August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tardis Robot Hospital

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

EDIT: I've added the playable link above. It should work on windows or linux.

Controls are:
F/G - rotate the claw
V/B - open the claw
arrows - move the claw

Not much of a game, and no victory state, but you can pick stuff up and see the general idea we were going for



This time around Binary Gambit (Ben and Steve) was joined by Jack, who was to be our art director for this jam.

We set out well, discussing multiple options for the first 4-5 hours of the jam. Settling on something akin to a claw machine, written in Love2d using Box2d physics, the programming begun. For the theme we went with "10 pieces of left over food" as in some countries these are called seconds.

The setting was to be a robot who was operating on himself with a claw machine type hand, trying to remove the 10 pieces of junk food left overs jammed in there. The only catch is that inside the robot is larger than outside the robot.

TeamBG have only clocked up 10 or so hours prior to the jam using Love2d/Box2d so perhaps this wasent the most realistic option.

Art was never a problem but we quickly discovered that integrating it into Box2d objects was something we hadent dont before. The concept art below shows off some of Jacks amazing work but the current working version still only has basic line drawing for physics objects.

The team was also plagued with interruptions. Steve had a work shift to attend but still stayed up to 9am each morning to code. Jack had a job interview and was involved in a minor car accident and Ben flew from Australia to Germany 18 hours before the compo closed (still midway there as of this post)

We all learnt a lot and everyone is excited to work together again. The project will get a playable link soon

The source is available above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Innovation(Jam)3.21
#252Graphics(Jam)3.43
#436Overall(Jam)2.76
#489Fun(Jam)2.39
#549Theme(Jam)2.35
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49am

pretty cool concept :)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35am

Good work!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Mentioning a tardis in the title intrigues me :) Hope you post a playable link soon.

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Ok, I have put up a playable version. Shows off our basic concept. There was a heap of problems getting the graphics to display and to get the executable to be packaged correctly.

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I like the Box2D physics though. These turning wheels stopped my progress more than once :P Too bad it's quite laggy for me... It also told me that it took about 1.5 GB of RAM. Maybe my PC just can't digest it properly. Must be because of the fast food, I guess...^^

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:59am

I think the art in this entry is amazing. The controls are a bit hard to master, but figuring them out was fun in itself. I'm sure if you go on with this, you'll end up with a pretty sweet game. I see a lot of good things here and I bet you've got a lot more good ideas to offer. :)

Marcellus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:34am

awesome graphics

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:04am

I liked the physics of the arm, the controls where a bit to awkward for me, why not have all the claw commands on one row so that you can have the hand still? Eg. Open, Left, Right, Close.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Are you sure this is supposed to work on Linux? All that's in the RAR file is an exe and a dll, and Wine doesn't like the exe.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I liked the physic of the claw...but where is the tardis? XD

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Was hard to get into the controls of the claw and I'm not sure if I got the whole game. Anyway, the drawings look well done and the idea of moving the claw through a level is interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]