August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hallucivian

by Hypnohustla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 10 seconds your LSD induced bird hallucination is going to give birth to you. Get that egg to a safe place!

Arrow keys - Fly
M - Mute
N - Back to title


The goal is to get the egg to settle at an even terrain with no enemies to bounce it away. Dont worry about the bird, the egg is the priority!

Some people have thought that the final level is impossible. It is actually pretty easy if you use a trick. You just have to sacrifice the bird just after you deploy the egg. That way you can make the tentacles eat the bird and leave a nice safe spot for the egg to land.
---

I used Stencyl for the main portion of the game, Photoshop for graphics and Propellerheads Reason for sounds and music.
Sweet times!

@Hypnohustler

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Graphics4.33
#35Audio3.73
#48Mood3.75
#64Overall3.78
#98Humor3.42
#116Innovation3.71
#152Fun3.49
#184Theme3.60

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

Entirely awesome game, entirely awesome surreal world and characters. Really good work Hypnohustla.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

This art direction is awesome! It may be nice to be able to lay the egg pre-mature if you are in a good spot? That way I dont have to attempt to hover, although the bouncing was hilarious!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03am

Very very cool. The controls are spot on. You always feel slightly out of control but when you fail it still feels like it is your fault. Great job on the art as well. Very cohesive experience.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04am

That was bizarre in a great way.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

Wow I think this is the best one I've played tonight. Beautiful art and the sounds were very nice and psychedelic.

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Everything about that was wonderfully weird. Best I've seen so far, great job :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Talk about polish, you game is amazing on all points.
Graphics, animation, sfx, music, mechanics, level design, atmosphere.
This game is a gem.

Only black point for me, it's too big for my screen.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

That's fantastic! I LOVE the art and the music!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

I really dig the graphics and the animations. The gameplay is smooth too, but really hard! I didn't think I totally understood what were safe places and what weren't

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33am

Great art direction, great gameplay, great music, great mood, great everything. This is probably in the top 50.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

Looks great, feels great, a bit hardcore, but I love it anyway. I'll try and get to later levels now :-)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

Great game ! Amazing artwork. Really good job. The music is very LDS-esque ;) Who's in the egg lol ?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

Really hard! But I like it that way. The final level is goddamn impossible, though.

Nice graphics, sound and feel! Really unique entry, I like!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Well gosh. Lovely artwork, the music and sounds fit perfectly, the gameplay is balanced really well - what's not to like? Great entry :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Ok, I loved this to bits. Brilliant effort all round, looks great, sounds great, cool gameplay idea! Could watch that bird bounce around all day...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I like the idea, It's quite nice :). Congratulations for the work!

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Took me a little bit of time to learn, but after that game was really good!
The style is unique and that fat bird is just too cool! :)

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Brilliant, really fun.

One thing - if the bird got scooped up by the blue tentacles AFTER dropping the egg in a safe place - the level was still completed. Is this intentional?

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Muznak: It's intentional. The egg is all that matters.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Probably the best game I've played so far. xD

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Beautiful sound and visuals. It feels really polished and the difficulty is pitched just right in my opinion. A blast.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Great! I have only one tiny complaint.. it's too tall to my laptop screen resolution. It didn't stopped me from playing anyway! Best game I've played so far :)

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very fun and charming.

But what in gods name did you think when you chose that resolution? Not everyone has a 1080p screen, especially laptops usually have a height of 768. And as far as i can tell, the game wouldve fit on less space without having to adjust the resolution of the game assets.

Still, i am not here to rate the games resolution, but the game itself, and you did a very good job on that, really. Well done.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

well, obviously he had a port in mind, probably to an android or ios device ;)
this game is hard! ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Great art and music! Gameplay is hard!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I think this might be the winner for me. Amazing graphics and sound. Clever gameplay and great use of the theme. Good luck!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very fun game, good level of difficulty also. The game was a little too tall for my computer, but I was still able to play it effectively.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Wow, this game is really awesome. Very surreal and crazy art style too.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I made post-compo version with a slightly less tall. Hopefully that helps. You can play it on GameJolt http://gamejolt.com/games/other/hallucivian/17117/

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

This was top notch, totally crazy though, loved it!

Colorvade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

Really cool style.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

So cool. Spent way more time on this game than I expected to! If I could art like you art, I'd be... artsome?

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

Everything was really good! To the music, to the art, to the gameplay, to feel of the game. The challenge was good too.

You made a really amazing and bizarre gem. :)

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Loved it. Amazing art too.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Brilliant, loved the feeling of the game. Thought it was distinctive and unique. Really enjoyed it :-)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28am

Great art style and gameplay!

Volute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Great entry, fantastic artwork

crashbanito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Amazing! Having to coordinate your bird while also making sure your egg lands at just the right spot leads to engaging, if a bit frustrating, game play. The trippy artwork is also gorgeous.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Loved the character designs!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Lovely art, the music is good, but the controls are a bit irritating at first, but I got used to it.

Oh, it didn't fit on my screen, 1920 x 1080.

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Whaaat? Ahah )
But definitely I Like It!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Wow, very hard and yet addictive. I adore the graphics style!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

wow, I love the art in this game! Great use of colors, it really captures surrealism. The gameplay is great as well, it's pretty hypnotic as I watch the bird bounce around.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Very cool game, seemed really hard to place the egg safely but otherwise fun and nice art!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

This is absolutely fantastic. Looks and sounds gorgeous and plays really well with it. Exceptional work.

