August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Xyloctopus

by iterative deepening - Jam Entry

Puzzle action musical game in which you discover an octopus life with a succession of 10 seconds musical partition composed and recorded by yourself. Live or die, it's simply a matter of time. But what's the value of your brothers life ?

* Gameplay explanation : Octopus isn't supposed to be slow, you must quickly tap on ctrl or alt to "run."



PS :
* There are still a few bugs that will be fixed over time.
* The game has been tested with Firefox, it's better with it but you can also try with chrome or safari for example but with sometimes loss of framerate.
* We are currently working on a controller version.

* We're French... so help us to correct English sentences.

Update :
-A new version with a new loading system is currently on testing, sometimes you have to refresh the page 2-3 times.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Graphics(Jam)4.46
#75Innovation(Jam)3.56
#78Audio(Jam)3.58
#100Mood(Jam)3.48
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#396Theme(Jam)2.88
#396Humor(Jam)1.98
#503Fun(Jam)2.35

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22am

This seems like a really interesting work but the game is too complicated, I can't seem to understand it :( Graphics are astonishing though

1fir3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

Good idea , but so hard controller )

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31am

unresponsive octopus makes it hard to compose anything and have fun with music, but still its possible to beat the level.
graphics and audio are awesome though.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Strange concept, but good overall. Just FYI cntrl + arrows may cause issues on OSX devices (this is used to desktop swiping)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great work, beautiful for both sound and graphics. The gameplay is strange, winning/losing conditions are not very clear, but I had a good time playing it. Congrats!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

@oxysof : Sometimes the tutorial doesn't appear. To pass levels you have to record a melody (push shift) and play it (press space) when octopus is above the white squares. But your life time is counted, so you will found solution to steal 10 secondes life's to other octopuses.


Furthermore check if your browser zoom is normal (ctrl 0) else the game will be slow.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

@FireZenk : Thank you very much for the advice, i'll make an alternative control to mac user.

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great graphics, congratulations

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Good concept.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Great visuals , interesting concept.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Great graphics !
Hard to get the concept but i liked it !
Impossible to use the ctrl key on mac because of some shortcuts for the system, but I liked even if it tooked me some time :)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Looks fantastic. Love the idea although i didn't really understand what to do for a long while, and the key combinations to record are hard to remember and use. Also i didn't get any sound on chrome.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Wonderful graphics and audio. I felt a little confused about what I was actually trying to achieve. Still a very interesting idea and that is what LD is all about. Good Work!

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Sounds don't play on chrome and firefox nightly(latest). The octopus seems too hard to control as well.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Nice presentation, and figuring out the concept was a good brain tease.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

i really like the graphic in this game, it's a bit frustratin because of the protagonist movement

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Looks gorgeous and the idea is really cool. I wish the controls weren't so sluggish, but it works well enough. Great work!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Great concept, I have a hard time making the game work (no sound for the first try). Really like it overall, a really nice game which looks and sounds great !

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

Very beautiful. The controls are a bit complicated, but it's fine.

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

Bravo, les graphismes sont vraiment beaux et soignés! Le concept est vraiment original, j'ai beaucoup apprécié ce jeu. Je trouve juste que les contrôle du Xyloctopus sont assez complexe de part la faible vitesse et l'inertie.
Encore bravo à vous tous!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Bizarre concept but cool. The mechanics are a bit obscure, I had trouble figuring out what to do. Really like the presentation.

osthekake says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great graphics and Audio, but the octopus moves far too slowly to hit more than one key in the 10 second period..
(Firefox for Ubuntu canoncial - 1.0 v 23.0)
It might be my computer is just too slow..

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great graphics, amazing idea, but hard to control.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Pretty confusing on how to win and some unclear mechanics, but the graphics and sfx are radical.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16pm

@osthekake : maybe the both :-)
Many player give the same feedback, so we try to fix it (for exemple, currently on my PC it's slow on chrome but fast on firefox).

