August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defusing Emily

by ydg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defusing Emily is a simple game about defusing bombs. A quite original theme I'm pretty sure no one has used before.

Controls:
Press SPACE when the defusal kit (that blue square that has no personality whatsoever) is over the TNT to defuse it.
Hold SHIFT when you get the first powerup to increase the speed of the defusal kit.

By the way, there are two endings.

Known bugs/Issues I'll try to fix post-LD:
- Ice Blocks don't work the way they should all the time.
- When two bombs overlap, pressing SPACE will delete the one that's behind. That... shouldn't be that way.
- Hitboxes aren't really well done.
- Music has some bugs.
- Better graphics and music, I hope.

I hope that you enjoy Defusing Emily!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#191Humor3.04
#238Mood3.20
#286Audio3.00
#359Innovation3.24
#392Overall3.22
#558Theme3.18
#566Fun2.92
#842Graphics2.41

Comments

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Baka Emily! Why'd you have to go crazy. I preferred you when you were tsundere :'(

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01am

Well that.. was.. um. different. =)

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Although the bomb idea is certainly not the only one in this LD, the execution is singular. Where elsewhere you have to cut or unplug wires, you just need to hit the target. And yet the sense of urgency is enormous, because you cannot control the speed or direction. Addictive!

The hidden bombs are unfair, though, with no way of knowing if there are any and pressing space on empty spots deducting lives.

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Played Twice, Good Ending did not show for me. Maybe because i died on purpose at te beginning of the second play. Fun game and crazy ending. I recommend at least finishing once!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11am

Pretty sweet! Made it to level with score 18075 ~_~ Music didn't really feel like it fit though.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17am

Yeah.. that was crazy... but fun! it reminded me of GLaDOS from portal. the ending is a bit confusing but it is a great game!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great concept, i found the gameplay to be fun but the visuals could be improved.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

Well, certainly not what I was expecting. Very, very interesting.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Interesting. I would have set the difficulty curve a bit higher maybe, I played for two minutes before I encountered a real challenge. I like it.

nikneym says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Funny tnts. Good game.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35am

The dialogs are fun :D but i find the gameplay a bit dull

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Oh it's over but the timer is still running ... hehe ... oh ... OH ... WAT? Really awesome towards the end. :D

motty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

Brilliant. Loved it. Thank you.

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Good game, but the lack of any background really killed it for me. Anything would have been better than plain white.

Great plot development and quirky writing.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice! I wish the text cycled a bit faster though.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I like it. Nice work :)

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I've got a significant GlaDOS vibe from it ;) Sadly, I wasn't able to finish the game - when the 'i dont want to die' message started appearing, my lifes went down to 0 :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Cool game... Nicely done! :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very simple, but amusing. I like it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great job! :D
The core game mechanic is pretty simple but watching the story unfold is just amazing :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

the game mechanics are really good, that game seems like a physics lesson!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Interesting, nice music, no real theme connection though...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Its an interesting game, it took me a moment to understand what was really going on, but I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Love how game going mad. And melody is kinda very nice :)

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

AWESOME. I love the personality that continued to grow more vibrant and desperate. And the gameplay continued to become more frantic. Very fun, and great ending.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

Dialogue was nice! Cool game!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03am

Really original entry! I loved the humour of "Emily".
On thing i can say, the shift powerup isn't really a powerup.. Since is not time limited, i found myselft playing the rest of the game with the shift key pressed.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57am

Great way to turn a simple game into something unique and memorable. :)

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Simple idea well done. I think it's lacking some feedback when you miss a bomb, and when bombs count all the way down to 0 there should be some visual feedback like camera shake or explosions or anything really. Good job!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

She's almost as patronizing as Glados :P

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very nice! Those texts are well timed and humoristic.
I had a lot of fun!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Links doesn't work for me :(

ydg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

It seems my hosting is down right now. I just changed the links, although it doesn't seem like it works well on Firefox. In Chrome seems to work fine.
As soon as my hosting comes back I'll change them again.

Thanks everyone for your feedback!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31am

I loved your concept and music. Nice work :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great simple game. Good job!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

pretty addicting gameplay but it was a bit easy. Good job overall :D Sunk about 30 mins in to lol

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Well done. Simple but fun gameplay with a great attitude :0)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:10am

Yay, a game I'm actually pretty good at :D Fun! The music was killer - I really liked it!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:10pm

That was awesome. Really didn't expect that at all!

Really simple but great humour and really quite addictive.

'Mazing job. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]