puzzles and interesting game play!

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

amazing mechanics, perfectly adjusted jumping as well

loved every second of it - didn't expect anything less from you :)

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03am

Good game, with great mechanics!

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Very nice, it's a little Braid like ! Loved it ;)

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

Great idea, solid puzzle.You guys really done a good job :)

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Good puzzles and macro concept. Also th graphics were quite nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46am

Love it. Really like the little guy's animation, especially when he's clinging to walls :D Great gameplay, great sound. ^.^

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very very good mecanism! Nice take on the theme with that "player playback".
Very good stereo audio too.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

very nice art style and awesome music, if a bit vague on the theme. Overall solid mechanics, well done.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59am

Woah, really solid mechanics and great polishment here xD

bombjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great idea! very fun!

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:20am

I can't give this a 5 for humor, but in every other category, this earns solid 5s across the board. This is easily among the top 5 LD entries I've ever played. The graphics are perfect, the physics are perfectly implemented, the puzzles are genuinely fairly difficult, and the soundtrack is perfect. Good job, team!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:22am

Wow great puzzles! Very well thought out gameplay and great level design! The platforming and movement felt "right." Good visuals and an awesome soundtrack make a complete package! Great game guys!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:26am

How do you control the copies of yourself?

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Pretty clever use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]