August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Quest

by drkrunk - Jam Entry

Puzzled based game where you try to collect all the slimes in each lvl to pass the lvl.

Edit: If you are jumping higher than 3 tiles then you are lagging. This could also be why people think the controls are off. I mean the physics aren't great, but they are passable. With only 10 days left for judging we may not fix the super jumping laggy-ness.

-WASD of Arrow Keys to Move.
-Space to pick up and set down time orb.

Sorry there is no preloader yet, I'm to beat to make one.
I slept 10 hours in the last 3 days. I will put one later when I can think. Hope you enjoy it, we put a lot of work into it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Graphics(Jam)4.21
#84Theme(Jam)3.58
#152Overall(Jam)3.43
#191Audio(Jam)3.13
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#228Fun(Jam)3.07
#261Humor(Jam)2.51

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

Sluggish movements but I love the graphics and the concept

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

This is a really fun game, I love how you used the ten second theme here. The progression of the difficulty throughout levels is great (although i couldn't manage to do the last 2). It would be fun to see what other levels a game like this could have~

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

good graphics and music, good difficulty, i enjoyed this game, good job :)

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Okay, so this is really cool. The tutorial level is extremely well implemented too. The only (small) gripe I have is that you can't just summon your timering back at any time, so it means you have to do each section 3 times (freeze and save the creature, walk back for the ring, walk back to where you are) and often wait 10 seconds again. However, I get how it'd completely change the game design if you didn't have it like that, so it's cool. Really cool game man, nice one.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Cool concept and lovely graphics. Too hard for me but I'm not the best at puzzle platform type games.

vvolis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Pretty neat idea, and love the graphics :)

KeinBaum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The graphics are very cool

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Sounded like a loop, the graphics were really good, the game was actually harder than expected and I loved the concept of it.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wonderful graphics, very pretty game, and I love anything that has slimes in it! I enjoyed the music too! I'm a big dummy though and couldn't make it too far, haha. Good puzzles!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very nice graphics, concept is nice

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Great game, one of the best games I've played so far

Antidote says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Love the idea and graphics :) I was confused on how to complete the level at first though. I didn't know going back to the time orb with the creature will let me reset the orb. Otherwise, great job !

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Kinda boring.
But looks great! All drawn well!
Good job anyway!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Great artwork! Nice use of the theme, good job!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59pm

The graphics and the music are great, and the way you used the theme is a pretty cool mechanic. Good game!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59pm

really really cute, and that purple thing time mechanics is fun also.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:23am

Lovely art and a nice idea with the put-down/pick-up time orb mechanic.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:43am

The graphics are simply lovely!

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

Oh my cuteness. Very nice idea for the gameplay involving time stopping.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Not bad :) Great graphics and style.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

good job

cobrajs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The graphics are really well done and the concept and overall design were great. Controls could have been a little tighter, though.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

makes you think about super meat boy and offspring spring. cool!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Pretty graphics, very well done

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:24am

Nice concept and very cute art!

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:37am

The mechanic was not very well portrayed. But once I got it the game was really fun and cute. I like how the slimes mimic your movement, it was really adorable.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Really cute visuals, love your style. Hate the music, though =/

Could have used some more feedback - sound, visuals, anything - on the buttons/cells...

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Level 5 took me a while to figure out, but apart from that I didn't have too many problems figuring things out. Just sometimes still took me a bit to actually do what I knew I needed to xD

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Lovely art, and I really like the core idea around the bubble. Great work. :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

This game is very innovative, and I like the graphics! The reversal of the idea of 10 seconds - 10 seconds without time - was very interesting, and I liked the delayed mimicking behavior of the slimes. I would definitely like to play an extended version of this game!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Aha! Innovative way to use the 10 secs with the bubble. Congrats. It's well polished too.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:17am

SO CUTE! Nice used of theme, very solid game. Found it a bit confusing at first but loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

bitowl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:52am

thiss is soooo cute :3 wish I could draw like that.
though I'm not skilled enough to solve the last levels :O

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

I really enjoy the graphics! They are very pleasant and cute!
Like you said, the physics aren't great, but they are passable.
Sound is simple but nice!
Good work! =D

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I liked your graphics quite a bit.

Antidote says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Someone else from my team had already rated and commented here, but since someone submitted this game on my google forms I ended up playing again ^^ And it's truly awesome.

Made a video commenting while I played:
http://www.twitch.tv/danielsnd/c/2882835

I hit upload to youtube but apparently takes a long time for twitch to transfer it to youtube... So if you're reading this in the future and twitch has deleted the video, you can check:
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqqAeLLp33Ki1dRAPCiTEtg/videos

fdevant says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:10am

Great graphics but i couldn't play at all. I'm on a mac. Pressing space had no effect, nothing had, I was just moving around with no feedback for anything :s

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:37am

The levels could have a more intresing design but to compensate I liked the music very much.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:53am

@Lokarunith Funny you should say that because when making the game it was coming down to the wire we had to choose more levels or music. We ended up spending the last of our time making the songs.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:07pm

The graphics were amazing, and the puzzles were intense.
Good job!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:16pm

great graphics and difficulty curve. clever puzzles. that last one with the invisible platforms got me though.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:09pm

A pretty solid platformer! The controls feel good and everything is smooth. The mechanic itself is nice, but only applying it to holding buttons down got repetitive pretty fast.

The art is extremely well done! Cute, perfect color choices and minimal animations that still feel good - terrific job! Does scribbleninja have a website, more games or art somewhere?

Did one of you make the music yourself? If not, where did you take it from? It's pretty great!

Cheers, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]