August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Down

by Sebastian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just 10 seconds to kill everybody and get the hell out of there. Can you make it?

Phew, what an exhausting weekend. So excited to play everyone's games though I'll probably be up at the crack of dawn again...
I had a fantastic time making this game - I saw a lot of people posting on the homepage saying that they disliked the theme, but I thought it was alright. The biggest challenge was the audio, I was endlessly banging things together trying to make good gun sound effects and making rumbling sounds for the elevator. I think it turned out ok though XD
What do you think?

Instructions:
Move with up and down arrow keys or W and S.
Player follows the cursor.
Shoot - left click.
Dash - shift.
Mute - m (only in menu).
The number on the left is your health.
On the right is the number of rooms cleared.
Your gun changes every three rooms.

Watch me play it here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDEsUmYt2kw&feature=c4-overview&list=UUmtyQOKKmrMVaKuRXz02jbQ

A video of my previous LD entry, 'Terminally Ill' for those interested.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwuamGK94Sk

Cheers
Sebastian

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#39Graphics4.18
#44Audio3.66
#145Mood3.40
#161Humor3.16
#184Overall3.49
#193Theme3.58
#200Fun3.40
#647Innovation2.83

Comments

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Not too bad - I would have preferred directing the player completely with WASD/arrow keys, though.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Incredible. Beautifully executed with lovely art. The mouth-generated sound effects are hilarious.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

Found it very hard to dodge and shoot, couldn't really find a decent tactic apart from brute forcing the enemies (run at them in a straight line) to kill them as quickly as possible and try and tank up on health. Noticed my weapon switching, didn't understand that.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

HA! Audio win! 'nuf said.
Sometimes it's weird though... I keep shooting the bastards and they don't seem to die. There's not enough feedback on when an enemy is hit, I just can't tell if I am actually damaging him or he's just standing there, eating bullets.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Cool 3D game :D ... Though I also prefer WASD/arrow keys for the movement too. Good job though especially with the audio.

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

+1 for mouth generated sounds. Good job. Movement isn't convienient.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26am

loved it! really really good

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Needs more movement like rolling, strafing, dodging. Otherwise there is no really tactic for killing enemies. Sound is excellent, loved the spinning laser. So if you make each room more varied (different enemies, traps...), more powerups and movement, and then you have a really awesome game on your hands! =)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

It takes some time to get used to W + cursor to move. Despite this, the game looks fantastic, and the vocal soundtrack made me chuckle quite a few times.

Great entry!

Great work!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I could use a minimap :P
Nice game :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I love the sound effects, they made me laugh. I liked the controls system, it's weird and takes some getting used to but it made it more interesting.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Not sure why my weapon was randomly switching sometimes, but once I figured out you could change weapon with the right mouse button that wasn't much of an issue.
Other than that, it's really well made, I didn't really have any problem with the control scheme (although my high-score of nine begs to differ *sigh*). Good job! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Did you make all those sounds with your mouth? Great job on the look and mood of it, could do with a bit of work on the controls, felt a bit awkward to control and strafing would be good too.

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

So nice! love the animations!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

AWESOME GAME. Rated it 4/5 because the controls were a bit unconfortable, but awesome awesome game.
Mouth audio effects suit gamejams completely. Loved it.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Nice sound effects lol. Graphics and gameplay are very slick.

Friday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Nice!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Good game! I wouldve enjoyed being able to move w/ WASD, but the game is still fun as is. Great job with the sound effects and visuals!

skarab says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Awesome. Graphics, sounds, main idea, all is so polished. Set lot of stars here ;)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Good game! I like this style of graphics.
And actually gameplay is great.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04am

Lol! "Shhhhuuuaaww" I kept laughing at the door opening sounds. Really great 2.5D art too! I would have enjoyed more with full WASD controls, but was it was fun anyway.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

I really dug the sweeping laser noise (and all the mouth sounds), and I like the look of the game.
I actually liked the movement scheme. It was unusual but made a certain kind of sense. I didn't like, however, that I basically had to charge straight into enemy bullets in order to shoot at them. Maybe if I had some kind of dodge or shield it would have helped. This really only became a problem when the enemies suddenly gained beefy health bars and I didn't have the time to run out of their lines of fire. Alternately, keep the enemies at one or two shot kills, but make them deadlier to the player or harder to get to?
Anyway, I had fun!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36am