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

Very contemplative, congratulations!!!
Lovely, my french friends

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I couldn't play. :( In my verions of firefox (latest: 23.0.1), chrome & opera the character moved extremely slowly at normal zoom (or at least what I presume to be slow), in IE moved fine but there was no sound. I will check back again, as I love the concept.

Like last LD, the art is simply phenomenal. So gooooood, well done. :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

@paul: I have try to make a new version with a kind a sound loader. I don't know if it's better.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Awesome graphics & audio.
good game mecanism idea which still need some polishes to be really playable. I found the controls really hard to play, too much inertia / not enough speed. Also, I barely was able to read the help message and it's the most important part.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Interesting and complex for sure. I think the complexity of controls hurt the execution a bit; however, the audio, design and visuals are all superb. I could not figure out how to get past the third level, can you please explain what I need to do?

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

@ Thank's everyone, we currently work on an optimised version (with gamepad for chrome, and with a low framerate system), so please continue your feedback (about the slowing or the lack of sound for exemple). Thank you very much.

@Vaughn : From level 3 you must eat plankton (small tadpoles) and activate new keys by pressing enter. So you will have enough key to record a 5-song melody and more (see later).

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Good idea but the octopus is too slow no ?

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

good job

Vaughn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Thanks for the reply. I was pretty sure I tried that last time I played. I tried again today just to make sure, and now I can't even get past the first stage for some reason? For some reason, it would never count my notes towards the goal. I restarted the game, and I was able to get past it once again, and this time, I was finally able to get past level 3. So there must be some issue where it doesn't recognize notes. I'll update you and rate once I am able to complete :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

It's fun to see what webgl and html5 can do. Thank you for a cool game.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:08am

I really love the art and the audio, really gets me in the mood! Once the objective is clear, the game is actually quite simple. But the difficulty of getting all the needed notes got really hard too quick. I got stuck at level 3.

Would be nice to be able to cancel the recording and start over.

Overall, really good game!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Really innovative idea, unfortunately I couldn't quite finish it - there was never enough plankton that spawned on Goal 8 level. Great audio, art and design. I've already shared my thoughts on the complexity and all that. Overall, a really nice piece!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Thank you so much, I'll make an easy version (with 10 seconds when you catch the plankton)and I continue to correct the bugs.

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Visuals are top notch

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

This is an amazing idea, but the control scheme needs work. It's really hard to be mashing one button while needing to push another button with the same hand at sporadic intervals.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

graphics are great but i cannot figure out what to do -- nice effort

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:09am

Concept and art are really great, the idea of this submarine music making game is good. The interaction with plancton create some more action.
But the octopus moves are too slow, it's kind of breaking the gameplay. With some extra fluidity it could be a fun game.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:23am

Graphics is really excellent, and it is nice to make your own music by playing the game, but it seems to be too difficult to be really fun for me.

wine says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:20am

Very beautiful and interesting adventure. Well done!

juaxix says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:25am

Cool concept too, how did you managed to do the ripple fx?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Cool mood and style, the game itself is a bit confusing... :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:17pm

looks really good and seems interesting, but it's so hard to control.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice little game. Like the style. Gameplay is a is little to slow.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

Don't think audio worked for me :( Controls were kinda weird, pressed ctrl like crazy but he didn't wanted to go faster

as3boyan says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:21am

Graphics is very good! Those effects is nice!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Really nice game, great mood. :)

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:04am

I'm so glad I came back to play this. <3

This game is so chilling and beautiful, I love how it plays back the notes again between stages. I got stuck for a bit on the first stage with plankton, didn't realize they let you create more keys for a while. So I got to stage 10 with not a lot of time. Was I close to the end? I will probably play soon again.

I found going the whole way back to the start a bit punishing and the constant timer a bit oppressive generally, but I'm not sure that's a bad thing.

The movement wasn't as fast as when I played on IE originally (obviously it was a bit broken on that browser then) but much much faster than when I played initially on other browsers. Feels great now, suits the game's pace well. Balletic.

I simply love this game, possibly my favourite this jam. <3 Lovely art, concept, programming, concept & sound. Well done.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:22am

Interesting.
Has a nice flow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]