August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds

by phi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[ARROW KEYS] : move the green square
[ESCAPE] : back to menu

[GOAL] : stay alive for 10 seconds (as accurately as possible) in every game
[SCORE] : abs(10-time); lower number = better score

You get 10 random games, your final score is the average of all scores.

I originally wanted to add more games, but I ran out of ideas.

Have fun playing, I sure had fun making it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Theme3.76
#246Fun3.33
#401Overall3.21
#403Innovation3.17
#712Graphics2.63
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Download doesn't work : (

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:04pm

@Ditto: Try this one: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/67576446/10%20Seconds.zip

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:41pm

That worked, this was really cool, trying to count your own time while playing is reeeaally fucking hard :D

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Hello ! I managed to go outside the screen in the level where you start in the middle and that rectangle start's to follow you . I don't know if it was intended or not !

phi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

@guardiancs: I don't think that's a problem, you still have to back to kill yourself. So yes, I guess you could call it "intended".

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:53am

Works for me too, good idea to have many mini games, and have them all respect the 10 seconds time :)

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

nice game good job

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:28am

Combining "count to 10" with classic timing games is quite a cool idea, making the game surprisingly fun ! The minimalistic-creepy-atmosphere is rather good as well. Good job !

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:17am

A timer would have been nice, but may have made the game too easy, I dunno. As it stands, still a very good entry.

Endurion says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Love the mood that's coming over with the sound.

And having to time the death is a neat idea. Albeit quite hard :)

Taiters says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:45am

Great game, well done. Loved the atmosphere!

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:49am

Archive not open ((

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:04am

At last I open it. Great game! I like it. But, theme wasn't opened.

Tommislav says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice little game. Played the game a couple of times thinking that the goal was to outlive each level. When I managed to stay alive for almost a minute in one of the easier levels I had to consult the help section, where I finally understood that you needed to die as close to the 10-second mark as possible.

Some levels are very difficult to survive even a few seconds and some levels are really easy to survive for a very long time.

And the final score could have been presented in a way that you more easily could relate to. Right now it's only a number (7,392141). Difficult to relate to.

So in short: I liked it, but should communicate the rules and score a bit better.

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I like the use of theme in this one, good job

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:27am

Website didn't work for me, either, that dropbox one did the trick though. Nice work! Very nice shaders. Average sounds. I really enjoyed the "randomness" of levels. I knew how to play each level, but I didn't know the order. Good work! 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]