August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shift

by Taiters - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How to Play

Use WASD to move and the mouse to shoot.

You win by getting all of the timeshifters. If you run out of time, you loose.

Watch out for enemies as they will try to block your path, and keep an eye out for time bonuses.

It may take a few seconds to load as there is no preloader.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#168Audio3.26
#202Overall3.46
#206Theme3.55
#425Mood2.89
#438Graphics3.08
#458Innovation3.10
#538Fun2.94
#791Humor1.86

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17am

Lovely idea! love the aesthetics

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59am

Thanks! I'm no good at art so I tend to go for bright and glowing shapes :D

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57am

First: The tune is neat, I loved that tune.

You took a very common style (WASD shooter), and you added a lot of little nice twists to it. I liked the "rewind" effect every time I collected an objective, and I really like the small, discreet dots pointing to the next objective.

One possible improvement is that it is still easy to fall on the "Where is the last goal?" syndrome in this game. Maybe the goal indicators should have a longer range.

Cheers, and thanks for the game! Have a video: http://youtu.be/k_i6TFU4TqA

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Good little game.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Love the music and the look. Nice use of color.

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I agree with the above post, I kept getting lost trying to find the last target.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice feature with rewinding. Pretty decent game in total.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very nice game! I like the aspects of the game:
* Enemies try to block you instead of shooting you
* The time shifters actually turn back the time: very cool!
* The graphics style is totally cool

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Thanks guys!

@gameXcore Yeah I know what you mean, when I was making it I didn't take that into account because I had played the levels so many times haha.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

Pretty cool game! :)

Wulo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

Cool idea with going back in time. The enemies could be more dangerous.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

A neat little tank fighting game

dlowe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

This was fun! How many levels did you make?

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22am

Love the music. Best music I heard so far in this LD! Really neat game and rewind mechanic. Good use of the theme. Awesome entry.

I also kept forgetting which way I had already gone. (Need sleep...) But, I kept going, because it's really fun. The last level was a fun change.

Also, it was awesome when I figured out I could hold the button to auto shoot. My laptop touchpad was getting murdered.

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Cool idea,loved the "rewind" effect too,congrats!

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Nice graphics style and a good take on the theme!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Really nice looking game, with a good concept and fun to play. I like how you go backwards to the start! I featured your game in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

keep up the very good work, well done. Fit's the theme quite nicely ;)

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I loved this game! It was challenging but not impossible. The enemies were hilarious in my opinion. They just pound you up against walls when they clearly have guns. Great game!

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

The rewind effect was a great touch!

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Thanks for the comments! I think I'll definitely be doing a post compo version of this game now! :D

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:16am

Wow! Very well done! Although I was not sure as to whether or not I was meant to collect the green objects. Maybe make that bit a little more clear.

Aaants says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nicely done :D

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice graphics and sound. I was expecting the other ships to shoot at me or something but they worked fine at trying to block me. Cool Game.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:51am

Terrific idea of having enemies block you without damaging you! It would be nice to have more interesting objectives, though..
Everything runs very smooth and has a great feel to it. Great job!

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Cool idea and nice graphics !

Jools64 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Awesome game!

I love the reverse effect, it's very cool. Also the graphics look nice, the game was fun and had a fair bit of content. I really liked the music too.

Great job!

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice game! Like the rewind mechanism, and the enemy blocking works rather well!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]