August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Underground

by TomboFry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Frederick, a little guy who eats blocks and rocks for a living, and unfortunately you're sent to hell. No one knows why...

Anyway, your task is to try and escape, away from hell, and back to your previous life. The evil spirits want you dead, every 10 seconds. If you don't satisfy them, you will be destroyed and return to the last place you stood.

If you run out of time, you restart the stage, but if you die, you go to the last checkpoint!

WARNING: Don't play/rate if you don't like difficult games, you probably aren't going to enjoy this (You might, but just keep that in mind, thanks!)

Made with Game Maker 8 Pro.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#32Graphics4.22
#35Audio3.73
#43Overall3.90
#118Mood3.46
#152Fun3.49
#251Humor2.85
#459Theme3.28
#674Innovation2.80

Comments

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Lovely graphics and funny gameplay, nice game!

Ah, the full screen mode have a few graphics issues in the intro

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

WoW! I love graphics!

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Very lovely looks :)

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Holy shit I though I made a difficult game. Create looks, great game play and great narration. Love the music too.

Only issue I had was with jumping. It didn't always jump while holding right or left at the same time.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Lovely graphics and good idea.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Nice graphics and style.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Like the visual style... But damn. the difficulty is just simply unfair. you can't barely see where you go and you need to both go fast and still be careful for everything.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Best graphics and design so far of what I see until now! :D

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

TOO HARD I QUIT. But great graphics and music. Also just a good game. Controls were a little awkward, I would have liked to use WASD!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Voice acting+amazing art style+polished platformer=Great game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

hard game, nice graphics and polish reminds me a super meat boy

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very enjoyable, I'd say it has the perfect balance of doability and difficulty, it is challenging but not too hard that it would make me rage quit. I also love the graphics.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Loved this game!
The graphics where really nice and stylistic, the music was neat and the sound effects fitted in well. The level design was great, I found the difficulty curve to be quite harsh at the beginning but it evened out nicely towards the end.

Great job!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

The only problem I had in this game was figuring out that certain block were disapperaing then reapperaing, while at first I thought it they were just going out of my field of view.
Other than that, this game was awesome! The gameplay was smooth, graphics and audio were sweet and fitting each other.
I loved the little twist in the last level (it made me think of Mr. Dark's Candy Chateau in the first Rayman, which had a similar thing at some point).
Great work !

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07am

Damn! Your art! It's just... sexy. I don't know. Hard as hell too! I rage quit. Several times. Yeah... I'm a pussy.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57am

The graphics and audio are really nice. The level reset when the timer runs out was kind of annoying though so killing yourself became a viable strategy.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

Great game! Good music and graphics had very fun with it (damn last level with inverted controls :P )

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice atmosphere and graphics, just the voice was a bit off of the total feeling for the game.
Good job, incredible for compo!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Liking the difficulty. Feels like a quite complete game with some neat level design. Some of the collisions are buggy, especially with the small blocks.

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very good plateform game

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Will post video review when ready

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Really liked that. Was a little frustrating to control but the visuals and mood were just so nice. Good job.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

He he... saw this on N0_Named_Guy's stream: very awesome! So polished.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22pm

f-f-f-f-frustraattiiiiiing 3:<
like it, nice art :D

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833836

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Awesome graphics and audio! Very well polished!
Hard! (I like hard and frustrating games =p)

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Wow, it really does get hard :P Really nice game. You jump timing could be more forgiving when running off an edge. Not to make it easier necessarily but I felt like it was just a bit unresponsive. love the look

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53am

nice art.. cool gameplay..

Solifuge says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:40am

A hell of a challenging platformer with a really charming style. I really enjoyed this! The execution was a bit rough from a design standpoint, though; the 2nd level of Hell was about as hard as the last levels... a smoother difficulty curve would help. Also, I understand why the level reset from start if you hit Time Over, but it would have really reduced the frustration if you went back to the last checkpoint even on Time Over, but had the option to reset from the beginning if you'd run the clock down too much to win. My last critique, and perhaps the most important one; the game didn't Convey its rules and mechanics well, and runs opposite to gamer instincts. The tutorial tells you to avoid enemies and lava as a foundational rule, yet the goalpoint in the next level is inside the lava, and the only way to get there in time involves ignoring and walking through every enemy (to wait for the claws and shooters wastes too much precious time). That sort of inconsistency comes across more as frustrating than challenging. That said, great entry, and fantastic work for the 48 hour compo!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]