August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tourmaline

by NMcCoy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Click to dash. Press P to pause and M to mute.

Clear the sky in 10 seconds. Take out multiple clouds in a single dash for big combo points.

The music is dynamic based on your actions, and the speed your... butterfly-dart-thing is flying at (faster = more notes). If anyone's wondering, the game is named after one of my D&D characters, a faerie dragon (who is similarly colorful and flighty), who is in turn named after a mineral (which is often colorful, but usually immobile).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Audio3.90
#63Innovation3.87
#142Overall3.57
#200Fun3.40
#276Mood3.12
#392Theme3.33
#498Graphics2.97
#953Humor1.44
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice game, the sound effects fit perfectly to the music. :)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Simple yet elegant. I really liked the dynamic soundtrack. The dash mechanic took a few tries to get used to, but was very satisfying. Great game!

William Bundy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

I believe I already told you this was a lot of fun, but I think the new scoring system makes it more so.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

The music and sounds reminded me of old Mario games. I think this would make a great mobile game. :)

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

I really like the happy mood this game creates :) The movement and dash mechanics are unique and fun.

I wonder if you tried making the regular or dash trails persistent at low opacity or have the explosions generate some persistent graphics for the duration of the level? So that the player not only generates unique composition of music while playing, but an abstract visual background as well, sort of like painting strokes.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

This is really cool. It has a sense of urgency that I would expect from the theme, without being stressful.

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Very nice game! Very addictive; it is a really rewarding feeling when you clear multiple clouds at a time. Thumbs up for the orginal mechanics.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Wow, one of the most unique movement schemes i have seen to this date. Extremely smooth.

The dynamic music is also very impressive.

The minimalistic art style wouldve fit into the last Ludum Dare competition as well, very slick.

Great job, one of the most interesting "time killer" concepts i have seen so far.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Very nice game. It's fun to play & and I like the graphics + music.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

That's really amazing simple and nice ;) great job ;)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice simple game, really liked the movement mechanics! Also incredibly impressed with the dynamic music, it sounds great.

HauntedSoul says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:02am

Very cool game! Took me a a second to get used to the controls but past that loved the sound and feel of the game. Good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14am

A funky music game. I enjoyed it altough it looks quite simple at first sight.

NiallM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:41am

This is lovely. The dash mechanic is really interesting; it's tricky to master, which is perfect for a game like this.

Liz England says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

This is definitely the best use of music I've seen so far this Ludum Dare!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Lovely music, found this game pretty great!! To bad it wasnt recordable (Fraps would only record the background of the page, not the game itself. :/) so I couldnt record it and include it in my LD27 compilation video series... Sorry

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Liked the clean and minimal graphics. The game play was fun and addicting.

bitowl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:58pm

the music fits so well with the dash sound, but I don't like the hit sound, so I cought me flying a lot of time just around the start-button and enyoing how the music is changed by my actions :)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:48am

This is lovely! Music fits nicely. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]