August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dodge These

by Destroyer40k - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In dodge these, you control a vehicle crossing a minefield for reasons unknown. To make things worse, you're going at maximum speed!

You can, however, slow down time, but true action heroes don't need to do that, right? Either way, you WILL cross the minefield in, you guessed it, 10 seconds.



Tools used: SFML,irrLicht, MS Visual Studio 2012, Blender, Gimp


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#480Graphics3.00
#550Fun2.93
#602Audio2.46
#647Overall2.97
#662Mood2.59
#735Innovation2.74
#921Theme2.71

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Pretty cool concept! I liked the slow motion mode. Great use of the mouse wheel!
There were a lot of mines at some points, I couldn't always get through them, even with slow motion.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49am

Good idea to use the mouse wheel to slow down the game. More fun than I imagined :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33pm

"The application was unable to start correctly (0x00007b)" Got an error when launching

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

awsome shump .. love love love it ....but wait u can slow the motion loooooooove it

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

The game lagged like crazy for me but it's probably just my computer being slow. One thing that was annoying was that the screen was so tall that it was difficult to click on the start button!

From what I did manage to see it was pretty good! I'm not sure movement with the mouse is better than keyboard but the mouse wheel for modifying the speed of the ship was a nice idea.

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Looks nice, but it's hard. On default speed I'm quickly overwhelmed. Made it in 20.78 seconds

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Couldn't run, same error as Jimanzium

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

It's very easy to avoid the mines at full speed, since you can just move the mouse through any mines and not hit them. You just need to move the mouse so fast that the ship teleports completely over the mine.

Destroyer40k says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24pm

"The application was unable to start correctly (0x00007b)" Error fixed (Cause was bad Visual C++ redist .dlls), during which I noticed the game wouldn't run on WinXP. Fixed that too.

gameXcore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Fantastic, I loved the audio effect. How did you do that?

Ninja says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice work, although you can avoid all of the mines by hugging the right wall.

Destroyer40k says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27pm

@ gameXcore:
If you mean the "slowed-down" audio, I just lowered the pitch of the sound clip on the fly depending how fast the game was going. SFML provides really simple and easy syntax for it, basically "sound.setPitch(x)", where x is the multiple for the pitch.
If you mean the audio itself, it was just me hitting things together and modifying the result a bit. 2 AA batteries, a metal fan, my fist, and the microphone itself were slightly harmed in the prosess.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:35am

AWESOME GAME! :DDDD

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:36am

What a really cool game. I liked the effect slowing down time gave.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38am

That was cool, if a bit short and simple. I like time dilation as a game mechanic, and the controls being contained to the mouse made the interface simple and elegant. Thanks for putting this together!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Nice gameplay mechanics ;)

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:15am

Staying to the far right allows you to dodge everything.

This game is chaotic otherwise! Makes you feel awesome when you navigate a minefield flawlessly

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:31am

Nice! The mouse wheel for controlling the speed of time is really cool, I love how it also effects the pitch of the sounds on the fly too. Fun little game.

aldian says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:46am

26.8. great use of mouse wheel (:

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:32am

Was able to get a perfect score through a bit of an exploit. Otherwise 18 seconds is my best.

I really appreciated the unification of controls here. Specifically, that everything was controlled by the mouse. That and that the balancing between speed and hitting mines felt really good. If it weren't for the exploits, thi would be mechanically really solid. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]