And thanks for the lower resolution version, I couldn't comfortably play it before.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06pm

One of the must play of this LD. Well done !

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Really nice job. Definitely one of my favorites. This has iphone/android app potential written all over it.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59pm

A 5-star entry here. Unique (right down to the presentation) and fun. The egg's physics felt a bit too floaty on the first try, but later it leads to some funny results. I actually like how subtle the audio is, it does its job well.

Zuige says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Brilliant! Just brilliant.

Beavl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Wow, this is really a great entry. And the game description is one of the best we read so far! Congrats!

dudsen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Look, I have no clue what I have played, BUT I LOVE IT. 10/10 of weirdness - factor. Love when people go wild with their ideas.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Great artwork, very solid gameplay! Good job!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Words can't suffice to describe how much I enjoyed it. Pretty much the most amount of time I've spent testing an LD entry ever :) Really loving the graphics environment you've created.

Kudos. Keep the good stuff coming :)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:18am

I love your art style! Very fresh colour scheme, and so many wobbly bits! :P Pretty neat interpretation of the theme, and just the right amount of frustrating. I did have the collision bug out on me once. When I was very close to the ground, the egg was laid inside the ground, and fell down. Luckily it got stuck inside the bulb below, so I still cleared the level.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05am

what a trippy and beautiful game. great job!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Loved every second playing this. However, let's be sincere here, people, the last level is just IMPOSSIBLE, isn't it?

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:02am

Woooo eggs

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I love this. Simple and clever. Seriously, great work! :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Weird, trippy and very cool game! Graphics were top-notch!

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

The game is beautiful, I like all the different sprites for the bird. It's really hard though

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

2 much acid) 5/5

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

Solid entry, man. Really oddly beautiful. Fun and kinda hard to play. Well, I totally sucked at this, so for 10 minutes I was just letting the bird bounce around and see the physics working haha. I think where you list the tools you used you should mention the drug you took. :P

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

Heck and hell yes, this is perfect.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:46am

Terrific art! I can't seem to even beat the first level though.. I can land the bird but it poops the egg right off the cliff every time!

neekobus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Good :
Awesome Moebius bird and animation
Nice (but repetitive) music
Intersting gameplay

Less good :
Hard to understand the game play : I believe the bounce was part of the gameplay
Screen size.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Seriously insane. Lovely bright colours and good choice of music!

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Wow, shitload of work done for 48h. Something fresh for sure. Needed a little time to figure out how to play. Controls could be a little more fogiving, now it's really hard to stop his acceleration.

Audio was really nice as well. Good sound design!

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:50am

Everything is absolutely crazy in a good way. The gameplay is also satisfying (the "only the egg matters" is great - tho my pseudonym doesn't approve). Really great work.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Really smooth movements, even though a bit challenging. And oh, the soundtrack's remarkable! Had me feeling dizzy...in a good sort of way. Spent a lot of time on the last level before I figured out that the tentacles left a safe space after going in.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Cool art! Creature and Sound!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Weird yet awesome! Nice graphics and animation :D

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:58pm

When you think you have seen everything.... Really cool, can't think of any other game like this^^

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Wow, crazy graphics and quite challenging, good work!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Haha nice entry, very strange (=good) mood.

lazyeels says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Wooooooo, far out! I like what you've done here, a really solid contribution to Ludum dare #27. This would work well on mobile I suspect as well.

The only issue I have is that the flash game window is way too big for my screen. My screen is 1600 X 900, but for some reason I can't get the game to scale to fit so I can see the whole playing field, so I keep dying ;-) That is the only problem, probably not related to the game itself. I'm using Google Chrome if that helps?

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I love the psychedelic vibe the game gives, art and music are amazing. Gameplay also feels really polished, and it's challenging, but it doesn't seem impossible to beat. Brilliant work!!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:26am

Weird, but fun entry. I like it.

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:28am

I like this game!

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Oh my goodness the art! The art and the music are wonderful. And they gameplay is fun too. I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR OWN BIRTH THAT IS CRAZY

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Retry? Ok! Pretty fun game but the physics felt a bit out of control which made the game feel a bit more luck based. A couple of the levels I only completed due to pure chance and just retrying again and again. Still, this was a very fun game and had nice graphics. Only realised after playing that this was actually taller than I could see! I actually ended up playing the game without the graphical timer as that was off-screen. Nice game though, very nice for the 48 hours! Good work :)

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Great on-drougs feeling in the graphics and music. Was very frustrating after many retries. Level 1 should be easier :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:15pm

maybe i can't get the controls down, but i cant even get past the first stage. no mater what my bird goes bouncing off. even if i try to straighten it up before falling.

anyway great art sound, music and unique gameplay.

ncannasse says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:44am

Really nice art, love the colors.

GreyShock says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Very good art, music, sounds, atmosphere... and really hard! :D

Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:25pm

very original, great art.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Now that was a crazy trip. Liked it, congrats.

Jyrkface says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Can't wait to see this on my iPad!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Strange but cool!

Koltiman says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice game, a bit hard though!

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:25am

The animation and graphical style are both awesome. The music is strange, but interesting, and the sound effects are really good.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I love this! Great work! //Ditto

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Fantastic art, lovely style. Bird's movement was nice too.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Brilliant! Loved the trippy graphics and the game mechanic. Excellent work.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

<3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]