August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Umbra Machina

by TheMaster99 - Jam Entry

Hi!

Thank you for playing OCLU's entry into the Ludum Dare 27 Game Jam.

Instructions on how to play can be found by pressing the 'How To Play' button on the main menu of the game.

*note: forgot to add a timer, but it takes 10 seconds for the shadow to get to the next checkpoint.

Want to make your own, custom levels?
Well, you can!
just modify 'level1.png' to make your own level!

Guidelines for Level Making:
Black (0,0,0) = block
White (255,255,255) = checkpoint (you need to include the place where you start as a checkpoint)
Any other colour = nothing!

Feel free to post your custom levels in the comments of the entry!

Enjoy!

Credits:
TheMaster99 - Programming, minority of the graphics
Louthinator - Design, sound, cheerleading ( c: hi louth!)
NitroBurnerX - AWESOME, AWESOME GRAPHICS!!! (and the vocals)
Various people from stream / IRC - bug fixing <3
Holofire - "Holofire: for emotional support in your hour of need :D" ...i don't know what he's talking about >.>

http://www.youtube.com/louthinator
http://www.twitch.tv/themaster99

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#247Audio(Jam)2.97
#360Humor(Jam)2.15
#444Fun(Jam)2.53
#459Mood(Jam)2.43
#463Overall(Jam)2.71
#496Graphics(Jam)2.53
#524Theme(Jam)2.51
#545Innovation(Jam)2.26

Comments

Holofire says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Fun little game. Came across a few bugs, but overall an enjoyable experience. Good job!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

I don't really understand what i'm trying to accomplish in the game but i really liked the sound effects and graphics :)

Oh and it's really cool that you can edit the level.

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57am

Sinuath: read the 'how to play,' it tells you the goal :)

Mjiig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:27am

A few bugs but otherwise quite nice. Well done.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43am

The run speed combined with that platforms make it pretty thrilling haha! My only complaint is that it seems really hard to jump when at the end of the platforms for some reason it doesnt seem to register? X_X It was pretty addictive then the first boss punched the crap out of me lol Good stuff.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07pm

i like the idea, but, its some bugged, too fast for me :/ but nice idea anyway. I love sounds of this game

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Pixelfan, do you mind going more into detail about it?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

It was a bit difficult to tell what was going on. The static background made the jumps look strange at first (since it looks like the platforms are going down rather than you going up). It also felt like I was teleported and smacked around quite a bit, again making it difficult to tell what was going on.
I also did not see any kind of animation for pressing the space bar? Was I really hitting anything?
That said though, the music was pretty awesome, and the graphics look nice. I really think the main thing your game need is a bit of "tightening" so that everything feels a bit more polished. But good job already!

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Thanks for the feedback!
1. Yeah, now that you mentioned it, making the background move when you jump sounds like a good idea.
2. Any teleportation that occured would be you moving from the fight room (meaning you have to fight the enemy) or back.
3. If you are in a fight and are close enough to the enemy to attack it, the hit animation should play.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Very fun concept guys! The fast pace action was pretty fun. It would have been nice to maybe have a little more view of the right side of the screen so I can tell when to jump. A fun take on the endless runner concept. Great job for 72 hours!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Fun!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36pm

YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE YOU LOSE

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01am

Love the game! Reminds me a lot of spore.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

Finally got the hang of it! Quite a challenge. Pretty nice platformer, cool music.

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16am

Recursiveanomaly: you're thinking of celly, not my game :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

Difficult, but an interesting concept nonetheless.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Will post video review later.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Sorry, but didn't manage to make it to the end without cheating. It's very unfair that your health doesn't reset after a boss fight as well, makes the game pretty much unbeatable. Fun game overall.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833720

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I think he health should reset when you die/after the boss fight, because i basically got stuck where the boss kept killing me without any chance to move...

Jumping felt a bit odd

truiton says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I came accross a few bugs, but the graphics are nice and it's cool that you can edit the level :)

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I came across what I think is a bug that could almost pass as a feature : you can stick to the edge of a platform if you get the collision right, then climb up using the jump.
Overall, I liked the music and the graphics, but controls could use a little more polish.

M.O.U says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:05pm

if you had finished the game, I'm sure that would be great. but it appears still very unfinished, but it still is a great concept with good audio

TheMaster99 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:20pm

What do you mean by 'finished'? More/better animations, more levels, an actual block texture?

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Tough game - quite addictive. At first I didn't realise I was racing the other guy to the checkpoint. Once I figured that out the game was heaps more exciting too.

But there was one bug that was a bit frustrating: if you die, and get placed on the edge of platform then you have to press "up then right"... if you press "right then up" (I mean press them ALMOST at exactly the same time) then you fall. Maybe it would be better if you were placed a tiny bit in from the edge to avoid insta-death!

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I think it would be nice to have some feedback on the arena part, a countdown before starting the fight, and a "You win" if you win with a little coutdown to throw you back at the race. I was thrown back at the race unprepared giving the enemy the advantage.

X-0r says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Damn, that evil guy is fast. And evil. I also encountered that problem with dying due to falling down the platform instead of jumping first. Liked the graphics, even if the skyscrapers are a bit less detailed than the shadow enemy or the character itself. Soundtrack is awesome, btw!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:00pm

At first, it was super hard to even discern when and how fast you're moving due to the parallax background, but having no other objects on the platforms. It's terribly nice of my enemies to not fight me if I win a race, but they must've known that I'm terrible at racing, haha. Nice music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]