August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

On Borrowed Time

by shohs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** Requires OpenGL 3.0 compatibility ***

Note: This game uses JDK 7.
Note 2: Thank you to djdduty for providing the cross-platform version.
Note 3: Try the cross-platform version first, as people were having issues with the other versions.
Note 4: Please unzip the files before attempting to run

Well, this could have turned out a lot better. I tried to do a stealth game based on the idea that you're a guy that needs to kill other people to steal their "life" (pleasant, huh?). But because of poor time management / lack of inspiration / bug-squashing, the game turned out to be a lot less finished then I'd have liked it to be. I was making levels and the story within the last hour and a half, which is definitely not a good thing. So sorry about the shortness and unfinished-ness. If you want, you can consider it a prototype of a demo of an idea for a game.

Libraries used:
LWJGL
PNGDecoder
JOrbis - OggDecoder

If there are any problems you have with running the game (esp. in non-Windows environments), post a comment and I'll see if it can be fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#130Mood3.43
#326Graphics3.29
#419Humor2.50
#459Audio2.72
#609Fun2.86
#610Overall3.00
#656Theme3.07
#763Innovation2.70

Comments

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

When I double clicked the jar, nothing happened.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

I cannot run this on Win64, which sucks because it looks cool. I have full GL support to 4.2, the problem seems to be the natives. So I dropped in the 64 bit and 32 bit lib files that I used in my lwjgl project and I get a new error, it's unfortunate. http://i.imgur.com/2dYtSDM.png second time is after dropping in new natives.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Waave, that is the same thing that happened here, run it from command line like I did and you'll probably get the same error. I recommend using jarsplice and including ALL of the natives from lwjgl, including other platforms, in the same jar, then you have just one jar and it should work fine.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Okay, I'll try that.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

I put up a cross-platform version, which is a fat jar with all of the lwjgl natives in it. It works on my computer fine, could anyone else try it to make sure it works on other setups?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

The "cross-platform" doesn't open on my machine: Win7/64

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

on crossplatform
"could not compile shader version 130 core"
Same on windows version.
Last thing it prints is AL lib alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed.
but I think its the shader causing unable to play :(

One of the few games I was hoping to play

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

This is awesome. The control is really precise and responsive. This is impressively far along and really fun to play. I had no trouble playing the cross platform build on windows 7 ultimate.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Oh... you already made a cross platform version, I have spent all this time tracking down all the lib files, you actually used jorbis-oggdecoder along with jorbis, I am in the process of rebuilding the entire project right now, was going to make a working jar for you. ^_^

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

@namrog84: I'm not sure why the shader wouldn't compile, although I do know that they can sometimes be tricky to get to work on all hardware. As long as you have OpenGL 3.0 or higher, I don't know what the problem is.
@djdduty: Sorry about that, thanks for going through the trouble, though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

trying to run from command line gives me java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError for the cross platform and windows

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Doesn't work on my Mac with Intel HD3000. Ping me if will be fixed.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Well, even your cross-platform jar didn't work, so I took the liberty of finishing what I was doing, now a working jar, and I fixed the shader errors. It seems that the way you handle loading resources causes difficulty in packaging as well, I recommend you but all resources in src/res/ and load them using class loader instead of file input streams and such, this way you just have a single res/ folder in your jar, no external folders and no loose assets in jar. This build seems to work fine for me, and I hope it will for others since I seem to have run into and fixed a lot of errors that other people here got, but test it first anyway, good luck! https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/42760489/OBT.zip

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05am

Thank you for that. It seems to work on my computer, so hopefully it works for everyone else!

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

No problem, took ages to fix but it was worth it, awesome game! 2D gui elements don't display on my desktop for some reason, no matter what I try, but everything is great on all my other machines, so you should be good now.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

Nice 3D arts,happy to see a game with story~

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

CTD on start

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I can't get the game to launch. I downloaded the cross platform, is there only supposed to be OnBorrowedTimeWin.jar?

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Just downloaded it, no joy yet. Here's what I see when I launch (plus cmd output):
http://imgur.com/pDUiKfh

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Can't launch it either.. just crashes when i open.. Running mac OS 10.8.2
The screenshot looks great, tho :) will be checking back to see if the problem has been solved later.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

@porglezomp: It's got all of the natives in it, I just forgot to rename it
@mtrc: That's just the console output that I used for personal reference to show everything was loading correctly; in fact, that should mean that it's successfully setup the LWJGL window and has started loading the assets...

I swear, distribution is a pain in the butt

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very nice! Loved the music and the sound effects! Art style is awesome and mechanics are really clever! Well done!

djdduty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25am

If you run it and you get just a black screen, with music, hit ENTER/SPACE a few times until you see the game, this happens on ALL of my systems that have an ATI card, none of the 2D elements show up. This also means that you don't see the purple timer bar on the top or get to see the tutorial... but it is self-explanatory and still a fun game.

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07am

I really liked the simple 3d style. Cool story elements and basic gameplay. Good work!

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Not bad. Very moody and the timing element of fighting showed some promise.

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Really nice aesthetic and love the crisp graphics. Would be great to see you develop this further :-)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

fun and tough

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Very dark, attacks seem a bit arbitrary

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:05am

I like game mechanic and story. I think it have some reference to Assissin's Creed series :)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:30am

Won't launch on Windows 7 64 bit. I can extract it fine, but when I try and launch it, it is just a black LWJGL screen for a few seconds, then it closes. Sorry. Let me know if you find a fix! Looks really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]