Thanks so much for all the feedback thus far guys! I'll remember to make sure the controls in my future games always allow for strafing. Lesson learned! The point some of you have made about a lack of a good tactic for evading enemies is very true and something I should have paid more attention to.
Otherwise, glad you guys are enjoying the game and the sound effects, I had a lot of fun making them! :)

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice. I agree about the movement. I wasn't really sure if the rooms were auto generated or if there was suppose to be an ending (or I just somehow missed it). Thats I think a mistake I also made. Thanks!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

you had me from the first sound effect, heh. This is great! Nice style to it, polished gameplay, good variety of weapons, there's just so much to like.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

The gameplay is not very innovative, but damn does this game have style! Love your made-with-my-mouth sound effects!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Loved the style of this game (and the swooshy mouth sfx, hehe), had a great time playing it!

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Fun game. Very fun. It took me a second to see that the guns were changing. I'm not sure I noticed much of a difference in terms of killing people. Some were harder to kill, but I assumed it was that they were a higher level somehow. If that's the case, maybe have a visual indicator that they're more elite? Also, because I sucked at it, I never made it past floor 10. Is that normal? Also, I loved the "zwoo-zwoo" sound effect that the room-clearing laser thingy made when time ran out. So tech-sounding! :)

I gave the wordy feedback because it's one of the funner(a word) games from this comp, and I expect you'll work on a post-compo version. MAKE IT SO.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:24am

Not bad!
Like your room transitions and visuals. Audio is very interesting. But game is about nothing at all.

flarb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:53am

Wow, a NICE looking game. Controls are a little tricky. I'd almost prefer dual-stick style with the keyboard.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:20am

Lovely graphics, and the sounds made me laugh :-) There's a problem with controls though: W doesn't make the character go forward if the cursor is not in front of him, this can be really frustrating. Also, what would have helped is a crosshair or some laser beam to indicate what you're aiming at. Overall, pretty cool.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The game plays very smoothly and is very well done, but I felt like the gameplay became very repetitive very quickly.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Great graphics and sound!

Gameplay was nice, but a little unusual for a TPS. wasd for movement is much more natural, in my opinion.
Also, I couldn't figure out any strategy, since enemies aim exactly at you and shoot at the maximum rate possible. Even hiding behind pillar didn't help, since I wasn't able to get out at shoot'em without being hit...

Anyways, nice game! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:55pm

The sounds for this game are amazing. I loved the game and the game play, sort of addictive to me, because I wanted to try to keep playing till something happened XD I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Sounds are hilarious :-D Movement is lacking some tactical part though...

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:26am

Surprisingly awesome looking! the game is way better than what i expected from the screenshots! the controls work nice, the only problem i had was that the character stopped moving sometimes when the character came too near to the mouse; obviously thats how it is supposed to work because, i realised it later..
I think you should spend more time with the level design this can be a big game!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice game, had to take some time to adapt myself to the control (trying to strafe) :)

rxi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:04am

Loved the a capella sound effects. The controls felt a little awkward to start with, but I appreciate the restrictions in turn speed combined with the lack of strafing was a clear design decision, and it felt like an interesting choice to go with.

Nice work on the graphics, really liked the cell shaded minimalist look to it all.

FunByJohn says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:00am

I liked the art direction, subtle shaders and simple ragdoll-ish characters. Once you got the hang of the controls (sorta), it felt pretty fun traversing around the randomly generated building, shooting down the bad guys and then progressing to the next room. I found the controls to be sort of limiting to the player, aiming and movement shouldn't be unified in my opinion, it should be a seperate thing - I'm not sure if this was something you did as a design choice to add onto the difficulty or a technical limit, but I'd hope you make the game more accessible in your post-combo version. Overall, I thought it was a fair game, that could become pretty fun with some tweaks :)

Infin8 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Quite diff from the arena shooters already out there. Didn't find any difference between all the weapons though.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Nice entry, but the control scheme was really not intuitive at all.
Other than that though, it was great!

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:10pm

My first impressions on your game - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIgGgJOeuxk

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Awesome game. I love the design and the gameplay (and those super polished sound effects). There's a pretty bit inconsistency in the gun strength (why can't I only ever have the shotgun?), but all the guns still felt pretty satisfying. This definitely feels very complete for a Ludum entry. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]